FiiO M9 , Android based Hi-Res smart DAP with 3.5/2.5 powerful output|AKM4490 X2 |WiFi|aptX/aptX HD/LDAC/HWA(LHDC)|USB DAC|USB AUDIO OUT
post-14817350
Post #1,606 of 2,250

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
5,971
Reaction score
2,480
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
5,971
Likes
2,480
Age
12
Website
www.fiio.com
@FiiO

Blue Tooth Issue:

Using a pair of Sony WH1000-MX3 headphones in BT mode.
  1. Fiio M9 - Volume of the sound can be control by BOTH the M9 AND the headphones. This isn't a major issue. However, the REAL problem is even with the Fiio Volume set to 120. I sometimes have to turn the headphone volume up to nearly 95% to obtain a "loud" listening level. This seems wrong.
  2. iPhone 10R - Volume of the sound is "linked" between the phone and the headphones. However, when the volume is increased (on either device) it usually only needs to be set to about 60-70% to achieve a "loud" listening level. This seems more in line with what would be expected intuitively.
Certainly, I don't understand BT but the FiiO BT signal obviously has some embedded volume signal that it sends through BT because the volume of the headphones change when the volume on the M9 is changed. The M9 needs to have the scale of this signal shifted upwards. Currently, the scale is so low most burned 16bit 44.1 CDs it leaves very little headroom to increase the volume.
Dear friend,

But when you using the iPhone, the Bluetooth codec is not the same one as using in M9, right? We did not receive similar feedback from other users using WH1000-MX3 with the M9 currently. You may try to do a factory restore and change another Bluetooth codec in the M9 for checking again?

Best regards
 
     Share This Post       
post-14820951
Post #1,607 of 2,250

bms44974

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
233
Reaction score
64
Location
Cary, NC
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Location
Cary, NC
Posts
233
Likes
64
I gave my Dad my old X5ii and pulled the trigger on the M9. I had reviewed this DAP as part of the FiiO tour and considered the M9 an upgrade, particularly for the improved sound stage with balanced output. I encountered a problem with the on-line update (Android "error"), but I downloaded the 1.0.4 zip file and did a local update with no problems. I will be using it as a standalone DAP playing by folder and have no interest in using it as a DAC, streaming, or Bluetooth system (transmitting or receiving).

Cheers... Brian
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Daiyama
post-14821098
Post #1,608 of 2,250

MrPanda

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
281
Reaction score
138
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
281
Likes
138
I think my m9 is going to get returned. There's just not enough processing power to run streaming apps, and the constant dropouts are frustrating.
I can't connect it to my Roon server, since the server version is 1.6 and the latest version I can find of Roon on the m9 site is 1.5.
When using an Iphone to feed the m9 in bluetooth mode, the best codec available is SBC. So while it looked like a great and flexible player, it's turning out to be more of a pain in the tail than it's worth to use it. Just too underpowered, even with the cut down apps, switching apps, or even pages within apps is just too frustrating and painful.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14821405
Post #1,609 of 2,250

Daiyama

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Messages
160
Reaction score
49
Location
Europe
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Location
Europe
Posts
160
Likes
49
Yes you should return it and look or probably wait for a more powerful device for your purpose.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14821968
Post #1,610 of 2,250

Mudhoney

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Europe
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Location
Europe
Posts
10
Likes
0
     Share This Post       
post-14822047
Post #1,611 of 2,250

gLer

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Messages
3,581
Reaction score
2,551
Location
South Africa
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Location
South Africa
Posts
3,581
Likes
2,551
What about the Roon 1.6. Is that coming to Fiio? Roon 1.6 has been out for a while now so it should be about time? Or is it available already?
Not sure why you're waiting on Fiio for this. As soon as a whitelisted app is available from the developers, you should be able to install it. I found and installed Roon 1.6 from here: https://apkpure.com/roon-remote/com.roon.mobile/download?from=details (and I don't even use Room, just installed it to see if it loads, and it does). Seems very slow though - which I see as the biggest Achille's Heel of the M9 going forward (apps will become more bloated and the M9 will simply choke because it doesn't have the horsepower). Bottom line, if you need more than just basic apps, or to run more than one app at once, the M9 is not for you.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: MrPanda
post-14822102
Post #1,612 of 2,250

Mudhoney

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Location
Europe
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Location
Europe
Posts
10
Likes
0
Not sure why you're waiting on Fiio for this. As soon as a whitelisted app is available from the developers, you should be able to install it. I found and installed Roon 1.6 from here: https://apkpure.com/roon-remote/com.roon.mobile/download?from=details (and I don't even use Room, just installed it to see if it loads, and it does). Seems very slow though - which I see as the biggest Achille's Heel of the M9 going forward (apps will become more bloated and the M9 will simply choke because it doesn't have the horsepower). Bottom line, if you need more than just basic apps, or to run more than one app at once, the M9 is not for you.
Thanks for the advice. I thought Fiio will need to release it. My bad. I will try your link.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14823640
Post #1,613 of 2,250

Bloodborne

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
61
Reaction score
30
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Posts
61
Likes
30
Hello. To those who have both the M6 and M9, how significant is the difference between their sound quality? Does the M9 still have issues with clipping and gapless playback? Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14823908
Post #1,614 of 2,250

MrPanda

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
281
Reaction score
138
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
281
Likes
138
Hello. To those who have both the M6 and M9, how significant is the difference between their sound quality? Does the M9 still have issues with clipping and gapless playback? Thanks!
I have an M9, it drops out and clips even at CD rates with downloads on the SD card
 
     Share This Post       
post-14823971
Post #1,615 of 2,250

gLer

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Messages
3,581
Reaction score
2,551
Location
South Africa
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Location
South Africa
Posts
3,581
Likes
2,551
I have an M9, it drops out and clips even at CD rates with downloads on the SD card
I’ve never experienced dropouts on my M9, even with high-res flacs and DSDs. Just leave it to play music and don’t try do anything else with it while it’s playing. It’s a one-function-at-a-time device.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: superuser1
post-14824307
Post #1,616 of 2,250

MrPanda

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
281
Reaction score
138
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
281
Likes
138
I’ve never experienced dropouts on my M9, even with high-res flacs and DSDs. Just leave it to play music and don’t try do anything else with it while it’s playing. It’s a one-function-at-a-time device.
It works best from the SD card, but even then it drops... most of the recordings on the SD card are downloaded playlists from Spotify and Qubuz
 
     Share This Post       
post-14824954
Post #1,617 of 2,250

Richter Di

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2003
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
295
Location
Germany
Joined
May 11, 2003
Location
Germany
Posts
1,286
Likes
295
Age
53
Website
pilates-powers.de
I have an M9, it drops out and clips even at CD rates with downloads on the SD card
I have no dropout with imported music on my M9 using Qobuz.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14825610
Post #1,620 of 2,250

Richter Di

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2003
Messages
1,286
Reaction score
295
Location
Germany
Joined
May 11, 2003
Location
Germany
Posts
1,286
Likes
295
Age
53
Website
pilates-powers.de
I'll try reloading the software.....
Do you use the version Fiio has on their website? The newer version do not work properly on the M9, I guess they use too many resources.
The older version of Qobuz on the M9 is quicker than my up to date Qobuz on my iPad Pro or my Samsung Galaxy A7 :-x
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 5)

Top