DAC or AMP, which will improve sound the most from my computer
Jan 9, 2014 at 9:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

joespride

1000+ Head-Fier
Hope this is in the right area, I'm sure this has been covered before however i could not find it. So here goes

I'm coming from a high end home analog set-up using edgarhorn speakers and set amplification, bi-amped with solid state on the bass. All my source was analog or tubed CD players, I have no experience with DAC's and am basically lost when it comes to all the tech surrounding them

Life changes and i was forced to sell off my system and I'm now in the middle of putting a modest computer based system togeather.  I have approx. 400 gb of WAV lossless ripped and enjoy listening directly from my laptops output on my Sennhieser HD 650's 

Every thread i read tells me i can significantly improve my listening experience with an Amp and a DAC.  So I'm wondering which would give the biggest improvement in sound to start ( i will be buying both, and am strongly leaning twords schiit gear)

In my previous systems with speakers i was routinely surprised by how much different an amp could make a system sound, and even hearing much more detail in the music

Common sense is telling me a DAC should make the most difference (bypassing the cheap stock realtek soundcard) but experience tells me an amp can make a big difference, I thought it might be prudent to get some opinions from folks that have been down this road already

Thanks Joe

i

Jan 11, 2014 at 6:57 AM Post #2 of 19