Deoxit
Jan 11, 2010 at 7:41 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 35

krismusic

Headphoneus Supremus
I hardly dare post this.
dt880smile.png
I found an old can of Deoxit I had forgotten about. treated all the conections on my rig. I reckon it has improved the sound. Better separation and sparkly highs. Maybe I am just in a better mood with my rig. Anyone got an opinion. Play nice!

Jan 11, 2010 at 7:59 PM Post #2 of 35
I swear by DeOxIt

Jan 13, 2010 at 11:01 AM Post #4 of 35
Mine is D5. It is an old can, so I do not know if it is current. From what I read, the Gold products are designed to be particuarly effective with gold plating.

Jan 13, 2010 at 12:46 PM Post #5 of 35
yeah, I'll get some Gold G5 and clean my cd1k jack and my soundcard PCB fingers...I've been rolling op-amps for the past 6 months, last time I cleaned them w/ alcohol, the Qtip was very dirty.

I see Furutech sells a killer contact enhancer, but $150 for a tiny bottle..

Jan 13, 2010 at 12:51 PM Post #6 of 35
Dirty contacts probably do affect SQ. Wouldn't go nuts on magic potions though.
I would be perfectly willing to accept that my experience was placebo. Still working though!
atsmile.gif

Jan 13, 2010 at 12:53 PM Post #7 of 35
well, when I cleaned my soundcard PCI contacts w/ alcohol(and the qtip was *very* dirty), I would have sworn that the SQ improved too
biggrin.gif

but I think I need "Contact Cleaner & Rejuvenator", not the G5 Gold which is "a unique conditioning solution that improves conductivity and provides long-lasting protection on gold, base metals and other precious metal contacts and connections"

it sells as wipes, I would also do it on all my power cables while I'm at it
tongue.gif

Jan 13, 2010 at 1:03 PM Post #8 of 35
The D5 is still available, I Googled, and comes as a spray. Would doubt that anything more esoteric is required.
smile_phones.gif

Jan 13, 2010 at 1:29 PM Post #9 of 35