digital audio to receiver
post-7615636
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 5

griffindy

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 24, 2011
Posts
33
Likes
10
hey all;
 
so I have an NAD receiver with a bunch of digital inputs that I would love to make use of with my Macbook Pro. Unfortunately, it makes no noise when I plug it in. Now I've tooled around with the settings and made sure that everything was 'on.' The cable works because I can use it going from my computer to a Keces 131. The receiver is a few years old (about 7 or so) so I'm wondering if maybe my Macbook Pro puts out digital in a format that can't be read by the receiver? if anybody could shed any light I'd be greatly appreciative.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7615787
Post #2 of 5

jiiteepee

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
52
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Posts
1,573
Likes
52


Quote:
hey all;
 
so I have an NAD receiver with a bunch of digital inputs that I would love to make use of with my Macbook Pro. Unfortunately, it makes no noise when I plug it in. Now I've tooled around with the settings and made sure that everything was 'on.' The cable works because I can use it going from my computer to a Keces 131. The receiver is a few years old (about 7 or so) so I'm wondering if maybe my Macbook Pro puts out digital in a format that can't be read by the receiver? if anybody could shed any light I'd be greatly appreciative.

Check if the samplerate is set equally on both ends (maybe you have an option for to set the clock source).
 
jiiteepee
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7616363
Post #3 of 5

sterling1

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
620
Reaction score
47
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Posts
620
Likes
47
My Sony pre/pro has both coax and optical inputs. All of the coax  inputs will pass-through a 24/96 digital signal but only one Tosllink will . Perhaps you should check yours too.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7616609
Post #4 of 5

griffindy

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 24, 2011
Posts
33
Likes
10
thanks guys, I'll take a look for these options / look into buying a mini to coax cable.
 
does anyone know if that exists? I only ask since mini plug is based on light, and coax is based on electricity.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7617582
Post #5 of 5

griffindy

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 24, 2011
Posts
33
Likes
10
I finally figured out the problem! My receiver only allows AC3 audio (a version of dolby digital) and only if I set my Macbook Pro's output to the correct refresh rate. Needless to say that's very stupid, but hopefully it can help someone else in the future. I don't suppose anyone knows of a way to transcode to AC3 on the fly from FLAC? there's probably some licensing problems with that...
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top