Cheapest Full sized Headphone Amp-Thats Actually Worth the Money?
Jun 15, 2010 at 7:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

ANinjaBurrito

Head-Fier
I've been looking around, and it seems that headphone amps are either $5,000 (Yes i'm looking at you WooAudio!), or $20 bucks (Fiio E5) and crappy. So, i'm looking for a full sized amp that is within $90-150, though I can go up to $200.

I know these are really high demands but if there was:
Bass Boost
External Volume Knob(On the actual amp)
Treble Control (Do amps even have these?)

As you can see i'm a total noob, just started getting into headphones. Just bought some M-50's, and going to get a pair of SR225 in about a month, so I thought I should pick up some amplification now.

Any help is appreciated. 

P.S. One more question: Are portable amps worth hooking up to your computer? Thanks.

Jun 15, 2010 at 7:56 PM Post #3 of 28
If you live north of the GTA you might like to drop by and listen to the amps I have
laying around...might help you decide what you are looking for.
I have a couple different CMoys, a heavily modified Bravo Hybrid and a three channel Szekeres.

PM me if you are interested.

Jun 15, 2010 at 8:46 PM Post #5 of 28
You can find or ask for more info in the DIY section. I would suggest you do that first. Advertise in FS section for a reputable builder if necessary. MisterX is a pretty famous builder here, but he focuses on AMB lab designs like the CKKIII. Another member tomb know more about Millett designs. I think he only sells kits now.

Jun 16, 2010 at 12:23 AM Post #7 of 28
You always choose amp based on your headphones. If it's just a M50 and SR225i then you might as well get a cmoy and be done with it. 

Jun 16, 2010 at 12:46 AM Post #8 of 28