Amp for Sennheiser HD650 (<$300)
Apr 9, 2007 at 12:38 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

BrianN

New Head-Fier
I need a good inexpensive amp form my Sennheiser HD650 headphones, preferably under $300 (I'm a poor grad. student). Please include sites to buy from, sometimes these high audio companies don't sell online. Also, does it really make that much of a difference; I'm listening from a good Sony player (RM-SCEX100), and the sound is very good...

I found one at $400, the Musical Fidelity X-Can v3 (http://www.musicdirect.com/products/...u=AMUFIXCANV3). I guess I can squeeze that out for the money. If I were to go with this or another recommendation, are there any other components/cables I need to buy? I don't know much about preamps and power sources and all.

Thanks,

Brian

Apr 9, 2007 at 12:47 AM Post #2 of 15
M^3!!!
PPA v2!!!

Cavalli Kumisa III!!!

biggrin.gif

Apr 9, 2007 at 2:31 AM Post #3 of 15
Apr 9, 2007 at 3:45 AM Post #4 of 15
Quote:

Originally Posted by hugz /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Original Master is highly regarded with sennies

http://www.aaa-audio.com/index-products-original.htm

the MF Xcan that you mention in your original post is also very highly regarded, but is stretching the budget (i think the Master is in the 200 range)

Yes, I agree that the original master goes very well with the hd650's. I like how it brings control to the 650's base, which at times, I find kind of boomy. Hugz, I also agree whole-heartedly that Hyroi Lee is ridiculously hot!

Apr 9, 2007 at 4:42 AM Post #6 of 15
I second the Gilmore Lite available @ www.headamp.com. Its a great amp and fits in your budget. Also you can the FS forums here as they pop up occasionally.
smily_headphones1.gif
Good luck with your pick!

Apr 9, 2007 at 4:54 AM Post #7 of 15
I third the Gilmore Lite. Amazing amp.

Apr 9, 2007 at 4:58 AM Post #8 of 15
Quote:

Originally Posted by bloodydoorknob /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hugz, I also agree whole-heartedly that Hyroi Lee is ridiculously hot!