Aune X1 Pro: USB problems
post-10583710
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 11

codster303

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 5, 2014
Posts
9
Likes
10
Although I had hoped to be posting my initial impressions today, but I've yet to play anything though the X1.
 
Onto the problem, after I plugged the X1 in the USB 2.0 port a window pops up saying its installing device. After it closes I go change my default audio output and find that its not listed as an audio device. When i look at devices and printers its shown as "SA9027 USB Audio" in a separate "unspecified" category. If I look in the device manager it's listed an "USB Component Device" and has a yellow exclamation point. In the device status it says "This device cannot start. (Code 10) STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR".
 
If I plug the X1 Into a USB 3.0 port windows fails to recognize the device. Although I've read that some USB DACs will not work with certain USB 3.0 cards and hubs but that is not a major problem.
 
Here's the equipment I'm using:
Acer Aspire V3-771G-9441 (specs on amazon)
Windows 8.1
foobar2000
ATH-M50
and of course the Aune X1 Pro with the cables and power supply that came with it.
 
What I've done so far:
I've uninstalled the driver many times, restarted the computer several times, deleting the lower and upper filters.
None of this has helped; it still does the exact same thing.
 
As far as I can tell the X1 is working properly the lights come up I can change inputs, the amp works by itself using line in from my the computer. There is slight static when i turn the volume to very high levels, but i don't see that being a big problem right now.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10586332
Post #2 of 11

Koolpep

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
4,110
Reaction score
2,236
Location
German in Dubai
Joined
May 18, 2011
Location
German in Dubai
Posts
4,110
Likes
2,236
If you have a hub, try connecting it via the hub.

Sorry, am a Mac user, so can't help much more...
 
     Share This Post       
post-10586874
Post #3 of 11

codster303

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 5, 2014
Posts
9
Likes
10
I don't have one unfortunately, but I decided to exchange it since practically the only option left is a hardware/firmware problem in Aune X1.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10597139
Post #4 of 11

quodjo105

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
972
Reaction score
312
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Posts
972
Likes
312
sorry to hear this, not a good feeling i can imagine especially when we've had to wait a long time for this to arrive. Mine was delivered here in the uk yesterday and it works flawlessly on my macbook though and so far i'm loving this thing.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10598818
Post #5 of 11

codster303

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 5, 2014
Posts
9
Likes
10
Yea it's not what I was hoping for but at least I'm going to get a new one shipped as soon as possible. I'm glad to hear you are enjoying yours, quodjo105. If you don't mind me asking what headphones have you used with them? I'm looking to upgrade from my ATH-M50 when I get the (working) X1 Pro and am interesting to know what other headphones people have used and enjoyed with it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10598853
Post #6 of 11

quodjo105

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
972
Reaction score
312
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Posts
972
Likes
312
I'm using the sennheiser hd 650,im also planning to get hifiman he—400 or he-500 as well
 
     Share This Post       
post-10744932
Post #7 of 11

uncola

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
126
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Posts
1,255
Likes
126
this really helped me when I had trouble getting my Nexus 4 driver installed correctly in windows..
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html  
and remove any weirdo usb drivers you don't need.. or that you think might be the aune
I think I learned how to do this from the wug's nexus root toolkit.  
 
     Share This Post       
post-10762008
Post #8 of 11

takonin

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Posts
7
Likes
0
My Aune X1 Pro mk2 started having the same USB problem as the OP also. Now I can't connect via USB anymore.  I've tried it on 3 different problems and all returned with the same error message.
 
     Share This Post       
post-11193166
Post #9 of 11

richuurd

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Posts
2
Likes
0
I have the same problem as OP. Works on a Mac through USB and not on Windows 8.1 or 7. Anyone solve it? 

Might be a bit pre-emptive to say, but I've fiddled with this for 5 hours straight now. Getting really frustrated and giving up on Aune.
 
     Share This Post       
post-11193423
Post #10 of 11

takonin

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Posts
7
Likes
0
richuurd, I tried almost everything but at the end couldn't get it working with my computer again.  I had tried various usb cables, changed computers, reinstalled usb drivers, etc.  Every other input was working except the USB.
 
I ended up returning my X1 and they replaced it with a new one.  The second one suffered the same problem only after a few weeks and I returned it for a refund and bought something else instead.  I liked the sound of the X1, but unfortunately, it has major problems with their USB controller.  
 
     Share This Post       
post-11197100
Post #11 of 11

richuurd

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Posts
2
Likes
0
Thanks for the reply, takonin. Much appreciated. I was thinking along the same lines too.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top