ety 6i foams
Mar 24, 2006 at 8:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

ifer

New Head-Fier
hi. i have been using the ety 6i for a couple of months and i have noticed that there is some 'green' on my foam tips. ewww.

i remember seeing it here that the foams can be washed and i took it out to do some washing... it's not sparkling clean but at least it's better than before.

however, the foams are not as 'hard' as new. i used it this morning for my trip on the bus and suprisingly, i could hear the people next to me talking... i do not have this problem before.

then, i tried squeezing the foam and i found out that the foam is very soft now. any ideas?

i remember reading it here than i need to put it into some solution to make the foams hard.

can you guys help me on this? please... thanks

Mar 24, 2006 at 9:49 AM Post #2 of 15

jagorev

Headphoneus Supremus
The foam degrades after a while. The only solution I know of is to get new ones. Or switch to the long-lasting rubber triflanges.
very_evil_smiley.gif

Mar 24, 2006 at 9:01 PM Post #3 of 15

LaBreaHead

Headphoneus Supremus
I now prefer the foam ear pieces -- but the price you pay is the cost of replacing them. Sorry, but I guess you have to decide whether you can afford it and whether it's worth it to you.

If you ride a public bus, consider the expense part of the cost of transportation. If you ride a school bus, consider it money well spent for your sanity.

Mar 24, 2006 at 9:12 PM Post #4 of 15

JeffS

500+ Head-Fier
The Westone comply tips aren't exactly the same as the Etymotic ones, but they are very close. I actually think they are a little b bit more comfortable.

The Westone ones are also a little bit cheaper, and fit the er-6i perfectly.

Washing them about once a week, I can squeeze about 3-4 weeks out of a set of these foamies.

good luck
-Jeff

Mar 24, 2006 at 10:36 PM Post #5 of 15

jacquer

100+ Head-Fier
Quote:

Originally Posted by JeffS