Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-12264026
Post #9,511 of 40,385

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,971
Reaction score
7,567
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,971
Likes
7,567
What player you used with mojo? I wonder how much it improves the sound of the tons of 192k mp3 in my iphone...

I'm not sure if you can hear it but I find 192kbps MP3 to be audibly terrible. The Mojo won't magically transform trash to treasure so to speak. It's exceedingly revealing and as they say 'garbage in, garbage out'. Same with poor masters... especially with poor masters. That said, well recorded music with decent file compression (my minimum threshold is 256kbps AAC) will simply shine with the Mojo.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: spook76
post-12264120
Post #9,512 of 40,385

xeroian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
230
Reaction score
45
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Posts
230
Likes
45
have Hugo and mojo will be arriving shortly. does it come with USB and coaxial cable ? I will be using it mainly with Beyer dt880 600 ohm and redmi s1/fiio x3 2nd gen as transport .

Only a very short USB cable with Mojo. Hugo comes with many variants of USB and optical cables though so you should be fine.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12264184
Post #9,513 of 40,385

xeroian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
230
Reaction score
45
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Posts
230
Likes
45

Thank you all. I guess I will try later on Sunday as it's 4.33am here in the UK.

I think the Mojo is cute too; (adorable). It's size as with the Hugo is desktop perfect. I genuinely didn't expect to see four members post in a row that their Mojo charges silently.

I also think I would struggle to wait ten hours for it to charge first time. I wondered if that was for battery conditioning. Whereas used straight from the box charging and playing, it's still going to see a full length charge.

I totally completely and absolutely understand why folk love the Mojo, from what I read in pro-reviews, and impressions. I feel re-enthusiastic, and grateful to each of you.

Please make sure you check Amazons T&Cs before deciding to open it. Amazon UK usually say 14 days in either used or unused condition because of Distance Selling regulations (although the regs. have a different name now as they are EU wide) and a further 14 days (28 all together) if unopened. Over Christmas they extend this but it may just be the unopened allowance they extend. If in doubt about their rules then return the Mojo, buy it again and start using it immediately. Why wait until the last day before checking out whether something is suitable or faulty? Do it on day one.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12264857
Post #9,514 of 40,385

episiarch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
2,625
Reaction score
243
Location
London and California, mainly
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Location
London and California, mainly
Posts
2,625
Likes
243
What do you pair your mojo at ?

In terms of headphones, there's a variety depending on mood and use case, but it drives all of them well (again, to my ears, better than anything else I own).  The current favorite is ACS Evolve, but others I use or have used it with, with good results, are HD580, K501, K550, SA5000, D2000, ER-4S and JH13 (pre-freqphase).
 
In transports, it's been Macs (both optical and USB, sometimes with Audirvana Plus and sometimes without), iPhone (CCK + the included USB).
 
In material, almost nothing better than 16/44.1, and a lot of it is AAC 320 or AAC 256.  Even those compressed tracks sound amazing through the Mojo.  I'd much rather listen to AAC 256 on Mojo than something higher-res on my Lavry DA10.
 
For me it's just making everything better.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12264975
Post #9,515 of 40,385

trtrtr607

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Messages
39
Reaction score
13
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Posts
39
Likes
13
just wonder if anyone experienced crackling sound through Chord stock ASIO output in foobar? I am currently running Windows 10 and installed driver from Chord, and these crack and pop sounds appear while playing back MP3/AAC files, but not DSD files. When I switch to WASAPI, all just work right. I previously used Windows 7 and have no problem with ASIO at all.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265049
Post #9,516 of 40,385

zeddun

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
234
Reaction score
82
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Posts
234
Likes
82
Has anyone tried the Mojo with either versions of Dita the Answer and if so is it a good pairing?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265233
Post #9,517 of 40,385

Mojo ideas

John Franks
Sponsor: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
1,165
Reaction score
1,705
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Posts
1,165
Likes
1,705
Has anyone tried the Mojo with either versions of Dita the Answer and if so is it a good pairing?
We at Chord have had a lot of experience with all the Dita products we like them all and I personally carry some always.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265245
Post #9,518 of 40,385

sonickarma

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
1,777
Reaction score
498
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Posts
1,777
Likes
498
Website
earphonia.com
Has anyone tried the Mojo with either versions of Dita the Answer and if so is it a good pairing?
Dita Truth has good synergies with MoJo 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265376
Post #9,519 of 40,385

salla45

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
636
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Posts
1,045
Likes
636
have Hugo and mojo will be arriving shortly. does it come with USB and coaxial cable ? I will be using it mainly with Beyer dt880 600 ohm and redmi s1/fiio x3 2nd gen as transport .
I'm using mine also with the X3 ii. It's a headache to get the 2 linked up. I got a bespoke cable made by a HEADFI member derGabe for not much money at all and it works like a charm! I used Sugru to modify it a little as below, and now the X3ii and Mojo are just continuously "bolted" together with velcro and i even put some bumper feet on it so it can stand up nicely. If i were you, i'd contact derGabe and see if he can knock one up for you. It took a bit of time, so to avoid frustration get in early. I don't know many other places, other than Moon Audio who will do one, but thats 100$ or something + timescale. 
 
I also have the T1 beyers and they work beautifully with it. Your 880's should be great too!! 
 
Hope you enjoy as much as me.
 
 
 


 
     Share This Post       
post-12265406
Post #9,520 of 40,385

TokenGesture

Previously known as avl06
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
227
Location
Somerset
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Location
Somerset
Posts
1,507
Likes
227
Disappointed with mojo (in)ability to connect to the Pioneer DAP over USB.  I've tried numbers of OTG cables, most don't connect at all, and the two that do display a lot of interference.  Not really fit for purpose.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265437
Post #9,521 of 40,385

cattlethief

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Messages
541
Reaction score
111
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Posts
541
Likes
111
Disappointed with mojo (in)ability to connect to the Pioneer DAP over USB.  I've tried numbers of OTG cables, most don't connect at all, and the two that do display a lot of interference.  Not really fit for purpose.

My mojo can connect to my pioneer no problems and if you are getting interference you will have to switch your wifi off.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265499
Post #9,522 of 40,385

TokenGesture

Previously known as avl06
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
227
Location
Somerset
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Location
Somerset
Posts
1,507
Likes
227
My mojo can connect to my pioneer no problems and if you are getting interference you will have to switch your wifi off.

I guess you are right. I wanted to stream, but I guess I can just do that with the Pioneer sans mojo.  

 
     Share This Post       
post-12265501
Post #9,523 of 40,385

masterpfa

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
333
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Posts
1,045
Likes
333
  Disappointed with mojo (in)ability to connect to the Pioneer DAP over USB.  I've tried numbers of OTG cables, most don't connect at all, and the two that do display a lot of interference.  Not really fit for purpose.
I have found any connection issues to be with the device you are tying to connect to the Mojo and/or cables. I personally don't have the Pioneer DAP but I did have a great deal of problems with my OnePlus One. Long story short, got an OTG from One Plus and all worked, I have since found other cable that will also work.

Any noise interference can also be caused by a bad connection in the USB chain (either at the DAP or DAC end) or interference from the WiFi.
It's a shame that you haven't found a USB OTG that's Fit For Purpose took me ages to get items that worked.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12265591
Post #9,524 of 40,385

Mython

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
8,760
Reaction score
3,383
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Posts
8,760
Likes
3,383
 
Has anyone tried the Mojo with either versions of Dita the Answer and if so is it a good pairing?
We at Chord have had a lot of experience with all the Dita products we like them all and I personally carry some always.
 
...and the Chord publicity pics prove it!
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-12265665
Post #9,525 of 40,385

zeddun

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
234
Reaction score
82
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Posts
234
Likes
82
We at Chord have had a lot of experience with all the Dita products we like them all and I personally carry some always.

...and the Chord publicity pics prove it!



Dita Truth has good synergies with MoJo 

Thanks everyone for your comments. I'm looking for a good universal IEM to use with my Mojo and my Calyx M. Based on comments I'm going to purchase rhe Answer from a fellow head-fi member. I previously had the ie800 and really liked the sound but the ie800 wouldn't stay in my ears unless I was stationary and didn't really provide any isolation. I also tried the K3003i but didn't like the fact that it distorted with my Calyx M due to its low impedance so that I had to use an extra M Jack. Looking forward to trying the Answer.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 8)

Top