DAC dongle options to pair with AKG702
Mar 26, 2020 at 6:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

lofiloki

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, I am new here.

I am a bit of a newbie with headphones. I make music, and for a long time in the past I mostly used monitors. Recently I switched over to using headphones and bought a pair of AKG 702 on the recommendation of their flat sound. I do most of the composing and tracking of music with a much more basic pair of wireless Sennheiser headphones and then switch across to the mixing stage with the AKG headphones. I often need them quite loud during this part of the process, and at the moment I don't have a headphone amp. I did notice right away that the really small and light audio interface I have is nowhere near powerful enough to drive them, so what I have been doing is driving them through my Mackie mixing desk. This is an ok compromise for when I am at home, although if I travel light I can't take the mixer as it's way too big. I have a small form factor laptop which I might upgrade this year if I get the chance, thinking about an ipad as well because there are so many great music making apps on there.