Bluetooth alternative to an ATH-M50 or should I just stick with wired?
Mar 20, 2013 at 7:32 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

OttoRobba

New Head-Fier
Hi there folks.
I added a TL;DR section at the bottom for those who don't want the entire story.

I'm new to Head-Fi and I did search but did not find anything that could clear this up.

I used to use a pair of Senheisers HD500 (not sure on the exact model) and they served me well but the cable ended up torn and I feared that they might stop working and I would be left with crummy laptop speakers, just as when my first pair of HD500s died on me.

I had no way to try many headphones and so I kinda went with what seemed like a safe and good option, I got the Audio Technica M50. In general, I like them. Strange to come to a closed headphone after years with an open pair but I'm adjusting and they do seem to get more spacious with use - or maybe that is just me.

One thing that is still annoying me is the cable - it makes me a bit uneasy as I'm using it with the Surface Pro and so I tend to move a bit. Had the cable snag on a desk the other day, made my heart skip a beat or two... I'm scared of breaking it and so I'm kinda pampering the damn cable.

As good as the M50 is, I wonder if there isn't a decent bluetooth alternative at a similar price level. Heard good things about some weird options, like the Creative WP-350 (which people where rating higher than the Senheisers, surprising to say the least). Any suggestions? Or should I just stay with the M50? If the sound quality compromise is too high I'll just stick with the M50.

TL;DR:
Is there a bluetooth alternative to the ATH-M50 or should I just stay with it? Is the M50 cable strong enough to me last a long while or will it flake out?

EDIT: I prefer over-the-ear designs.

Mar 20, 2013 at 7:51 AM Post #2 of 4
All I can say is that cables have been a real problem in head-fiers' lives for a long time, and we learn to be careful in general.