ethernet media streaming
post-777107
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 5

Voodoochile

Supafly & The Funky Pimps
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Messages
4,882
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Posts
4,882
Likes
13
I'm wondering if anyone has pulled the trigger on the DLink DSM-320 ?

For a while now I have looked at the slimp/squeezebox as well as audiotron, neither really does it for me. This looks pretty cool, but it's very new, so I'm wondering if anyone has jumped in yet?

I'm looking to principally stream WMA from a local server, but this also handles mpeg2/4 and avi, and has component video out, so should be pretty versatile. Anyone?
 
     Share This Post       
post-777125
Post #2 of 5

iamdone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
2,080
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Posts
2,080
Likes
10
Well I'm still waiting on my Roku Soundbridge http://www.rokulabs.com that should be shipped hopefully by month's end. It has already been delayed by 2 months. Pretty much the slimserver with a nicer look and better output specs (less need to use a seperate DAC). They also have media streamer too but have no interest in.
 
     Share This Post       
post-777434
Post #3 of 5

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
I have a central server and several other computers networked together with it. I have a Media PC (Home theater mostly) hooked up to my TV. I plan to have a small LCD hooked up to it with a cloned/mirrored desktop (dual monitor video card) of what goes to the TV, so you don't have to use the TV to do things on the computer. All are just running Win2K or Win XP. All are running rock solid. My server and Media PC run 24/7.

I've had Foobar access APE files across a 100Mbps network just fine. Without having to boost Foobar's buffering from default. In fact I even has two computers access the same file at the same time, and there were no hiccups.

Video is another story. I am upgrading my network to Gigabit, though.......

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-777472
Post #4 of 5

ayt999

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 19, 2004
Messages
3,796
Reaction score
12
Joined
Mar 19, 2004
Posts
3,796
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by Edwood
I am upgrading my network to Gigabit, though.......


I was supposed to do that along with upgrades such as video cards... but then I started Head-Fi and here I am ignoring all that and buying headphones, amps, and sources.
not that it is a bad thing, I just wish I had more money.
 
     Share This Post       
post-777479
Post #5 of 5

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
Quote:

Originally Posted by ayt999
I was supposed to do that along with upgrades such as video cards... but then I started Head-Fi and here I am ignoring all that and buying headphones, amps, and sources.
not that it is a bad thing, I just wish I had more money.



Heheh. Welcome to the club.


My network upgrade has been sorely neglected.


-Ed
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top