Decisions, decisions... 880/990/580/240
May 11, 2006 at 5:06 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Frank M

100+ Head-Fier
Hello!

So once again, I'm on the search for a new pair.
Good headphones are addictive. After I got my K-340, everything started to sound bad... I guess everyone here knows this feeling
wink.gif

I really love my K-340s, in terms of sound, they might be my be-all-end-all 'phones, but there's the weight, that makes it a bit uncomfortable for longer listens...

So a short list of what I'm looking for:
- comfort, lighter weight
- good bass. "I like big bass and I cannot lie..."
biggrin.gif
my recent purchases (ep-630, hd-201) were seriously underwhelming in that aspect.
- nice detail. As a musician, I'll be using them as quasi-studio-monitoring gear. However, I like an involving listen, too.
- not too harsh treeble, nice non-recessed mids

Music I listen to mostly:
that would be jazz, funk, fusion and metal. Also, blues, classical, nu-jazz, rock, etc. The palette is quite wide - so it has to be versatile.

My main source is ebay, so my options are limited.
These ones are currently being auctioned; the first one ends this evening.

So, from among them, which would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!
smily_headphones1.gif

May 11, 2006 at 9:01 AM Post #2 of 10
Well, there's still some more time left till the first auctions end...
wink.gif

I've read all the reviews here I could find, but still couldn't make up my mind. Also, some of them contradict each other - as we know, opinions are subjective.

May 11, 2006 at 10:07 AM Post #3 of 10
Your situation sounds like AKG240S.

May 11, 2006 at 11:52 AM Post #4 of 10
Thanks!

You know what's funny about that? That should be the least expensive of the four, also the most common, yet I'm having the most trouble finding these used, especially a good deal on them
icon10.gif
rolleyes.gif

I guess I'll keep watching ebay.

May 11, 2006 at 1:18 PM Post #5 of 10
I've seen them there regulary for 100-130€.