Foobar2000 skins
Aug 17, 2010 at 1:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

whitemonkey

New Head-Fier
Hi,

I've been using Foobar2000 for a couple of years now, I managed to tweak the ui to fit my needs BUT its not a pretty sight :p
Do you guys have a preferred skin/theme for foobar? I've searched the web and all I could find are outdated skins that don't support foobar2000 1.0+
Those that do support it are way too cluttered for my taste. Is there a skin that has a relatively "simple" design and still looks good??

I've been entertaining the idea of moving to Media Monkey for that sole reason, but I'm reluctant to do that since it costs money (I always prefer the free alternative - especially if it's that good!).

Thanks!

Aug 17, 2010 at 2:46 PM Post #2 of 10
There are many different skins people use with Foobar.  Check out the various sites that host them for screen shots.  They are not as simple as Winamp skins etc.
Usually every skin will need a set of components to enable it's various features.  Once you learn how to use them though, they are pretty simple.
Media Monkey is a great app and many also use J. River but both are not free. Both do offer players with scaled back features for free though.

Aug 17, 2010 at 3:22 PM Post #3 of 10
Alright, I'm pretty familiar with foobar2000's components, the problem is I didn't find a place that hosts updated skins/themes. Even deviantart's #Foo-Nation is slow in updating.
I'm looking for a clean interface, something like this, but with a little more functionality:

http://browse.deviantart.com/customization/skins/media/foobar2000/#/d2uobk2

I will continue searching the net for skins, maybe I can find something and mod it. Also will look into J. River, anyway, if there are foobar2000 users here, I'd be happy to hear some recommendations.

Aug 17, 2010 at 4:06 PM Post #5 of 10