Amp Help for K701, HF-1
Apr 1, 2006 at 7:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

panigrahi

New Head-Fier
I am new to headphone amps. I am more leaning towards portable amps in lower price range. I will be using this amp with my K701, HF-1, SR-80, HD-210. I like forward sound.

Is PA2V2 add a lot to sound quality for these headphones? Should I spend more for New Total Airhead. Is non-portable amps better in resolution than portable ones? Which one is best under $200?

Apr 1, 2006 at 8:04 PM Post #2 of 23
Quote:

Originally Posted by panigrahi
I am new to headphone amps. I am more leaning towards portable amps in lower price range. I will be using this amp with my K701, HF-1, SR-80, HD-210. I like forward sound.

Is PA2V2 add a lot to sound quality for these headphones? Should I spend more for New Total Airhead. Is non-portable amps better in resolution than portable ones? Which one is best under $200?

The PAV2 is a great match for the Grado's. You can get it and see how it pairs with the other cans you have, you should be able to pick up an used unit for about $50 including S&H.

Are there any HeadFiers close to you? How about attending a meet? Then you could try a few amps and make an informed decission. Good luck.

Apr 2, 2006 at 3:22 AM Post #7 of 23
I use a Rega EAR with both a Grado HF-1 and AKG 701 and like it very much. I think you can find these for under $200 used.

Michael

Apr 3, 2006 at 9:40 AM Post #8 of 23
you could get a stripped down SuperMacro V3 used for 200

that would be my best guess. then you can opamp roll and find the best sound for the 2 of them...

its a great pairing for my HF1. But i suspect the K701 might wand a little extra power. something like the SDS-XLR maybe
very_evil_smiley.gif

May 1, 2006 at 5:43 PM Post #9 of 23