Closed cans under $150 to use with a FiiO amp on iPod
Jun 24, 2010 at 3:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

xyphe

New Head-Fier
I'd like to step into the audiophile world and I need your help. I'm planning to buy a pair of closed cans and a tiny amp (FiiO seems to be the best in this field, correct me if I'm wrong). I'm a student so if I'm not pleased with my portable setup, I'll have to wait a long time before I can change it to suit my needs (financial limitations). Your suggestions are crucial to me.

Starting with the amp, I've read that iPods provide a better signal when used with a LOD cable. Assuming this is true, FiiO's E1 model looks like the best option because the amp itself is a LOD cable and improves SQ. Do you agree on this? How would it compare to other models, E3 or E5 for example? Actually, are there any other brands of pocket size amps that are better than FiiO and as affordable?

Secondly, my preference of closed cans. I listen to a very broad range of music, literally everything besides classical and metal. I love hearing a lot of bass but it's crucial that it doesn't overshadow mids and highs. To put it in another way, when I'm using my future headphones, I want to think about how beautiful Ella Fitzgerald's voice is and how deep Excision's bass effects are. They must be comfortable enough to wear for hours and portable enough to be able to walk around with them. Lastly, I strongly prefer that they have little to no sound leak. Isolation must be good both ways, in and out. Keep in mind that this pair will be used with one of the pocket amp models that you will hopefully guide me to.