Distortion in IEMs
May 31, 2007 at 7:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Dexter Morgan

500+ Head-Fier
I'm pretty new to hifi audio - I've spent the last several months reading different threads on this forum and trying to learn from you guys how to optimize my audio experience. Essentially, I wanted a portable sound library (iPOD 5.5g) and came to the conclusion that IEMs were the way to go.

My first IEM was the Shure E4c. I got this before I found head-fi, when I was relying on editorial reviews from CNET
rolleyes.gif
. Well, they almost performed flawlessly, except for with choral music tracks... whenever a female singer hit an especially high note, there was ugly crackly distortion. Yuck! I was actually quite surprised... I figured that $200 dollars would buy me headphones that wouldn't distort at moderate volume levels.

So, I went for a trade and tried out the UM2 at $300, but it seems even that isn't enough money to eliminate distortion. Finally, I bought the SE530, and I had high hopes. One look at its gorgeous industrial metallic casing and I knew I'd finally entered the price bracket of distortion-free sound. I began listening to the troublesome tracks and things were sounding good... the 530s were definitely sounding much better in musical passages where the other IEMs struggled. But my victory celebration was premature, because the 530s still distorted at especially intense sections of music
frown.gif

I'm wondering what the problem here is. Do I need an amplifier? Is it because my headphones are plugged into the crappy iPOD headphone jack rather than using the port or having an iMOD? Am I asking too much of IEMs? What is the meaning of life? Do I need to step up to more expensive IEMs? Any help with this would be, in the words of Jar Jar Binks, "bom bad."

May 31, 2007 at 7:22 AM Post #2 of 10