4 cans, only two amps...and they're both WRONG (long post, sorry)
Jan 31, 2009 at 4:50 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

dave650

100+ Head-Fier
Hello everybody,
When I buy headphones, I am new to it (proper headphones) , I must let price decide what to buy at opportune times, like when last year the AU dollar was neckin' it with the US dollar, and people on ebay let me layby so that's a good way to get headphones too. I'm not rich. My 3rd set of cans are 10 years old and rather pricey in the end, won on ebay, my 4th and not by a loooong shot final pair comes to me with a broken end. So I get away with joining the wallet community on a budget, but the problem is the money very much decides what I buy, the opportunities I get. A lump of $500+ in one go is just not on the agenda, and these are the cans I own, in order of how I got them, described earlier:

*Sennheiser HD650, silver silk, no mod
*Beyerdynamic DT990 pro 250 ohm, new, no mod
*Sennheiser HD580, 2nd hand, 10 years old black silk, refurbishing, no mod
*Beyerdynamic DT770 80, coming soon.

Okay, so I pre explained why I appear to have a narrow band in taste, and now the questions:

*Be honest. I screwed up when I bought the Grado Hi Gain to power the 650s, my only pair at that point.
*The L-top pepper II amp I have should be given to my brother as a present.
*I need at least 3 better headphone amps, two with tubes.
*I should trade, trade, trade.
*Or I should sell, 4 pairs can equal 1 PAIR of cans.
*Or I should hoard like an old cat lady.

If you have a moment and live and breathe headphones, please take the time to answer them statements true or false, based on what your brain just says straight away.
What would you all do with these headphones and stuff?