Beginner threads/info?
Nov 30, 2008 at 5:02 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Nubster

100+ Head-Fier
Been searching for beginner threads but not much has appeared. I am new to all this and as I read thread after thread I keep seeing a lot of terms and abbreviations and other jargon that I have no idea about. And all the different types of amps and, well, it is pretty overwhelming. Is there a thread or even another site that is beginner friendly so that when I read other threads here I have a little bit of a clue what is being talked about? I hate to start a thread or ask a new question everytime I see something I don't know but I really want to understand all this stuff so I can make some educated decisions on what to buy/build and not waste a bunch of money. Thanks and sorry for being another newb thorn in your backsides...lol

Nov 30, 2008 at 5:19 PM Post #2 of 19
Read a whole bunch. Then after you've got your head around some stuff, ask questions about other things. Everyone starts somewhere and we don't bite.

Not much anyway.

Nov 30, 2008 at 5:29 PM Post #3 of 19
I am not aware of such guidelines/threads.
Fully aware that the short product names used in here can be overwhelming. But read a lot of threads, and use Google Search or similar to find more information when you are unsure which product we talk about.

..and don't be scared asking questions.
smile.gif

Nov 30, 2008 at 5:56 PM Post #4 of 19
x2. If someone references a product that you don't recognize, just search XXX headphones in google. It will probably find you the specific product, as there isn't much overlap in product numbers (which is why people here can refer to cans using only the number anyway). Just keep reading and you will learn quickly.

Also, click on one of the tens of threads about people buying phones for the first time. There is a lot of good info in those, even if the budget/music isn't the same as yours.

Nov 30, 2008 at 6:08 PM Post #5 of 19