ASIO superior?
Nov 17, 2013 at 8:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 62

raddle

100+ Head-Fier
I'm just getting into computer audio using FooBar, and I'm wondering if using the ASIO interface gives superior sound. Any experience with that?
Dennis

Nov 18, 2013 at 10:36 AM Post #2 of 62
I believe the WASAPI component is the preferred plug in for Foobar2000.

Nov 18, 2013 at 5:49 PM Post #3 of 62
From what I've read (which is very limited research on the subject), is that ASIO is supposed to be better than WASAPI.  The difference, however, seems to be noted as minimal at best.  I am running WASAPI out of my laptop using fubar, and it works well enough that I haven't messed with trying to use ASIO on the laptop yet.

Nov 19, 2013 at 7:30 AM Post #4 of 62
I don't know if the WASAPI drivers have been improved in recent years or not but Creative suggest that ASIO drivers are superior when used with my old Audigy 2ZS.With Jriver I have tried both ASIO and WASAPI and found no discernible difference in SQ, ASIO is a bit flaky and unstable though while WASAPI is just much better at dealing with higher resolution FLAC files with no hiccups, much more stable for my old card... and is what I continue to use.

Your soundcard/player combo may differ though and it might be worth trying ASIO.

Nov 19, 2013 at 4:41 PM Post #5 of 62
Some practical considerations.
Both drivers have in common that they pass by the Win mixer so no fixed sample rate and no dither.
ASIO doesn’t work if your audio device doesn’t support it.
Most of the time the combination soundcard – WASAPI doesn’t allow for automatic sample rate switching.
WASAPI – USB DAC does.
I do think both drivers do improve the sound compared with DS (Direct Sound, Windows default)
But of course YMMV

Nov 19, 2013 at 7:21 PM Post #6 of 62
Thanks for the information. I know very little about soundcard drivers. Is this WASAPI thing something the soundcard itself must support? Would it work with an old soundcard?