First Time Poster - Looking for advice to help me become a productive member here!
May 11, 2013 at 1:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

sashua

Head-Fier
Hi all,
First post here. I am an audiophile with about 6TB of FLAC and high resolution music on a dedicated server. I find myself travelling more these days for my work and I want to take my show on the road as it were!

I am a complete Newbie to portable audio but here are my criteria:
1. Must be capable of supporting up to 24/192 files
2. Must have substantial HD space (500 GB would be comfortable - even more would be better)
3. Must have an amplifier capable of supporting On-ear phones.

I have picked nothing out yet but I am discovering that there are very few all-in-one solutions for the above if I also want portability. That said, I can manage a small bag to carry 2-3 pieces of small gear around if there is no "one to rule them all".

I would truly appreciate someone recommending a small setup that might accomplish my goals for under $1000 if possible (not necessarily including the earphones but feel free to name a budget combo taking them into account)

I am sorry to ask for advice that has probably been asked a thousand times here but after searching for an hour I have come to realize that I know so little that I don't even know what to search FOR.

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to spare a little time and advice for a newbie to the portable world!

Russ

May 11, 2013 at 1:36 PM Post #2 of 15
Welcome to HeadFi. There are a few DAP's that can do what yo ask but not the storage. You can use additional SD cards for more music.

May 11, 2013 at 1:49 PM Post #3 of 15
I had a feeling that would be the hangup. Can't i just use a portable external HD for storage and buy an amp/DAC/UI all-in-one unit of some kind?

I feel like carrying around a bag full of SD cards is kind of antiquated as solutions go :frowning2:

May 11, 2013 at 2:59 PM Post #4 of 15