Complete noob receiver to amp ?
Sep 6, 2008 at 9:02 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

notoriousmatty

New Head-Fier
Im purchasing a pair of beyerdynamic 880 pros and want to get an amp to drive them probably the little dot mkiii . I have a receiver hooked up to components using hdmi. How does the amp hook up to the receiver..is it in between the headphones and the receiver still using the headphone jack? Again I need the audio to stay in hdmi for Lossless audio from sources. thanks.

Sep 6, 2008 at 1:04 PM Post #2 of 29
If your receiver has both a preamp and amp stage, you probably won't want to use both the receiver and the headphone amp together, as this would give you an exorbitant amount of gain and your headphone amp would amplify the noise coming from the receiver, which probably won't be a trivial amount.

If your receiver has a loop out (an output which receives the signal going into the currently selected input, bypassing the circuitry inside) then connect the loop out to the input of your headphone amp.

Can you post the model # of your receiver?

Sep 6, 2008 at 5:48 PM Post #4 of 29
Hi Matty... yes that receiver has 2 analog out's which can be used to send RCA audio L and R into the Little Dot's RCA inputs. Should work fine. Use the receiver as a source selector, just as you would with speakers. I do this with some of my gear and its fine.

Sep 11, 2008 at 3:36 PM Post #7 of 29
If your Yamaha has some sort of by pass line out or tape record line out, that's where you'd want to plug your headphone amp into.

Or else you might want to split the source output, one to your headphone amp and another to the receiver.

Sep 11, 2008 at 6:24 PM Post #8 of 29
Quote:

Originally Posted by Navyblue /img/forum/go_quote.gif
If your Yamaha has some sort of by pass line out or tape record line out, that's where you'd want to plug your headphone amp into.

I'm new to this kind of stuff, so I don't really know if it has what I'm looking for. Could you help me out?