Beginner turntable questions
Jun 21, 2012 at 10:01 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

HeroicPenguin

500+ Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I'm looking to get into vinyl on a (relatively) low budget. I looked around and I can get a Music Hall MMF-2.2 for about $250, slightly used. This seems like a pretty decent deal to me, but I'm not sure if I should go for it. I'm pretty new to this stuff, so I was wondering if it was a decent beginner's table or not? It seems that the low end Rega and Technics tables are better regarded, but the prices for them seem to be quite a bit higher. I'd say that my budget for the table is around $300 tops.

Also, I would probably need a phono preamp along with the table. I know a lot less about this and would love to hear your recommendations about that. Budget for this is ~$100 if possible.

Thanks!

Jun 21, 2012 at 11:22 PM Post #2 of 13
That's a fine beginner table to start with that has everything included. If you can push 125, the yaqin ms-22b phono tube preamp is hard to beat

Jun 22, 2012 at 1:28 AM Post #3 of 13
I had to reply to a guy with a NMH avatar pic. But I have nothing to say.

You could consider going for some 70s turntables, that's what I've done. But it makes setup a lot finickier.

Jun 22, 2012 at 6:09 PM Post #5 of 13