Are HPs your primary output device?
Feb 29, 2008 at 10:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 48

wfranklin

100+ Head-Fier
How many of you spend more time listening to HPs than speakers? What percentage split?

Feb 29, 2008 at 11:00 PM Post #2 of 48
99% headphones and 1% speakers.

My speakers are not made for music (Logitech Z5500), I'm a student so don't have the money for a speaker rig and I live in an apartment so I can't play loud.

Feb 29, 2008 at 11:02 PM Post #3 of 48
Quote:

Originally Posted by wfranklin /img/forum/go_quote.gif
How many of you spend more time listening to HPs than speakers?

It depends who's speaking
biggrin.gif

Feb 29, 2008 at 11:18 PM Post #4 of 48
I do! About 95% headphones and 5% speakers

Feb 29, 2008 at 11:18 PM Post #5 of 48
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaska /img/forum/go_quote.gif
It depends who's speaking
biggrin.gif

OK, very funny. Speakers=loudspeakers.

Feb 29, 2008 at 11:30 PM Post #7 of 48
Quote:

OK, very funny. Speakers=loudspeakers.

Aw, in that case, I'll have to admit that I don't even own loudspeakers anymore. I've evidently become so old and dull that I wouldn't yield usable room in my house to a full-sized rig anymore.

Feb 29, 2008 at 11:33 PM Post #8 of 48
I was at about 90% speakers when I first got into headphones about 5 years ago.

Then I shifted gradually to the point where I listened to headphones more often, and probably up to as much as 70-80% headphones at one point. It wasn't that my speaker setups suddenly weren't as good, but the Head-Fi thing was a real buzz for me. I was buying all sorts of high end headphones and amps and forever making comparisons, both for myself and for others who asked me to help them make decisions.