Chaining amps (Schiit stack)
post-14460792
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 6

Nastrahl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
15
Location
France
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Location
France
Posts
22
Likes
15
Age
36
Hi,

I have a Schiit stack composed of an Eitr (because of a PC for audio source), Modi Multibit, Loki mini and a Magni 3 that was a present, but own a Vali 2 with an Electro-Harmonix 6922 EH Gold tube too, that I used before.

I wanted to know if there’s any advantage, sound-wise or not, to chain both of them ? If so, in which order ?

Thanks a lot.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14460879
Post #2 of 6

AthenaZephyrian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
279
Reaction score
150
Location
Southeastern U.S.
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Southeastern U.S.
Posts
279
Likes
150
Just use multibit>your favorite amp ever, unless you're trying to power something absurd like a 900 ohm load, or a pair of stax, which are in the 10's ok kohms. Otherwise, they'll just add their own distortions and noise to the signal.

There would be some perceived benefit to daisychained tubes, if you are the kinda guy who mainlines tubes before breakfast, but even then, getting an amp that just uses more tubes/tubier tubes would be ideal.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Nastrahl
post-14460909
Post #3 of 6

Nastrahl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
15
Location
France
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Location
France
Posts
22
Likes
15
Age
36
Thanks a lot.

I’ll try both with a Sys to figure it out which one I prefer.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: AthenaZephyrian
post-14460917
Post #4 of 6

AthenaZephyrian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
279
Reaction score
150
Location
Southeastern U.S.
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Southeastern U.S.
Posts
279
Likes
150
Lemme know what you pick, I'm curious.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14547971
Post #5 of 6

Nastrahl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
15
Location
France
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Location
France
Posts
22
Likes
15
Age
36
Hi,

It just came to me like, right now, that maybe I didn't fully make myself fully clear about my initial wonder.

When I wrote about chaining both, I was referring to plug the Vali 2 to the Magni 3 through Vali's pre-amp outputs to Magni's inputs. Not from Vali's jack port. I don't know if it was obvious in the first place.

Are your conclusion the same?

Since a lot happened since (I moved so it took quite the time + all the paperwork, etc) I didn't had the chance to get myself a Sys to play with yet, but I'll definitely come by again if your answer in unchanged.

Thank a lot!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14548704
Post #6 of 6

Keno18

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
455
Reaction score
365
Location
North Babylon, NY
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Location
North Babylon, NY
Posts
455
Likes
365
Hi,

It just came to me like, right now, that maybe I didn't fully make myself fully clear about my initial wonder.

When I wrote about chaining both, I was referring to plug the Vali 2 to the Magni 3 through Vali's pre-amp outputs to Magni's inputs. Not from Vali's jack port. I don't know if it was obvious in the first place.

Are your conclusion the same?

Since a lot happened since (I moved so it took quite the time + all the paperwork, etc) I didn't had the chance to get myself a Sys to play with yet, but I'll definitely come by again if your answer in unchanged.

Thank a lot!
I tried to daisy chain the Vali to the Magni but the result was unsatisfactory. The bass was not as full as the Vali alone. It appears that the Vali's preamp outs are not the same sonically as the headphone output. I eventually just used Y connectors to attach both amps at the same time.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top