Audio-Technica Ath-M50 Drivers
May 13, 2012 at 11:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

dieded4

New Head-Fier
   Hello, second post on this forum, and I'm in a bit of a pickle. Trying to jump into the world of headphones and hifi, and I've hit wall. I'm a university bound student without a lot of money, but I scrounged up enough to buy a pair ( is it only 1 or is it like buying a pair of shoes? ) of m50's.

I bought it online and shipped it from USA to Canada, even got dinged by customs for some fees, but after burning in for a few hours, one of the earcups stopped working.

Having already become addicted to the sound that I heard when I first tried it, and just being a rather impatient teenager, I wasn't about to wait for another few weeks to pay to ship it back to where I bought it from and for them to replace it, so I did something stupid.

I opened the side that wasn't working and measured tried to see the resistance across the leads. It was fluctuating between infinity to almost zero after a bit of a shake, so that was obviously the problem. I opened the drivers up itself, not knowing I would warp the voice coil and damage the diaphragm, so now I probably won't even be able to exchange it.

Any ideas on how to dig myself out of this hole? I live around Toronto if that helps.

May 17, 2012 at 12:40 AM Post #4 of 7
Put the ATH-M50s back together like they were before you opened them, contact the retailer) seller and tell them the ATH-M50s are defective, ship them back for replacement or refund, do not tell them you opened the ATH-M50s..

May 17, 2012 at 12:43 AM Post #5 of 7
Quote:
Bump.
Is there anyway I could get my hands on a m50 driver?

From the Audio technica website:
"[size=medium]PARTS:[/size][size=medium] [/size]