Foobar2000 or....
Apr 6, 2020 at 7:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 46
Hello all,
I have been using Foobar for a few years and like the custom-ability and the ASIO or Wasapi support. I would like to customize it a bit more than I have in terms of looks and functionality..... or change to a new player. When I set it up years ago the youtube tutorials were current now I can't find anything from the last 3 years. 2 Questions
1. Is there a better alternative
2. Are there current tutorials or has not much changed.

Thanks for any input

Apr 7, 2020 at 3:02 AM Post #4 of 46
Hello all,
I have been using Foobar for a few years and like the custom-ability and the ASIO or Wasapi support. I would like to customize it a bit more than I have in terms of looks and functionality..... or change to a new player. When I set it up years ago the youtube tutorials were current now I can't find anything from the last 3 years. 2 Questions
1. Is there a better alternative
2. Are there current tutorials or has not much changed.

Thanks for any input
Foobar2000 is still constantly being worked on and updated: https://www.foobar2000.org/
Last update/news is from the end of March.

It is designed with the goal of being the absolute minimal and best sounding player around by bypassing the windows audio mixer (among other things).
There are several plugins you can get to change the aesthetics of foobar, but I've never looked into it.

Apr 7, 2020 at 4:22 AM Post #5 of 46
You may want to check dopamine if you are looking for free alternative. It has very nice UI IMHO.

I've tried to learn roon UI and I failed. For my needs and in my setup roon did not delivered anything above other players gave me already but it all depends on your needs. I also failed to setup my DAC in roon the way I wanted but it works just fine without any tweaking to be honest.