First Good Headphones
Feb 23, 2010 at 9:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

ihrm

Head-Fier
Hey head-fi,
This is my first time in the market for headphones and its a lot to take in. I'm looking for my first set of good headphones. I don't like too much bass and I listen to a lot of indie rock and acoustic. I have a pair of cx500s right now and they are great, but I want something for home listening. I've been looking at the sennheiser hd595s and they look pretty good. What kind of music are they good for? I'm open to suggestions but I want to keep it under $200. I'm also in the market for a DAC or sound card. What would be the better choice? With my PC being my primary source of sound I want my headphones to sound good, and not have to deal with on board sound. I would like to keep this under $100.
Here's a link to my Last.FM so you can have a look at my music taste:
ihrm’s Music Profile – Users at Last.fm

Thanks for any help!

PS: All my music is encoded in flac!

Feb 23, 2010 at 9:54 PM Post #2 of 17
For DAC, look up the NuForce uDac. I'm considering it myself, and I can't find any reason not to get it. Only $99 and will beat the pants off any internal sound card at the same price. However, if you play games often, an X-Fi sound card is a great investment.

Since you're looking at the Sennheiser 595s, I'll assume you don't mind open headphones. Sennheisers are known for having a slow, relaxing, warm house sound. While good for classical and some jazz, I don't know how it would work with indie rock. Grado headphones are widely considered the rock kings, but can be uncomfortable for some. Look at the SR60i, SR80i, SR125i, and the SR225i, with the 225 being the best choice for your budget.

Feb 24, 2010 at 12:16 AM Post #4 of 17