Audigy 2 headphone click on boot
Nov 14, 2009 at 12:05 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

sniperdude

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
26
Likes
10
Hi all

got myself a set of HD595 few days ago I think they are great
but I am noticing things I haven't with my old phones

main think is when i boot my pc soon as i press the power button
a get a loud click out of the phones

i put my old phones in to test and i can hear a click but nowhere near as
bad

just searched for the forum and found that some people with Audigy 2 cards
modded them with new caps buy they only seem to be zs versions

would this in anyway help this click issue i am having ?


I have a audigy 2 platinum EX

http://www.xbitlabs.com/images/multi...2PLT_EX_c1.jpg


/images/multimedia/audigy2-platinum-ex/Audigy2PLT_EX_c2.jpg
 
Nov 14, 2009 at 12:31 PM Post #3 of 9

sniperdude

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
26
Likes
10
anyone got any idea how i stop this pop/click when i switch on the pc
when the phones connected to the breakout box

the phones work fine these are the first good set of phones so as you can imagine I have tested them a lot lol

on other headphones (cheap hd201) when i switch on the pc i get a very quiet bass like sound click to me this would be normal

when i have the hd595 plugged in an switch on i get an almighty crack/click
its quite a nasty click I wouldn't like to have them on my ears when this happens

but it don't happen the 595's are plugged direct into the soundcard
 
Nov 14, 2009 at 1:02 PM Post #4 of 9

leeperry

Galvanically isolated his brain
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Posts
13,538
Likes
1,203
sounds like they only put a relay on the card itself? and maybe there's an impedance difference between your 2 headphones? usually the lower it is, the louder the sound.

I have the same problem on my HD2, I get a "pop" when turning the computer on/off
devil_face.gif


but it was the same on my previous M-Audio Audiophile USB, and they have a good explanation to that: M-AUDIO - Loud popping or screeching sound when powering up or down
 
Nov 14, 2009 at 11:31 PM Post #6 of 9

sniperdude

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
26
Likes
10
cheers for the suggestion think it would be just as easy to unplug
the phones as the breakout box is right in front of me

but I have Emailed sennheiser to see what they say about it, havent a clue
if support is good there but i guess i will find out

if the £15 hd201 don't click on boot then the £120 HD595 shouldn't
if you ask me


oh the impedance difference on the phones is
hd201 = 24
hd595 =50

I think? am not up on all this stuff
 
Nov 15, 2009 at 12:13 AM Post #7 of 9

leeperry

Galvanically isolated his brain
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Posts
13,538
Likes
1,203
maybe the new one has a higher sensitivity(in dB) than the old one then.

plugging/unplugging might be more harmful in the long run than getting a "pop" each time your turn on/off...just set the volume at the minimum when you shutdown the system
wink.gif
 
Nov 16, 2009 at 12:26 AM Post #8 of 9

sniperdude

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
26
Likes
10
my cousin is a DJ/producer we tested his headphones I think they are HD25-1 II
no click either

he said the noise don't sound good he would take them back even if the new set do the same thing adleast I would know they are not faulty.
 
Nov 17, 2009 at 11:49 PM Post #9 of 9

sniperdude

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Posts
26
Likes
10
swapped the phones and the new set are just the same lol


i have noticed that sometimes if i press the power on really fast i don't get the click so am guessing i could be a spike in the in the 12volt floppy power connector that connects to the soundblaster card (this powers the breakout box that am having the problem with


i would really like to make up some sort of resistor cable to help give
a really solid 12 volts with no spike on boot

i know my power supply is solid but it is possible that is could overvolt for a second when booted

this is guessing on my part but i would like to know if this could be the possible cause ?


would be good to make a cable just to test but i wouldnt know where to start
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top