Asking for a lot, but very open to suggestions!
Sep 24, 2010 at 5:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

ipractice

New Head-Fier
I've been looking for a very, very long time to upgrade my headphones. Just to give you an idea I've been using a pair of Bose headphones for the last 4 years and everything down to the wiring is falling apart. And yes, I've read enough on here to realize the quality of Bose products and how much I've been missing out on.

I have a very lenient budget of $200. The main reason for this is that I really want a pair of headphones that will sound great stand alone. I'm not ready to step into the world of amps yet, so I'm here looking for the best of the best headphones that will work without an amp, and from what I've seen so far those don't go too far past $200.Oh, and as a last note I am VERY open to buying used products. I have no problem with it at all, so that could factor into the budget as well.

I will be using these headphones almost strictly in my room, for movies and music (I'm in college so my roommate appreciates some peace and quiet once in awhile
smily_headphones1.gif
).  I'm not looking or anything portable, but I do care quite a bit about looks. Aside from that noise cancellation is not a huge issue but a nice bonus, and as little sound leakage as possible.

Here's the tricky part: I listen to a good amount of hip-hop and rap, but also love acoustic rock music. I also do a good amount of gaming. I'm a big fps gamer, so I need all the sound information I can get while playing. I would love to use these headphones for all of these functions. Is there a pair that can accomodate such a wide range?

So far I've looked into the AD700's, as well as the M-50's I haven't tried either but I'm curious what is the step up from these because I can push my budget past this.

Sep 24, 2010 at 12:18 PM Post #3 of 7