Beyerdynamic Custom one pro - impedence clarification needed!
Nov 29, 2013 at 6:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

happyhour13

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

Audiophile noob here. I am on the verge of buying Beyerdynamic's COP given the it almost have everything im looking for. Just a couple of questions that I just can't find a definitive answer to be completely sure about my purchase.

Basically, Impedence.

Since im new to the Audiophile world I have no accesories. (dac, amps, etc) I will be using it:
-90% desktop PC
-10% on the go with my iphone.

Basically the general consensus is that since these cans have a 16ohm impedence, amps are not requiered/needed to have the best possible experience. However the only thing I want from these cans is to be able to have virtualized surround sound 5.1/7.1. And so for this I need a sound card(internal or external). 

HOWEVER,

I read a thread I can't recall explaining that most internal soundcard have a minimum 10ohm output impedance that will potentially degrade it sound especially by making it bass muddier. Is this true?

If true, is there a solution to achieve a virtualized sound for gaming ONLY? Perhaps an external DSP like the Mixamp have no issue with the impedance? 

Thanks in advance!

Nov 30, 2013 at 10:42 PM Post #2 of 2
  Hey guys,
Basically the general consensus is that since these cans have a 16ohm impedence, amps are not requiered/needed to have the best possible experience. However the only thing I want from these cans is to be able to have virtualized surround sound 5.1/7.1. And so for this I need a sound card(internal or external). 

HOWEVER,

I read a thread I can't recall explaining that most internal soundcard have a minimum 10ohm output impedance that will potentially degrade it sound especially by making it bass muddier. Is this true?

If true, is there a solution to achieve a virtualized sound for gaming ONLY? Perhaps an external DSP like the Mixamp have no issue with the impedance? 

Thanks in advance!