Best closed headphones for under a thousand dollers
Oct 17, 2001 at 4:53 PM Post #2 of 62
Could you give a little more information, so we can make better recommendations? Like, do you plan to use a headphone amp as well, do you care about blocking outside noise or leaking noise, and what sort of presentation (smooth, neutral, warm, etc...) are you looking for?

Oct 17, 2001 at 5:02 PM Post #3 of 62
How 'bout the ER4S, a cosmic amp and a traveller's bag? Perfect for home and the office.

That's a 1000 USD (Or about a bizillion canadian dollars.)

Oct 17, 2001 at 5:02 PM Post #4 of 62
Just to respond to that, Preferably theire should be low sound leakage, I will Use amp and with regard to the actual sound, well I'm just starting out so this isn't an area I know much about. Just give me something with a nice mix of qualities.

Oct 17, 2001 at 5:12 PM Post #6 of 62
OK, if you don't mind canalphones, then the system mackay maus proposed would be extremely good. However, if you want full-sized headphones, then two highly-regarded headphones are the Beyerdynamic 831 and Sony 3000.

Tomcat should be along w/ his suggestion pretty soon as well...
wink.gif

Oct 17, 2001 at 8:08 PM Post #7 of 62
You really don't have too many choices, and unfortunately, the headphone manufacturers just don't hardly make cans in the over $700 league at all (except electrostatics which need a very specialized and expensive amps, and the Sony R10).

Uless you're willing to shell out $3000-$4000 for the Sony R10, you're only option is the Sony CD3000, which are fabulous cans at the $400 mark. Of course the CD3000's may as well be open as they fail to block out any sound at all. For a grand you can get the Sony CD3000 and a nice amp.

Yes, there are some beyers as well, but info on those is relatively scarce.

markl

Oct 17, 2001 at 9:17 PM Post #8 of 62
Ok here is what I can give you...

DT831: