CMoy / beginner / sockets
post-186989
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 17

Mimician

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Posts
8
Likes
0
this might sound stupid but i just want to make it clear. i was building the cmoy amp and i used the sockets. then i put the op-amp on it, right? how come it doesnt stay there? i mean it falls it whenever i move the thing. shouldnt the socket hold it?

thanks a lot for your help!
 
     Share This Post       
post-187002
Post #2 of 17

braillediver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Messages
4,547
Reaction score
20
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Posts
4,547
Likes
20
No offense but are you putting the op amp into the sockets or on the sockets? It needs to be pressed into the sockets. Make sure the legs line up with the socket holes and press it down evenly so the legs slip into the sockets. If the legs are spread out to much lay the opamp on its side on a table or other flat surface and lightly push down to bend the legs in so they line up with the holes.

The only stupid question is the one that's not asked.
 
     Share This Post       
post-187010
Post #3 of 17

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
Also make sure the opamp is oriented correctly. If you are using the Hansen board, the silkscreen for the opamps shows a half-moon at one end. Make sure pin 1 of opamp is facing the end with the half-moon.
 
     Share This Post       
post-187156
Post #4 of 17

Mimician

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Posts
8
Likes
0
Thank you very much!

the thing i still dun understand is that why do we have to use a socket? if i pushed the op-amp hard into the socket will i be able to get it back out? what's bad about just soldering the op-amp to the board?
 
     Share This Post       
post-187191
Post #5 of 17

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally posted by Mimician

the thing i still dun understand is that why do we have to use a socket? if i pushed the op-amp hard into the socket will i be able to get it back out? what's bad about just soldering the op-amp to the board?


A socket is used so you can swap out the IC more easily, as is in the case of 'rolling' or replacement. If you have no intention of 'rolling' IC's, then you can solder the IC directly to the board. Removing IC's from the board is a bit of pain, though. The bit about orientation still applies.
 
     Share This Post       
post-187208
Post #6 of 17

Mimician

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Posts
8
Likes
0
i see. so i can actually pull the IC out even when i pushed it into the socket?

thanks very much for your help! so u're DIYer too?
 
     Share This Post       
post-187211
Post #7 of 17

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally posted by Mimician
i see. so i can actually pull the IC out even when i pushed it into the socket?


Yes, you can remove the IC from the socket

[/i]so u're DIYer too? [/QUOTE]

DIYer made not be the proper term...hacker may be more appropriate.
 
     Share This Post       
post-187218
Post #8 of 17

JMT

JMT Audio:PPA/META42 Amp Factory
Moderator
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
6,733
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
6,733
Likes
18
Occasionally an IC might go bad on you, socketing makes it easy to replace as well. If you have ever had to desolder an op-amp, you will discover the value in socketing.
 
     Share This Post       
post-187405
Post #10 of 17

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
At the moment, my Corda HA-1. Kinda like the Corda Blue but different.
 
     Share This Post       
post-926821
Post #11 of 17

Jahn

Headphoneus Supremus Prolificus
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Messages
21,331
Reaction score
25
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Posts
21,331
Likes
25
I revived this old thread to make myself feel better, that i'm not asking the following question alone out there - some of us have no idea what we're doing!

I have some op amps here like the OPA2132PA and the OPA2227PA that can be stuffed right into this socketed cmoy no problem. but then i have op amps like the AD8620AR and the OPA2614ID that look way tiny and obviously don't look like they are big enough to plug into this op amp socket - in fact they look more the size to solder onto a browndog or something.

Do they even make the AD8620AR and the OPA2614ID in a size like the 2132PA and the 2227PA? By the way right now I have a OPA2604AP in this Cmoy that is making the new MS-2 sing like a champ.
 
     Share This Post       
post-926826
Post #12 of 17

Jahn

Headphoneus Supremus Prolificus
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Messages
21,331
Reaction score
25
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Posts
21,331
Likes
25
PDIP versus SOIC. I just edumacated meself. rats. i can't solder.
 
     Share This Post       
post-926856
Post #13 of 17

Earwax

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
2,319
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Posts
2,319
Likes
10
How do you know you can't solder? Have you tried?
 
     Share This Post       
post-926862
Post #14 of 17

Jahn

Headphoneus Supremus Prolificus
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Messages
21,331
Reaction score
25
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Posts
21,331
Likes
25
Quote:

Originally Posted by Earwax
How do you know you can't solder? Have you tried?



nasty physics extracurricular work in HS. solder burn made my wrist look like robocop. No Mas.
 
     Share This Post       
post-926891
Post #15 of 17

Earwax

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
2,319
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Posts
2,319
Likes
10
Ahh, I see. Sorry. I just figured that if I can learn to solder, anyone can do it.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top