Decisions, Decisions... - A Newbie to the World of IEMs and Hi-Fi Audio
Jan 17, 2010 at 2:26 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 25

Groomsy

Head-Fier
Okay, I'll get to the point. This is a totally new world to me. Music is my life, but it's only been within the past two years or so that I've really begun to listen to music as it should have been heard in the first place. So here I am, doing research on IEMs and (mostly) at a loss as to where to go.

I'm not an audiophile (although it could certainly happen in years to come), but I know terrible cans when I hear them. And being a musician, I want the world around me to disappear when I listen to music; IEMs were the way to go for me.

So, in researching several sets of IEMs, I've narrowed my choices down to the following:

Ultimate Ears SuperFi 3
Etymotic HF5
Klipsch Image S4

NOW, here are my criteria if any of you would be so gracious as to help my decision or have any other IEMs to suggest:

1. I listen to a little bit of everything, but my strong suits are punk, metal, and electronic music (mostly trance, house, and trip-hop). I'm not looking for extremely punchy bass; but I do love strong bass presence, especially for electronic music. Mids are important for the sake of guitars; and I do want plenty of clarity in the trebles, but no sibilance or fatigue. I want to be able to enjoy the IEMs for long periods of time for travel. (This also means that they need to be durable, although I generally take care of my stuff.)

2. I would like some IEMs with a decent soundstage; I'm willing to wiggle a little more on this one since IEMs have limitations in this area, tough.

3. Obviously, noise isolation is a must. I'm used to my ears being probed from using IEMs with stage applications, so I'm looking for a deep isolation and secure fit.

4. My digital music collection is mostly in mp3 form, with all bitrates between 256-320. There are some lossless and VBR files in there as well.