Earphones vs headphones
Feb 8, 2011 at 11:03 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

justinmonty

New Head-Fier
Hey guys I'm looking to get new earphones/headphones however I'm new to the whole sound world If anyone can help poitn out the advantage/disadvantage of each and how the sound is comparable?!? thanks a lot

what would be my best bet earphone around 100-250$

Feb 9, 2011 at 12:05 AM Post #2 of 19
There are quite few IEMs to pick from:
But it is hard to recommend you something unless we know what type of sound you prefer, what are you looking for: Comfort, Isolation, Dynamic or Balanced Armatures?
Music you listen to, under what circumstances?

Feb 9, 2011 at 12:09 AM Post #3 of 19
If I am to purchase earphones I would like some isolations, comfort ( able to jog, etc)  and music wise I like a lot of variety! I will be listening to a lot of acoustic, rock,metal,rap,and a little house.

Thanks

Feb 9, 2011 at 12:15 AM Post #4 of 19
it is very hard to get an IEM you can jog with. I personally never even attempted to jog with earphones in my ears.
Perhaps you should look into some sport-type Sennheiser earbuds instead...

Feb 9, 2011 at 12:18 AM Post #5 of 19
I had some I didn't like the sound quality much it didn't sound natural or crisp and I'm no audiophile! is there a big difference in quality from IEM and headphones?

also for jogging I can just use my default apple earphones :xf_eek:

Feb 9, 2011 at 12:52 AM Post #6 of 19
Usually IEMs are cheaper then Headphones.
If you want Top Tier sounding IEM,  expect to pay anywhere from 150 to 400 dollars..
For Headphones expect to pay double or even triple  for the same class phones.

In my opinion Best value IEM on the market is Radius DDM (HP-TWF11R).

There is quite a few reviews available out there.
Another great IEM is DBA02, HJE900, Ortofon e-Q5, Re262, among few.
Price range 150-250.

Check them out...

Feb 9, 2011 at 9:52 AM Post #7 of 19