Etymotics: How often do you change ear tips?
Dec 25, 2006 at 7:32 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

Poetic dreamer

New Head-Fier
This is my first time with canal earphones. I listen mainly to jazz and classical, and both are best enjoyed in long listening sessions...2 to 4 hours at a time.

I've already done a search. Most of the threads say you should change/clean them "regularly." Well, how often is "regularly" for

a) the flange tips and

b) the foam tips

do you count by days? or by number of listening sessions (e.g after every 7 sessions)?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Dec 25, 2006 at 8:09 AM Post #3 of 18
Quote:

Originally Posted by apnk /img/forum/go_quote.gif
For the flanges (dont like foamies) I wash em with soap and then put them in alcohol about once a week depending on use.

Same here for the flanges.

The Comply tips I change at least once a week. I did wash them every couple of days, but I find they lose some of their flexibility when I do that, so I just don't bother anymore.

Number of days and listening sessions is kinda equal in my case. I use them every day.

Most of the time, I just see how they look and feel. If they're dirty or don't contract/expand like they used to, I clean them (flanges) or throw them away (foamies).

Dec 25, 2006 at 8:18 AM Post #4 of 18
Quote:

Originally Posted by procreate /img/forum/go_quote.gif

Most of the time, I just see how they look and feel. If they're dirty or don't contract/expand like they used to, I clean them (flanges) or throw them away (foamies).

Thanks for the reply. How do you keep dust/lint from getting on the flanges in between uses if you only wash them once a week?

My flanges always become sticky and attracts some dust and clothes lint. Even though I clean my ears, there is still enough wax to make the flanges sticky with each use. Or maybe it's not a big deal.

Dec 25, 2006 at 8:58 AM Post #5 of 18
Quote:

Originally Posted by Poetic dreamer /img/forum/go_quote.gif