Exact Audio Copy in the Real World
Jul 9, 2010 at 5:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Lord Chaos

100+ Head-Fier
I've had some recent experiences with Exact Audio Copy I think some folks might be interested in.

My normal system is a Mac Powerbook, six years old, connected to a 1-terabyte RAID system that holds the music library. I rip in Apple Lossless using Itunes and play back through a Benchmark DAC-1.

My one real gripe with Itunes is that if there are flaws in the copy it gives me no warning. The only way to find out is with a "rip check:" listen to the whole CD. Almost all of the time it's fine.

Recently I was listening to "Music fo San Rocco," by the Gabrieli Consort and Players. Got to the Jubilate Deo and heard some skips. Found the CD, looked at it, couldn't see any problems. As I usually do in such cases I ran Itunes on the PC and ripped it there. Different drives have different capabilities. In this case it didn't help.

Well, I likeed the music. So, I downloaded Exact Audio Copy, installed it and used that to rip the CD to WAV files. That took about 20 minutes, and EAC reported no errors. I listed to the "Jubilate Deo" track and heard the same errors. OK... problem with the  CD mastering, then. Further research yielded the information that the copy I had was by an outfit different from that which had originally done the disc. The new company had combined it with some other music and put it out as a box set. I looked around and bought an original Arkiv Produktion CD, ripped that, and there were no problems.