FiiO Q5s -Flagship Bluetooth DAC & AMP, Dual AK4493 DAC chips, Amplifier Module AM3E with 2.5/3.5/4.4mm Output, USB/Bluetooth/SPDIF/Line Input
post-15710511
Post #2,701 of 2,710

Cevisi

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
966
Location
Germany
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Location
Germany
Posts
1,636
Likes
966
Isn’t that gain? The number to determine how loud the EQ will affect each frequency. What I mean is the q factor; the number that decide how wide is the range of affected frequency. For instance, if I lift the 10000Hz slider at 1.3dB will it also give noticeable change at 5000Hz and 15000Hz?

Q factor only exist in parametic equalizers. The fiio one is a graphical

And there is no portable device with paramatic eq at the moment
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15710543
Post #2,702 of 2,710

Erispedia

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Indonesia
Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Location
Indonesia
Posts
6
Likes
0
Q factor only exist in parametic equalizers. The fiio one is a graphical

And there is no portable device with paramatic eq at the moment
I think every eq has q factor. It is just the matter of adjustable or not. btw ES100 has built in graphic EQ with two alternatives selectable q factor.

Edit:
I just want to know the q factor specification, not really asking Fiio to put adjustable Q factor to Q5s.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15710735
Post #2,703 of 2,710

Cevisi

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
966
Location
Germany
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Location
Germany
Posts
1,636
Likes
966
I think every eq has q factor. It is just the matter of adjustable or not. btw ES100 has built in graphic EQ with two alternatives selectable q factor.

Edit:
I just want to know the q factor specification, not really asking Fiio to put adjustable Q factor to Q5s.
On the es 100 you can choose q factor 0.7 or 1.4 and that aplies to all frequencys. Its not like an parametic eq where you can set it independently for every frequency itself
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: stylus75
post-15714029
Post #2,704 of 2,710

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
6,547
Reaction score
2,969
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
6,547
Likes
2,969
Age
13
Website
www.fiio.com
I found out what is the reason. And learned some more things as a result.
Foobar SACD plugin does not send Navive DSD anymore from version 0.9.7. This was a big surprise and disapointment for me. Rolling back to several years old version is not for me because author already did some big change in SACD tagging and I would have to retag all my isos.
Foobar outputs only DSD over PCM now and device max PCM sample rate is not high enough for DSD512. Max DoP rate depends logically on PCM max rate. That's clear.
Problem is in Foobar SACD plugin and some other player (don't remember which one) only, other players may output Native DSD via ASIO.
Thanks for the feedback. :rose:

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com
     Share This Post       
post-15716616
Post #2,706 of 2,710

Erispedia

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Indonesia
Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Location
Indonesia
Posts
6
Likes
0
On the es 100 you can choose q factor 0.7 or 1.4 and that aplies to all frequencys. Its not like an parametic eq where you can set it independently for every frequency itself
Yes, that was I mean. A graphic EQ always has q factor that applies to all frequencies. Because that will determine how the EQ will behave. And I want to know the q factor used in Q5s built in EQ. What I’m asking for is just like any other parameters on Q5s. Like how much is the output impedance? How much is the power? How much is the bass boost? And so on. Except the info about q factor has not yet provided in Q5s spec sheet.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15716634
Post #2,707 of 2,710

Cevisi

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
966
Location
Germany
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Location
Germany
Posts
1,636
Likes
966
Yes, that was I mean. A graphic EQ always has q factor that applies to all frequencies. Because that will determine how the EQ will behave. And I want to know the q factor used in Q5s built in EQ. What I’m asking for is just like any other parameters on Q5s. Like how much is the output impedance? How much is the power? How much is the bass boost? And so on. Except the info about q factor has not yet provided in Q5s spec sheet.
I would say its the standart 1.4 Q that most graphic eq work with
 
     Share This Post       
post-15722143
Post #2,708 of 2,710

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
6,547
Reaction score
2,969
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
6,547
Likes
2,969
Age
13
Website
www.fiio.com
I think every eq has q factor. It is just the matter of adjustable or not. btw ES100 has built in graphic EQ with two alternatives selectable q factor.

Edit:
I just want to know the q factor specification, not really asking Fiio to put adjustable Q factor to Q5s.
Dear user,

We have confirmed with the engineer that the Q factor for Q5s is 0.7.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Erispedia
post-15722178
Post #2,709 of 2,710

smallcaps

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
1,040
Reaction score
492
Location
Earth
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Location
Earth
Posts
1,040
Likes
492
Website
chifireview.com
Does the Q5s' 4.4mm Pentagon support true line out? Want to use it as a dac to output to 2x 3-pin XLR into an amp.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top