custom in ear monitor for kids?
May 20, 2012 at 4:06 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

LemanRuss9

100+ Head-Fier
hello head fi
well i have a problem here actually.My nephew wanted and in ear monitor.but he is only 15 years.
and i said to him that "ur still growing.If you get your ear molded now,It might get loose since yur ear is growing and became bigger."
but still he insisted.He collected money by doing summer jobs with his friends for 5 summer vacation.well i gotta be honest.He really is a persistent boy .Any one can help me? will our ear be bigger ? im not an audiologist so i cant really be sure about this

thanks!
leman

May 20, 2012 at 4:14 AM Post #2 of 9
Yes, kids are stubborn. Like most, he'll learn the hard way assuming he'll go through the typical frustrations involving time and costs for any CIEM.  What exactly is his reason (friends have it; i'm a musician, so I got to have it; my favorite artist has one; I found head-fi)?

Tell him to do an universal reshell first.  Going for a $500+ CIEM takes away from pizza, fine dining with the gals, and saving up for some wheels and its costs.

The consensus is that the ear will grow bigger and possibly past his teen years, but he should hear it from an audiologist or equivalent expert.

May 20, 2012 at 4:29 AM Post #3 of 9
Quote:
hello head fi
well i have a problem here actually.My nephew wanted and in ear monitor.but he is only 15 years.
and i said to him that "ur still growing.If you get your ear molded now,It might get loose since yur ear is growing and became bigger."
but still he insisted.He collected money by doing summer jobs with his friends for 5 summer vacation.well i gotta be honest.He really is a persistent boy .Any one can help me? will our ear be bigger ? im not an audiologist so i cant really be sure about this

thanks!
leman