Computer Gurus - I need help!
Feb 27, 2006 at 7:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

LFF

Co-Organizer for Can Jam '09
Member of the Trade: Paradox
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Posts
7,055
Likes
261
I am almost always using my computer in some way. However, recently my graphics card has been giving me this nice message:

crap.jpg


The problem is - I get it when running a webpage like headfi. It gets worse when I play CS: Source or DoD: Source. The biggest problem is that I just dont get 1 window - I get 40! How can I get rid of this. I have a 650 watt power supply. Could it be because I split the power with a hard drive?
 
Feb 27, 2006 at 8:03 PM Post #3 of 13

Trance-Addict

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Posts
100
Likes
0
Post the specs of your computer.

I would try driver updates first, and if it continues try disconnecting stuff from your power supply to see if you need more power.

Maybe its time to upgrade to a ATI 1900 XTX and dual dvi to a Dell 3007WFP.
 
Feb 27, 2006 at 8:07 PM Post #4 of 13

NightWoundsTime

A nice hunk of young man
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Posts
2,551
Likes
12
I had to update the bios on my motherboard a while back because it wasn't delivering enough power to the AGP slot. I just got random restarts even on old half-life with an older gaming card. Check what bios updates are available and if any of them mention a boost in power to the AGP.
 
Feb 27, 2006 at 8:38 PM Post #5 of 13

psychogentoo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 27, 2004
Posts
337
Likes
11
Can you post the model of your Nvidia card?

Have you double checked your power connections on your vid card?
 
Feb 27, 2006 at 8:46 PM Post #6 of 13

Patu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Posts
3,302
Likes
15
Make sure that your card is properly connected to the PCI-E/VGA slot and also check that the external power connector is properly connected and there's no flaws in the cable. Maybe you should just try to plug another power cord to the card, there might be something wrong with the current one.
 
Feb 27, 2006 at 8:54 PM Post #7 of 13

JahJahBinks

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Posts
3,306
Likes
10
In your original post you used the word "recently", so can I assume with your current setup you had no problem in the past and you start experiencing the problem lately without any changes to your setup?
 
Feb 27, 2006 at 10:03 PM Post #10 of 13

marvin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Posts
2,580
Likes
17
I'd do a driver update/backdate first. Then check to see if the splitter's good or not. If the problem still persists, give the video card it's own 12V line. Your power supply may also have a 12V rail exclusively for video card usage, and I'd recommend hooking it up to that instead of a rail shared other computer components. After that, see if there are any motherboard BIOS updates, and reflash your motherboard.

If none of that works, your power supply may also be dying. Try another one with more than one 12V rail.

Good luck.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:40 AM Post #11 of 13

LFF

Co-Organizer for Can Jam '09
Member of the Trade: Paradox
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Posts
7,055
Likes
261
WOW!!! Thanks for all the responses guys. Here is what I did so far:

1) Cleaned out all the dust bunnies.
2) Reconfigured the wires and switched out a few so the card could get more juice.
3) Left for school and currently at work.

When I get home I will see if I keep getting the stupid warning. If so I will try your suggestions one by one.

Once again, thanks for all the ideas. Really appreciate it.
smily_headphones1.gif


Just to answer a few questions: I have an AGP video card. I will post specs later tonight.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 3:22 AM Post #12 of 13

terrymx

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Posts
4,759
Likes
12
its possible that you have over heating issue. if you go to desktop -> right click properties -> setting -> advance -> geforce "card". since it give that message i assume you have a newer driver and a newer video card that have temperature monitor. over 60*C is bad.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top