best new sub bass iem ie8, atrio, others
Feb 24, 2009 at 7:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 56

reminence

100+ Head-Fier
I am looking for some new iem's specifically for high quantity and quality frequencies below 70hz but also want decent mids and highs
I am a bit of a base head but i dont like the 100-400hz punch where you feel like you have been kicked in the chest(club experience).

I am an electronic producer and pretty much only listen to dance music.

My budget is quite large and i simply want the best.

I currently own the superfi 5 EB(which i like the best) and the klipsch X10
The EB's have a lot of base but not to much of the sub base i currently eq my portabl device to max out on 30-60hz and then min on 100-400hz to achieve a reasonable good sound to my taste.
The X10 highs are great and the mids are detailed to me but somewhat recessed and the bass quality is good but that's where it all stops. the iem's cant handle much volume or bass because they start crackling and farting.

I have been reading the forums and I have found two contenders. The Atrios m series and the sennheiser IE8 but i am open to more suggestions.

I would go for the IE8's because i hear their much better for mid and high but that sub frequency is too important.

What do you think?

Feb 24, 2009 at 8:04 PM Post #2 of 56
I don't think you can go wrong with the IE8's. They're about even with the Atrios (v2) on bass, but do everything else much better. Perhaps with the exception of isolation- that's about the only negative I can come up with on them. That's not to say their isolation is horrible, it's not, it's just not quite as good as some of the other high end earphones. I don't know how much isolation you need though.