A bit lost: IEMs comparable to JVC FXH30 (around $50, for classical only)
Jul 9, 2019 at 12:04 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Sakura90

New Head-Fier
I did read guides, looked around but I'm still a bit lost.

Some background. I've been using the JVC FXH30 since late 2014. I was so happy with them that down the line I bought a 2nd pair as backup. As I imagined, a few months ago, one day I lost my 1st pair. While in a rough shape they still worked perfectly, no other IEM ever lasted me so long before while using it almost everyday on the go. So the backup kicked in and all was good. But now I'd better look for another backup.

While I could get them from Japan (damn JVC for not going international) it's a bit of a hassle. I was wondering if there where something comparable. Target budget around $50 and I only listen to classical music (orchestras, that thing)

I was reading threads but the sounds descriptions kinda go over me. Almost 5 years with the same thing, barely trying some IEM I could get my hands on here and there. And nothing came close to the FXH30. And nothing I've used before came close. You have: A = Analytical; Ba = Balanced; Bs = Bass; M = Mid; WS = Warm + Sweet.
Without having heard examples, except for bass, I guess I won't be able to tell the difference even if my life depended on it.

You have this review: https://www.head-fi.org/showcase/jvc-canal-type-earphone-ha-fxh30.20872/
If I had to put the sound in words I'd say it's accurate. They seem to "win" against the TITAN 1, which he says have strong bass. But go here and "cons: lack bass": https://www.head-fi.org/showcase/du...iaphragm-earphones.20491/reviews#review-18188

Great.

TL;DR
Anyone who tried the JVC FXH30 can recommend an IEM with a similar sound at a price point of around $50? I listen to 99% classical music if it's of any use.