VSONIC GR07

Rating:
4.52273/5,
Tags:
  1. tamleo
    The Best of Sub-$200 iems world
    Written by tamleo
    Published Jun 20, 2012
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Wonderful bass, super transparent, good and accurate soundstage and detailed, adjustable-angle nozzle, couldnt be better build and p/p
    Cons - harsh treble, lack of the hight-mids, a little uncomfortable to long-term wear(angular shape) , a little boring
    Update on my 2nd time purchasing the GR07 in March 2013..
    ...more about the GR07: warm mids
    IMHO:
    Sound: 8/10 (compared to the best iems i have ever had was W4 and Ex1000 10/10)
    p/p: 10/10
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Conrthomas
      Gee, where'd you get them for 125?
      Conrthomas, Jun 25, 2012
    3. tamleo
      @Conrthomas:it is Vietnam:wink: China headphones in my country are often cheaper than them sold in US. Besides, i bought this very good iem at the 1st Gr07 shipment of an audio company
      tamleo, Jun 25, 2012
    4. Conrthomas
      I see. Darn! I need to find a reputable place to get these for less than half a week's wages!
      Conrthomas, Jun 25, 2012
  2. Cotnijoe
    A Great IEM
    Written by Cotnijoe
    Published Jun 17, 2012
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great overall sound, HUGE bang for the buck, nice looking IEM, works well with most set ups
    Cons - can be difficult to get an proper insertion (isolation)
    For the price somewhere between $150.00 and $180.00 USD, there really isn't many other competition for the price. They really get the job done well. Can get a little stale in sound sometimes but that's really a rare case. These really are great!
     
    Great sense if air in the treble (one of the best I've heard) with great detail and extension (sibilance was not a problem for me personally).
     
    Fairly flat mid range that is true to the recording.
     
    Very quick impact bass (especially for a dynamic driver) that's slightly north of neutral with great extension and accuracy.
     
    Wide soundstage, lacking a bit in height and depth, but again with pretty accurate imaging.
     
    Overall a great tonal balance and a very natural sound signature that is capable of handling most genres fairly well. Having that in mind plus being one of the most detailed iem in the price bracket (and honestly competing with iems hundreds of dollars greater in price), Vsonic has a winner here. Those looking for more low end have the option of the bass edition which is a great option to have.
    1. KorkiPoo
      :) Got the GR6, I love it. Cool review.
      KorkiPoo, Jun 18, 2012
  3. zachchen1996
    great iems
    Written by zachchen1996
    Published May 4, 2012
    5.0/5,
    Pros - not fatiguing at all, sounds great with just about anything, very very relaxing iems
    Cons - dont like how you are supposed to wear the wire up and around the ear, and if you wear it straight down its kind of a weird fit.
    just wonderful little iems. wish the isolation was a little better, not bad though, just nitpicking. The microphonics are unacceptable, just a light tap on the cable and i can hear it, annoying as crap, but definitely not a deal breaker.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. DaBomb77766
      The microphonics will always be there, it just makes it much less noticeable.
      DaBomb77766, May 6, 2012
    3. zachchen1996
      i guess, but its really annoying having to always put on the ear guides to listen to them, wish i could listen to them cable straight down with the same audio quality.
      zachchen1996, May 6, 2012
    4. recarcar
      It took me a couple of weeks to get used to the ear guides but now I love them! They were very uncomfortable for me at first too but after I got accustomed to them I forget that I have them on at all. 
      recarcar, Jul 16, 2014
  4. i2ehan
    GR07
    Written by i2ehan
    Published May 3, 2012
    4.0/5,
    --
  5. ItsMeHere
    REVIEW: VSonic GR07
    Written by ItsMeHere
    Published Mar 28, 2012
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Great bang for the buck value, balanced sound-signature, very wide sound-stage, good building quality, a lot of included accessories.
    Cons - The isolation is only average.
    img_2729.jpg
     ​
    Prior to the review, I would like to thank VSonic for the review sample.​
     ​
    VSonic is a Chinese IEM company. For years, they've been one of the leading OEM manufacturers in the world, manufacturing for some of the leading audio companies in the world. A few years ago, VSonic had started to develop IEMs to be sold under their own brand name. The flagship, the then called "R07" was developed for more than three years. Today, after its name had been changed to "GR07", I'll be reviewing it.​
     ​
    Before we start, here the technical specification of the VSonic GR07:​
    Driver Type: 11mm CCAW Dynamic w/ Multi-layers Bio-cellulose
    Frequency Response: 7Hz-30 KHz
    Sensitivity: 105dB
    Impedance: 50Ω
    Cable: 1.3m Silver cable
    Connector: 3.5mm Gold-plated L-plug
     
    img_2715.jpg
     ​
    Packaging: The GR07 comes in a quite big fully transparent-plastic box, which the IEMs can be seen through, placed on a black velvet-like surface, in a very impressive way. After pulling the velvet surface off, there's a paper surface, which all of the accessories and the manual are placed behind.​
     ​
    img_2724.jpg
    all of the supplied accessories.
     ​
    Accessories: VSonic doesn't cut the corners with the included accessories; almost everything I could imagine to get with an IEM is included, especially the tips amount, which is very generous. The following accessories are included with the GR07: a spring snap soft carrying pouch, made of a leather-like looking material. A hard clamshell case could've done a better job. A pair of silicone ear-hooks is included too; I have some things to say about it, but they'll be kept for the "Comfort/Fit" section of the review. As I said before, the amount of tips is very generous; there are actually 13 different pairs of tips included: A pair of a Comply tips clone, a pair of silicone Bi-Flanged tip (Medium sized), 3 pairs of Hybrids look-alikes, with foam in their inner core (Small/Medium/Large), 3 pairs of Single-Flanged silicone tips (Small/Medium/Large) and 5 pairs of regular Hybrids look-alikes (Extra Small/Small/Medium/Large/Extra Large). It was very nice to get so many accessories, and I believe that the GR07s truly deserve to get a 10/10 score for this section.​
     ​
    img_2727.jpg
     ​
    Building Quality and Design: The GR07's build is mainly plastic, though, it's very solid, strong and sturdy. The housings have the words "GR07 WALKAUDIO" embedded on it. On the other side of the housings, the "R" and "L" markings are embedded too. There are two tiny venting holes: one on the housing and another one on the strain relief, to help reliving pressure. The metal nozzles can move to any wanted direction, which is a patented VSonic technology. The sound hole is covered by a metal mesh, protecting the drivers from ear-wax from falling into them. The strain reliefs are a bit too rigid, though, they can still do their job quite good. The cable is made of Silver, covered by a plastic tube to make it more durable; it looks to be of good quality. The cable ends with an L-shaped gold plated 3.5 millimeter jack. The building quality of the GR07s is nothing to worry about; they seem to be very well built, and it looks like a lot of considerable thought had been invested into their functional and durable design. The rating is 9.5/10.   
    img_2733.jpg
    the 3.5 millimeter jack
     ​
    Comfort/Fit: The comfort and the fit are very good, due to a few reasons: The square shaped driver housings just disappear in the ears because they're quite flat. Another reason is a VSonic patent, called "The moving nozzle"; the nozzle can move to any direction you'd like it to, so fit isn't a problem at all. The provided "Hybrid Look alike" tips are offer good comfort, they're pretty soft from the outside and more rigid in their core. The cable doesn't do any problems with the over-the-ear wearing style; it stays in its place and it's not causing any discomfort when touching the skin, because it's quite smooth and pleasant to touch. The provided ear-hooks are terrible, they're pretty much unusable; the cable pops out of them and they are quite uncomfortable, but they're not really needed, so it isn't a big problem. The rating is 9/10.
     
    Comfort/Fit: The comfort and the fit are very good, due to a few reasons: The square shaped driver housings just disappear in the ears because they're quite flat. Another reason is a VSonic patent, called "The moving nozzle"; the nozzle can move to any direction you'd like it to, so fit isn't a problem at all. The provided "Hybrid Look alike" tips are offer good comfort, they're pretty soft from the outside and more rigid in their core. The cable doesn't do any problems with the over-the-ear wearing style; it stays in its place and it's not causing any discomfort when touching the skin, because it's quite smooth and pleasant to touch. The provided ear-hooks are terrible, they're pretty much unusable; the cable pops out of them and they are quite uncomfortable, but they're not really needed, so it isn't a big problem. The rating is 9/10.
     
    Sound Quality: Before the review, I had given the VSonic GR07s at least 160 hours of Burn-In, as recommended for this specific IEM by a lot of Head-Fi users. There were some small changes, mainly in the treble area: Out of the box, there was quite lot sibilance, though, after the burn in period, it almost disappeared. Also, the treble got a bit smoother, and it now extends better. The bass has now a bit more weight and body, and like the bass, it extends better too.
     
    The sound-signature is balanced, warm, musical and smooth. I get relaxed with the GR07s sound signature, because it's not fatiguing at all, I can listen to it for a very long time without getting bored or tired of it.
     
    The Bass: The GR07s bass is very punchy, and even though it uses a dynamic driver, it tends to be quite fast. It's very accurate and well controlled and textured. Also, the fact that the whole sound-signature is balanced doesn't mean that the bass lacks body, vice versa, it has a full body and it has enough weight to feel natural and real. The drums presentation is very unique in its naturalness and realism.
     
    The Mids: The mids aren't laid back but they aren't forward either; they're quite neutral. They are very clean, clear and accurate, managing to reproduce impressive detail layers.
     
    The Treble: The treble has a very good extension, which gets even better after the burn in. Before the burn in, there was a lot of sibilance, but it got away when the GR07s had passed the 150 hours of burn in. After the burn in, it got a lot smoother and non-fatiguing. Like the mids, the treble is very detailed and clear. Also, the treble is very crisp, leading the vocals to sound very good.
     
    Sound-Stage and Imaging: The GR07s sound-stage is very wide and quite airy. Imaging is very good either; a good picture of the played audio can be imagined easily. The instruments separation is good, and the layering is too.
     
    The rating is 9.5/10. It's rated in ratio to the current price.
     
    img_2728.jpg
     ​
    In Conclusion, for their current price, the VSonic GR07 offers a very impressive "Bang for the buck" value. It's an IEM that could easily stand against more expensive competitors without any shame in all of the categories. I salute VSonic for building such a magnificent IEM for such a low price. The only average thing that the GR07 does is the isolation, though, some of its competitors do it worse. For the great value that it offers, the VSonic GR07 receives an outstanding score of 9.7/10.
     
    img_2744.jpg
     ​
    The VSonic GR07 is officially priced at 179$. It can be purchased through different dealers, for example: Lend Me UR Ears, Frogbeats, Amazon and through the top-rated eBay seller, bigbaragainonline.
     
    More of my reviews can be read in my blog: iahpt.wordpress.com
     
    1. zachchen1996
      how do the sony hybrids sound with the gr07's?
      zachchen1996, Apr 20, 2012
    2. ItsMeHere
      Hi Zachchen1996,
      Sorry for the late reply, I had obly noticed your reply today.
      I do not have Sony Hybrids, so I do not know.
      The included hybrid clones are giving great sound, so I suppose that also the real ones do to, as they're almsot identical.
      ItsMeHere, Apr 29, 2012
  6. ryanki
    Superb
    Written by ryanki
    Published Mar 11, 2012
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Sound quality, comfort,
    Bought these about two months ago and I'm delighted with them. The audio quality is fantastic compared to my last ear phones and they are still suitable for every day use. 
  7. D Rob
    VSONIC GR07
    Written by D Rob
    Published Feb 18, 2012
    4.5/5,
    It is the best of the best at having no flaws. Very good overall at most everything.
    1. qwerty99
      how do they compare to the etymotic hf5?
      qwerty99, Mar 9, 2012
    2. D Rob
      Very well. The hf5 is a more analytical set but only slightly. My concern was loosing the "attention to detail" that the hf5 has. No worries, you do not. I would say if you like the hf5 you WILL like the gr07. The bass is exceptional, tight, well controlled, fast, and without bloat. The highs are not as sparkly but only to the point that it is non-fatiguing. The sound stage is non-comparable as the hf5 has very small staging and the gr07 is a well balanced, airy with better ambience, equal separation, and does NOT get lost when things get busy. The only thing I feel the hf5 has that is not present in the gr07 is type of grittyness with certain sounds (types of guitars) but this is not saying that guitars sound bad, or wrong, or weaker on the gr07. Just that the hf5 has this certain grit to it with distorted sounds that the gr07 trades for a bit if weight and timbre.
      Hope it helped,
      David
      D Rob, Mar 10, 2012
  8. 50an6xy06r6n
    Great for the money!
    Written by 50an6xy06r6n
    Published Nov 17, 2011
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Excellent sound quality, good value
    Cons - Minor build issues
    These are my first pair of upper-mid tier IEMs, so I can't really compare these to anything else in their price range. I can say however, that they sound very good to my ears, with much better bass extension than my A151s, and a nice midrange and overall more balanced sound than my M50s. However, they don't have the world's best isolation, and there are some minor build issues, such as the plastic strain relief coming unglued from the housing, though it doesn't really move around and it's easily glued back on. In addition, the strain reliefs on the y-split and the plug are a bit stiff, since the cord is pretty springy (which can be a pro or con, based on preference), the strain reliefs aren't super necessary, but it can still be a bit annoying. Overall though, very recommended!
    1. View previous replies...
    2. PhoenixClaw
      I see, mine's the version with 15+ tips, soft case and (imo) worse ear guides.
      PhoenixClaw, Nov 18, 2011
    3. 50an6xy06r6n
      IME the earguides aren't super necessary if you cinch the cable a bit and kind of orient/twist the cables a certain way. Anyway, glad to hear they fixed the build issues! Also, how are the tips?
      50an6xy06r6n, Nov 18, 2011
    4. PhoenixClaw
      True, and I wear glasses so I put the wires around my frame to hold them in. The tips are nice - there are 2-3 stock silicone tips, a bunch of sony hybrids clones (all sizes i think), a stock biflange and foam tips. I liked both the stock silicone tips and the blue hybrids clone, but I couldn't get a proper seal with the biflange and the foam tips wasn't really good. Right now, I am using Monster Foam Supertips. IMO, these are even more comfortable than the stock and hybrid clone tips but they are ridiculously expensive. Foam tips give the best seal for me, so the Foam Supertips are just about perfect.
      PhoenixClaw, Nov 18, 2011
  9. some1
    Vsonic GR07
    Written by some1
    Published Nov 12, 2011
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Excellent
    Cons - Need a long break in (200 hours at least)
    Buy these if they are in your budget, you won't be disappointed, very analytical phones with great sub bass reproduction for a IEM
    1. View previous replies...
    2. schummiking
      I would like to say, it is not worthy for that price.
      schummiking, Nov 15, 2011
    3. kiteki
      Vsonic GR06 is an alternative.
      kiteki, Nov 15, 2011
    4. PhoenixClaw
      I agree, the GR06 provides an amazing sound for less than $50, and build quality does not suffer at all.
      PhoenixClaw, Nov 15, 2011
  10. heyodee
    Vsonic GR07
    Written by heyodee
    Published Sep 19, 2011
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Balance and it good for just about every genre
    Cons - ear guide can be a pain
    Gr07 is perhaps one of the best IEMs around in value/price. They are balance and just about every Genre i listened with them ain't bad at all. You can't go wrong with them. The only issues one might have is the fit, and the earguide
    1. i2ehan
      How exactly is this a review?
      i2ehan, Oct 16, 2011
    2. heyodee
      You are right, been busy listening to them. And I can't tell you this if you don't have them already, they rock!
      heyodee, Oct 16, 2011