Best DIY amp kit for LCD 2's
Feb 6, 2014 at 9:23 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

durkk

Head-Fier
Howdy ho folks. So i am looking for a fun (beginners) kit. I don't have any experience doing this type of stuff, except for soldering the occasional XLR and one time a FET buffer, granted it was just a view steps and well documented. And that's kind of what I am looking for in this project too.

Now I know many people recommend using vintage receivers, so I was wondering if any diy amp-receiver kit´s might be cool. Although it might be harder to make it suitable for headphones?

The main goal: something better than a Schiit Magni, Objective 2 etc. >200$ budget (if I am going to spend 200$ on a diy project, it better be better than just buying an entry level amp). No tubes. Want to power it with a adapter.

Design:
I am a sound designer and might actually want to place the thing in a 19inch rack together with some other hardware. With the amount of space, I would like to add a crossfeed. If this makes any difference in the options of parts please do suggest some things - perhaps there are good kits out there with crossfeed built in?

This being my first project however, I am also fine with making a simple casing and don't make a crossfeed at all. 

I hope this made any sense, and sincerely hope someone can help me out, shed some light on this.

I am located in the Netherlands btw, so conrad and EU dealers etc prefered for parts.

Feb 6, 2014 at 9:34 AM Post #2 of 21
You might be able to build a low-power gainclone (using one of the chips rated for 12-25w) in a 19" enclosure. 

There will be room for crossfeed. 

I doubt this is the best solution, but perfect is the enemy of good. 

Feb 6, 2014 at 9:53 AM Post #3 of 21
  You might be able to build a low-power gainclone (using one of the chips rated for 12-25w) in a 19" enclosure. 

There will be room for crossfeed. 

I doubt this is the best solution, but perfect is the enemy of good. 

Thanks!