A&K SE100 or SP1000(M)?
post-15432759
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 12

Aegwyn11

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
17
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Posts
17
Likes
12
A&K's lineup kind of confuses me, so hoping for more educated opinions than me just poking around in the dark.

I'm considering a new DAP and might be thinking about either the SE100 or SP1000(M). A few questions for anyone that feels like answering:

1) Is the SP1000(M) significantly better than the SE100, enough to justify the price bump? If yes, any thoughts/details would be really appreciated.
2) Is there a noticable difference in SQ between the SP1000 and SP1000M?

Thanks in advance!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15432763
Post #2 of 12

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
679
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,658
Likes
679
Age
53
A&K's lineup kind of confuses me, so hoping for more educated opinions than me just poking around in the dark.

I'm considering a new DAP and might be thinking about either the SE100 or SP1000(M). A few questions for anyone that feels like answering:

1) Is the SP1000(M) significantly better than the SE100, enough to justify the price bump? If yes, any thoughts/details would be really appreciated.
2) Is there a noticable difference in SQ between the SP1000 and SP1000M?

Thanks in advance!
I've owned both, and currently use se100 as my primary DAP. For me the se100 is the sweet spot. While I loved the 1000m when I owned it, it was just a modest improvement over the se100. The se100 for me has a more open soundstage. While the 1000m has more detail, the upper mids came across slightly congested. I bought my current se100 used for $800, you can't beat that.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15432781
Post #3 of 12

priest331

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
125
Reaction score
61
Location
cabatuan, iloilo, philippines
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Location
cabatuan, iloilo, philippines
Posts
125
Likes
61
A&K's lineup kind of confuses me, so hoping for more educated opinions than me just poking around in the dark.

I'm considering a new DAP and might be thinking about either the SE100 or SP1000(M). A few questions for anyone that feels like answering:

1) Is the SP1000(M) significantly better than the SE100, enough to justify the price bump? If yes, any thoughts/details would be really appreciated.
2) Is there a noticable difference in SQ between the SP1000 and SP1000M?

Thanks in advance!
ive auditioned both, and i preferred the sound quality of the SP1000M. SE100, for my ears, is on the warmer side; SP1000M is on the brighter, clearer side (which i prefer.)
there you are, two replies with different tastes as to sound quality. i suggest you AUDITION both the SE100 and the SP1000M before you decide which one to buy.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15436169
Post #4 of 12

Aegwyn11

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
17
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Posts
17
Likes
12
Thanks for the thoughts. I live pretty much in the middle of nowhere, out in the country of the Midwest, so auditioning is tough for me. I'm also probably going to buy used since I'm not in a huge hurry, and I refuse to audition from a dealer that I'm not going to buy from (probably emotions left over from when I worked in a high end audio store, drove me nuts when I'd spend a time with a customer only for them to walk out empty handed). I'm guessing I'd be happy with either, so it just becomes whether I'm willing to spend the extra money on the 1000M or not.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465050
Post #5 of 12

johncolton

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Posts
18
Likes
1
I've owned both, and currently use se100 as my primary DAP. For me the se100 is the sweet spot. While I loved the 1000m when I owned it, it was just a modest improvement over the se100. The se100 for me has a more open soundstage. While the 1000m has more detail, the upper mids came across slightly congested. I bought my current se100 used for $800, you can't beat that.
My desktop setup is Mac -> Jotunheim Multibit -> Mr Speakers Ether C using 4-pin XLR. I'd like to replace the Mac with an SE100. Is it powerful enough to run my Ether C if I get the 2.5mm balanced cable or should I leave the Jotty in the chain? For outdoor use, I'll just use the 3.5mm with IEMs. I'm way more concerned with great listening indoors with my Ether Cs. Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465061
Post #6 of 12

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
679
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,658
Likes
679
Age
53
My desktop setup is Mac -> Jotunheim Multibit -> Mr Speakers Ether C using 4-pin XLR. I'd like to replace the Mac with an SE100. Is it powerful enough to run my Ether C if I get the 2.5mm balanced cable or should I leave the Jotty in the chain? For outdoor use, I'll just use the 3.5mm with IEMs. I'm way more concerned with great listening indoors with my Ether Cs. Thanks!
I'm no expert on your Ether c's, but my hunch is you would probably want more power than the se100 can deliver...but I'm not positive. I'm sure it can drive it, just maybe not to its best potential.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465063
Post #7 of 12

johncolton

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Posts
18
Likes
1
I'm no expert on your Ether c's, but my hunch is you would probably want more power than the se100 can deliver...but I'm not positive. I'm sure it can drive it, just maybe not to its best potential.
What headphones did you use? Which cables? Anything in the path?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465080
Post #8 of 12

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
679
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,658
Likes
679
Age
53
What headphones did you use? Which cables? Anything in the path?
See, that's the thing, I only like IEM's, not cans... My current setup is se100 with Cleopatra cable and EE Valkyries. The other is a CL2 with a PWAudio Limited cable. Both sound fantastic. The Eros II cable was my least favorite of the 3, but the CL2's are burning in, they need another 100 hours...then they will sound neutral. They start off a tad hot until you get 100 hours on them. min. They really benefit from 200+ hours...
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465093
Post #9 of 12

johncolton

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Posts
18
Likes
1
See, that's the thing, I only like IEM's, not cans... My current setup is se100 with Cleopatra cable and EE Valkyries. The other is a CL2 with a PWAudio Limited cable. Both sound fantastic. The Eros II cable was my least favorite of the 3, but the CL2's are burning in, they need another 100 hours...then they will sound neutral. They start off a tad hot until you get 100 hours on them. min. They really benefit from 200+ hours...
How close to max did you need to set the volume? Every try it in a noisy environment?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465656
Post #10 of 12

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
679
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,658
Likes
679
Age
53
How close to max did you need to set the volume? Every try it in a noisy environment?
OH, yeah. For IEMs it's plenty. I'm in Starbucks right now with CL2 and my volume is 110/150. The Valkyries average about 100-105/150. Perfect isolation. The CL2 has deep insertion so it isolates well. Valkyries less so.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15465868
Post #11 of 12

John Blackshear

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
47
Reaction score
26
Location
Durham, NC
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Location
Durham, NC
Posts
47
Likes
26
My desktop setup is Mac -> Jotunheim Multibit -> Mr Speakers Ether C using 4-pin XLR. I'd like to replace the Mac with an SE100. Is it powerful enough to run my Ether C if I get the 2.5mm balanced cable or should I leave the Jotty in the chain? For outdoor use, I'll just use the 3.5mm with IEMs. I'm way more concerned with great listening indoors with my Ether Cs. Thanks!
I use the SE100 with Empyreans, IEMs, OPPO PM1 and Stellia (all balanced out) and have no problems with power. As a matter of fact, I have resorted to listening to the SE100, only. No more desktop sets.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: szore
post-15465880
Post #12 of 12

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
679
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,658
Likes
679
Age
53
I use the SE100 with Empyreans, IEMs, OPPO PM1 and Stellia (all balanced out) and have no problems with power. As a matter of fact, I have resorted to listening to the SE100, only. No more desktop sets.
Nice.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top