Audio-Technica ATH M50 or AKG K550 or Denon AH D-600
Jul 28, 2013 at 2:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

stmrn22

New Head-Fier
Hey guys, I am about to buy quality headphones for the first time. Narrowed it down to Audio-Technica ATH M50 (£130), AKG K550 (£130) or the Denon AH D-600 (£199). I have no experience of audiophile grade headphones and so am pretty naive regarding most of the technical commentary online. In short, I'm looking for a portable, enjoyable, quality listening experience via my iPhone 4. My main aim is to listen for pleasure, not to analyse or criticise the music. Bass is also important to me as I listen to a fair amount of electronica/dub-step etc. Your thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated...

Jul 28, 2013 at 10:22 PM Post #2 of 21
Quote:
Hey guys, I am about to buy quality headphones for the first time. Narrowed it down to Audio-Technica ATH M50 (£130), AKG K550 (£130) or the Denon AH D-600 (£199). I have no experience of audiophile grade headphones and so am pretty naive regarding most of the technical commentary online. In short, I'm looking for a portable, enjoyable, quality listening experience via my iPhone 4. My main aim is to listen for pleasure, not to analyse or criticise the music. Bass is also important to me as I listen to a fair amount of electronica/dub-step etc. Your thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated...

I would assume the ATH-M50s and AH-D600 headphone would have more bass then the K550.
But, I would think the K550 has the ATH-M50 beat in audio quality (detail) and of course bests the AH-D600 in price.
I would also guess the K550 bests the other two in sound stage (for sure bests the ATH-M50s in sound stage).

Jul 29, 2013 at 12:03 PM Post #3 of 21