A powerful DAP vs low cost DAP + Amp
Oct 3, 2018 at 9:27 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

Atx360

New Head-Fier
I am a newbie here so please overlook an of the mistakes I commit writing this very first thread.
Actually I was looking for a good DAP which would fit my budget when I stumbled across the fiio x3 mkiii. It seemed like a good option. But just as was I about to call it a day, I came across the fiio m3k (the successor to m3). The latter had a much lower output power than what I needed but I thought that if I pair it with a fiio e11 Kilimanjaro then I should have more power to drive anything than even the x3 mk3 without overdrawing my budget.
Anyway the m3k has better snr ratio but I wanted to know if amping it externally would damage the snr reputation of m3k over x3 or in other words degrade the sound quality compared to the x3

Last edited:
Oct 3, 2018 at 1:30 PM Post #2 of 22
I am a newbie here so please overlook an of the mistakes I commit writing this very first thread.
Actually I was looking for a good DAP which would fit my budget when I stumbled across the fiio x3 mkiii. It seemed like a good option. But just as was I about to call it a day, I came across the fiio m3k (the successor to m3). The latter had a much lower output power than what I needed but I thought that if I pair it with a fiio e11 Kilimanjaro then I should have more power to drive anything than even the x3 mk3 without overdrawing my budget.
Anyway the m3k has better snr ratio but I wanted to know if amping it externally would damage the snr reputation of m3k over x3 or in other words degrade the sound quality compared to the x3

I would suggest checking for your specific earphones/headphones, whether the player and/or the amp you want to use has sufficient power. Most folks are using DAPs with IEMs or sensitive headphones that don't require a lot of power to begin with.