1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

UFOEAR UFO-112

Rating:
4.16667/5,
  1. NymPHONOmaniac
    Extraterrestrial tuning
    Written by NymPHONOmaniac
    Published Nov 8, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Good technicalities, Good imaging and clarity, Very comfortable, Extraterrestrial spacecraft included
    Cons - Slightly artificial sound, dry bass, thin mids and timbre, small soundstage, lack of treble sparkle, plastic housing, low price ratio performance
    UFOEARS UFO-112 REVIEW :

    P1040532.JPG
    SOUND:7/10

    CONSTRUCTION: 6.5/10
    DESIGN: 8/10
    ACCESSORIES: 8/10
    VALUE: 6/10


    I’m from the generation who look every episode of X-FILE, so i’m use to Unidentified Flying Object from they otherworld.

    So when I see the UFOEARS coming to me, i wasn’t afraid, I was ready!

    P1040530.JPG

    As with any extraterrestrial phenomenon, like Mulder FBI detective will do, I investigate about it and discover this :

    ‘’UFOEAR is a high-end headphone brand created by Dongguan City Huaxian Industry Co.,Ltd in March 2018. It’s also one of the deepened and expanded projects of Dongguan City Broad 3D Technology Co., Ltd. Taking full advantage of 3D printing, UFOEAR earphones are manufactured by integral moulding. The appearance of UFOEAR earphones is full of sci-fi elements no matter in the earphone design, appearance or packaging. Now its independently R&D products are UFO-112 and UFO-111 and More Limited editions.

    As the flagship product, the UFO-112 provides extremely rich music detail, incredibly high seperation of instruments and superrealistic musical instrument junction. Besides, it is perfectly designed for ACG music. The UFO-112 is defined as ‘super reference-class’ earphone, that is produced in a limited run of 2000 units world-wide.’’

    Okay, 3D printing, Superrealistic music instrument jonction, Sci-fi, super reference-class. Yeah, we are somewhere strange and intriguing for sure.

    And it’s chinese. And it’s flagship. And it’s a Dynamic driver plus 2 balanced armature hybrid with UFO shape housing. Geek Alert!!

    While I might be a Sci-Fi fan, i’m not credulous to the point of believing anything i didn’t see or ears, and if an UFO worth alot, i want him to either make me travel far or give me intense sensation.

    Priced at 360$, this UFO really need to be something as stated ‘’out of this world’’ in sonority to worth the investment in extremely competitive and down to earth ChiFi high end world. Let’s see what it really worth in this review.

    The UFOEARS UFO-112 can be buy for 360$ from official Aliexpress store HERE.

    DISCLAIMER : I wanna thanks UFOEARS for sending me this sample free of charge. I’m in no way affiliated to this company and just decide to investigate this UFO case for my personal curiosity.

    SPECS :

    Brand Name: UFOEAR

    • Control Button: Yes

    • Active Noise-Cancellation: No

    • Style: In-Ear

    • Wireless Type: Bluetooth

    • Connectors: 3.5mm

    • Communication: Wireless+Wired

    • Vocalism Principle: Hybrid technology

    • Volume Control: Yes

    • Frequency Response Range: 3-20000Hz

    • Function: Monitor Headphone

    • Function: for Video Game

    • Function: HiFi Headphone

    • Sensitivity: 109dB

    • Is wireless: Yes

    • Plug Type: Line Type

    • Codecs: Apt-X

    • Support Memory Card: Yes

    • With Microphone: Yes

    • Model Number: UFO-112

    • Resistance: 14Ω

    • Waterproof: No

    • Line Length: 1.2m

    • Support APP: No
    ACCESSORIES, CONSTRUCTION & DESIGN :

    P1040509.JPG P1040513.JPG P1040519.JPG P1040526.JPG


    UNBOXING is like no other with the UFO, and I think its perhaps the best part of whole product experience. The UFO sci-fi concept take its full meaning once you see what its hide in the thick cubic box? Nothing less than an extraterrestrial spacecraft! And a beautifull well crafted one too! Made of beautifully polished alloy this act as both a eartips and earphones case, but only the earphones case is meant to be portable. Yes, this make quite an enjoyable surprise and sure will put a big smile on the face of sci-fi geek out there.
    P1040522.JPG P1040525.JPG P1040528.JPG P1040534.JPG

    This is a collectable decorative object in its own right and while the practical side of eartips case is questionnable, the eartips case is sturdy and very fancy looky, tough a little small if you plan putting anything more than the iem in there. In term of accessories, thats about it, you got this crazy spacecraft double kind of case, 6 pairs of silicones eartips, 2 pairs of memory foams eartips and a great 8cores spc cable.

    P1040538.JPG P1040539.JPG P1040540.JPG P1040541.JPG


    CONSTRUCTION, apart from extraterrestrial spacecraft and cable, is a little underwhelming to be honnest. At 360$, i was expecting an higher quality housing, not an all cheap plastic looking one even if UFOEARS stated as high quality acrylic material it feel fragile in hand and i guess durability isn’t there. The decorative printing on it look easily scratchable too. 2Pin connector are embeded in plastic housing. Nozzle is where the 3D printing machine do good job, as it have 2 holes. Anyway, apart from plastic and cheap look, the built isn’t disastrous, its well polished without any quality check issue and as seen in Design impressions, it have the choice of light material and the shape of the iem have positive purpose.

    DESIGN is well thinked and extremely comfortable. As well, you do not have the housing poping out of your ears, thanks to its wisely designed disc-shape, it fit tighly and deeply. Because of this, you can sleep on the UFO-112 without any discomfort, in fact, they are perhaps the very best iem for sleeping purpose. This do great for jogging or any activity that need secure fit too.

    ISOLATION is good, not great, and sound leakage occur due to 2 venting hole in back of housing.

    DRIVEABILITY is easy and do not really benifit extra amping, at 14ohm impendance and 109db sensitivity, the UFO-112 are easy to drive with any audio source.

    SOUND :
    P1040544.JPG


    OVERALL SUBJECTIVE APPRECIATION is a mitiged one but not a disastrous one as I expected reading some others reviews. As i’m sensible to timbre rendering, the UFO-112 displease me at first with its slighty thin and bright presentation, but high level of transparency compensate the dry timbre to some extend. For a rather neutral soundsignature, the UFO lack spaciousness to take full advantage of the clarity of its imaging, as well, its rather soft in attack wich make it lack energy, especially on top where highs sound a little lifeless. In fact, its bass light too, so without any low and highs excitment where do we find our audio joy? This is hard to tell, as the mid range too have some drawback, being a little unbalanced and most of all too compressed. I think the UFO-112 have been tuned for very specific music genre, because sometime it can sound very good with classical and other time very dull with IDM or Jazz.

    P1040542.JPG

    SOUNDSTAGE isn’t very impressive for it’s price range, as if it was all about deepnest wich give an intimate rendering with ‘’tunnel like’’ spaciality (without the resonance it should come with).

    IMAGING is excellent even if presented in a slightly intimate, compact way. Layering is well done and instrument placement is impressively clear and with clean space between them. Its a mix of transparence and brightness that tend to be very addictive once you get use to it due to its highly revealing (and particular) presentation.

    CLARITY is sure head and shoulder above most of any sub-350$ iem I try, but not all, and the way its presented will perhaps be hit or miss depending of your taste. Anyway, even if sometime a little grainy, i find it very sharp and transparent, delivering high level of definition from 500hz to 10khz, wich can be very eye (ears) opening for complex music like concerto and roch orchestra.

    TONALITY is slightly bright but smooth, dry and thin, a little clinical and artificial in its color and struggle to offer naturally harmonious presentation.

    TIMBRE is flat, textured, sometime grainy but with above average transparency. It’s lack body to it and mix of thinnest and texture give a rather agressive coldnest to it.

    BASS is slightly roll off in sub bass region, followed by a very linear presentation that make mid bass more present even if rather restrain in weight and body. In fact, mid bass is agressive and shouty at time, as if the punch did not hit properly. Cello have too much texture and not enough body, making it sound artificial….more similar to a badly tuned violin than real cello. Acoustic bass have same treatment while Slap bass can sound more accurate even if dryish like all bass instrument. This do okay for rock, folk or some classical, but isn’t suggested for anything that need bass body or sub presence, like electronic, pop or rap, even Jazz lover will be underwhelmed.

    MID RANGE is very particular with the UFO…perhaps it’s mean only for extraterrestrial music with very unique otherwordly instruments? In some sens it’s quite fowards, with thin timbre and good transparence, but a little unbalanced and spiky, especially in upper mids where it tend to give more presence to female vocal but to the cost of some sibilance. While i consider the imaging excellent, overall mid range sound claustrophobic due to very intimate presentation were all instrument sound too near each other. As well, the attack isn’t the fastest for dual BA’s hybrid wich suggest an average transient response that affect snapiness of notes impact. Agnes Obel singer wich have extra presence of her lush vocal in how her music is mastered sound quite distant compared to any other iem i use, her voice sound too compartmented wich only benifit imaging, not cohesion of musicality.

    TREBLE is quite sharp, with excellent clarity and soft decay. It have serious emphasis in lower-mid treble wich make it near analytical, pushing percussions and micro details fowards as well as different texture of instrument. Yep, it make the UFO a little bright but not particularly trebly as their no sudden peak after 10khz, in fact its a drop surely because while you have sparkle and brillianc in highs, the decay is cut off wich affect rendering of acoustic guitar or harpsichord but not electric guitar or violin. Highs are crunchy, with good bite, but not very versatile with music genre as if it was tuned for classical (quartet or orchestra) and rock rather than electronic and jazz. Again, it not the most natural sounding treble here.

    LOWER BASS : 6.5/10
    MID BASS : 7.5/10
    MID RANGE : 8/10
    TREBLE : 7/10
    TIMBRE : 6.5/10
    CLARITY : 8/10
    SOUNDTSAGE : 7/10
    IMAGING : 8/10
    ATTACK-DECAY : 7/10


    COMPARAISONS:

    VS FINAL AUDIO B2 (300$) :
    P1040548.JPG

    The B2 is ‘’just’’ a single balanced armature iemthat take full advantage of the acoustic potential of its uniquely shaped housing. Will it can feel unfair to compare a tripe drivers hybrid to a single BA, final result of this battle can be surprising….or not?

    CONSTRUCTION from the B2 is high end looking, extremely sturdy and will certainly have long lifespan compared to cheapish plastic housing of the UFO. Both have great cable, but again, I prefer the one from Final Audio. I cannot underline how much the B2 look like to worth way more in term of luxurious feel and appearance than the UFO, just for construction alone the B2 already win this battle in term of price value.

    But now for sound we know outside construction do just a very little part in audio rendering and limite of a single armature against 1DD+2BA’S configuration is impossible to hide because even if SOUNDSTAGE is barely wider than the UFO, B2 do not have as much tallnest and deepnest to it, as well, it feel less holographic and way more intimate.
    IMAGING is reallyn where the B2 is put to shame against more resolved and sharper presentation of UFO wich have high level of accuracy in instrument separation wich benifit from more space between each of them making against the B2 feel very intimate and even congested.
    BASS is more extended with UFO even if mid bass is less thick than B2, here B2 give all it got and offer impressive weight and natural timbre but its warmer than UFO, less controled and textured. As well, UFO tend to keep midrange clean in bassy track where the B2 will struggle and veil lower mids.
    MID RANGE sound more natural with the B2, timbre is fuller and thicker and vocal are less prompt to sibilance, sure imaging of this range with the UFO is from another level and offer better definition and details as well as more accuracy in crowded music tracks, but instrument sound less natural and cohesion isn’t as organic than the B2. Here, I would tend to prefer B2 in minimalist music while everything else go to UFO, wich offer more spectacular technicalies (everything but timbre and transient response in fact)
    TREBLE is more extended too with UFO, digging more microdetails than softer B2, but this do not mean the quality of it is better, quite the opposite in fact as it can sound a little artificial and unbalanced while the B2 sound always natural and never trebly. But still, sharper clarity while sounding time to time a little clinical, give more brilliance and presence to highs.

    All in all, while B2 exploit perfectly its technicalities and UFO exploit imperfeclty his, the overall more vivid and revealing sound make the UFO more impressive and immersive.


    VS VSONIC VS9 (300$) :

    P1040537.JPG


    SOUNDSTAGE is wider and taller with the VS9, while the more intimate UFO have extra deepnest to it. IMAGING is sharper with UFO, but have a more intimate presentation wich make instrument sound nearer to each other than VS9. TONALITY of VS9 is warmer and more natural, while UFO is a little dry and cold. TIMBRE is thicker and more opaque with the VS9, UFO is more textured, transparent and thinner. BASS have more rumble and slam, its weightier and thicker with VS9, we have more sub bass quantity too while the UFO is flatter, dryier, more textured and less weighty. MID RANGE is fuller sounding with VS9, vocal have great wide presence while they are very centered and intimate with the UFO wich permit clearer separation but in a sometime unbalanced way that give a clinical and sometime artificial musicality. TREBLE have more emphasis in lower highs with the UFO, while the VS9 extend further in a smooth way, highs have more sparkle-decay with VS9 and dig more micro details, without making it feel unbalanced or too fowards. UFO in other end have thin highs that lack decay, making acoustic guitar sounding dull.
    ALL in all, VS9 is slightly more U shape with lusher mids and highs and a more balanced tuning, giving a natural musicality compared to colder, thinner and more unbalanced UFO.


    VS AUDIOSENSE T800 (300$) :

    P1040536.JPG


    The T800 are incredible 8 knowles BA’s that represent the very best iembuy you can make under 500$...will the UF)-112 will stole it’s place? (spoiler alert : Don’t think so)

    Construction is quite underwhelming for this price range, just a full plastic housing one would expect from a 50$ iem. The cable is a nice 8cores SPC, really similar to the one included with the BQEYZ Spring1, but that cannot compete with top notch construction of T800 that have high quality resin body as well as a nice 8cores OCC cable. Again, no surprise, the fit is more natural with UFO and will not encounter perfect sealing research as I have with T800 to get the most out if it.

    Now, for the SOUND, well, let’s say the UFO is K.O in every aspect. SOUNDSTAGE is more intimate, less wide but about same deepnest. IMAGING is more about upper range and lack precision and definition in mid range compared to extremely accurate T800. BASS is thinner in lower end with UFO, have less body in mid bass but fowards punch, T800 is thicker, fuller sounding but less textured and dryish. MID RANGE is more recessed with UFO as well as brighter, thinner and more artificial sounding than more present, wider, lusher and more bodied mids from T800, vocal lack body with the UFO wich make them lifeless compared to superb T800 that show what it can do when big bass do not occur. TREBLE is more coloured and peaky with the UFO, wich do not mean it dig more microdetails, just that highs have more decay wich can benifit classical guitar but only in solo if you want it to sound right, otherwise it sound unbalanced opposite to full treble coverage of T800.

    All in all, UFO is overpriced while T800 is underpriced.


    CONCLUSION :
    P1040531.JPG


    The UFO-112 have a unique sound, unique look and unique spacecraft metal case.

    I enjoy the product concept, while I find the sound and construction underwhelming for asking price.

    Even at half 360$ price, I would still find the sound average and lacking bass weight, timbre thickness, and treble naturalness as well as soundstage size. Sure, clarity is rather good, and imaging is well articulate and do not tend to be messy like inferior iem, but this isn’t mind blowing either.

    The highlight of UFO-112 is comfort and that’s about it.

    But hey, you got a sci-fi spacecraft with it too!

    images

    1. P1040547.JPG
    2. P1040546.JPG
    3. P1040543.JPG
    4. P1040521.JPG
  2. Dobrescu George
    Music From The Outer Space - UFO EAR 112 IEMs Revi
    Written by Dobrescu George
    Published Mar 20, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - + Good ergonomics and build quality
    + Birght, sparkly sound with a lot of detail and good revealing abilities
    + Clean built construction and good cable included in the package
    + Easy To Drive, Easy to pair
    + Good overall clarity
    Cons - - Prone to Sibilance, very easy to overdrive if listened at very loud volumes
    - The UFO and Alien parts may be a bit gimmicky for some
    - A tad expensive at 350 USD
    Music From The Outer Space - UFO EAR 112 IEMs Review

    [​IMG]

    UFO Ear is a new company from China, with good experience, creating IEMs that are in the midrange price range, with a unique design, almost like they're from another planet. The 112 from UFO Ear should be tested against other IEMs from this planet, and we'll see how it stands its ground.



    Introduction

    UFO Ear is a pretty new company from China, and the main person behind them, David, is quite a fine gentleman, who will take care of things for you, if anything bad is to happen. So far, the build quality on my sample of 112 has been pretty much excellent, so I don't expect there to be issues, but if there will be, you know you have your back covered with UFO Ear.

    It should be noted that I have absolutely no affiliation with UFO EAR, I am not receiving any incentive for this review or to sweeten things out. This review is not sponsored nor has been paid for by UFO EAR or anyone else. I'd like to thank David and UFO Ear for providing the sample for this review. The sample was provided along with UFO EAR's request for an honest and unbiased review. This review reflects my personal experience with UFO EAR 112. Every opinion expressed is mine and I stand by it, the purpose of this review is to help those interested in UFO EAR 112 find their next music companion.



    About me

    https://www.audiophile-heaven.com/p/about.html



    Packaging

    First things first, let's get the packaging out of the way:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For the first time in a long while I can talk a bit about the package, because 112 comes in a rather unique and excellent package.

    Beneath the larger cardboard packaging, you will find what I can basically describe as a spaceship. I'm not even joking, it is a real spaceship! For all I can tell, this is one of the most ingenious packages a company has ever created so far.

    It even serves a useful purpose, it acts as a tip holder. If this isn't one of the most fancy things one has ever seen, I'm not sure what is.

    The center part is a rounded metallic case that screws in, and it is the main transport solution for 112.

    They come with a cable, high quality, 2-Pin, Single Ended, and with a large selection of tips. There are also manuals included in the package.

    Overall, UFO Ear 112 has a really excellent package and goes beyond my typical limit for reaching a golden level for packaging.




    What to look in when purchasing a high-end In-Ear Monitor

    https://www.audiophile-heaven.com/p/what-to-lookl.html




    Build Quality/Aesthetics/Fit/Comfort

    Starting with the build quality, UFO EAR 112 is a plastic IEM, with a plastic shell, hiding two Balanced Armatures and one Dynamic Driver beneath. The cable is a Silver Plated Copper cable. The IEMs themselves are very round, very ergonomic, basically being two little spherical surfaces with nothing else but the bore and their connection to the ear, and on the other hand, the connection to the cable.

    They have two sonic tubes inside the bore.

    [​IMG]

    The very ergonomic overall design brings a smile to my face, because I could wear them for long periods of time without fatigue, they simply sit well in my ears. The large selection of tips also helps with this.


    One thing I do not fully understand though, is why they'd 3D print them, when it would probably be less expensive to acquire them mass produced, but either way, the plastic on the outside feels nice, feels pretty high-quality.

    UFO 112 isolates fairly well from the outside noise, but they don't have any driver flex, indicating a good amount of venting. I like this, and feel happy that a new company managed to get no driver flex on a newly released IEM. There is some hiss with hissy sources, and since they have BA drivers and an extremely low impedance, of just 14 OHMs, there will be some changes in sound with high output impedance sources.

    [​IMG]

    The comfort in practice is very good, they are a good walking and even running IEM, the cable has springy rubbery parts that go around the ear. The fact that those aren't hard wired means that they will adapt to your ear's shape without worries, and that they won't get uncomfortable.

    The aesthetic that reminds of a spaceship stays true to the original design of 112, and I feel like on an overall level, they are a pretty cool-looking, comfortable, well built IEMs that do reach the golden levels of comfort and build quality.



    Sound Quality

    The sound of UFO 112 is one of a kind, almost like it didn't come from this planet at all. They are an extremely bright, slightly sibilant IEM, with a high affinity for detail and clarity, and with a really awoken presentation of micro details and textures. UFO 112 was tuned for an Asian public, and more especially for Anime-related music, Gaming, Soundtracks, and as such, it should present music pretty wide, with a good amount of brightness, a sweet voicing, and with a more neutral bass.

    [​IMG]

    The bass is pretty neutral, and while it can be felt where it should be felt, it tends to favor Metal music over electronic or rap music, especially when you consider that a bass guitar should sound like this, while electronic music bass, or that found in EDM is more favored by higher quantity. The bass texture is clean, and although it isn't quite the most textured bass to ever exist, the detail is good for the price range of 350 USD, being about as detailed as its competitors.

    The midrange is slightly pushed back compared to the bass, and very recessed when compared to the treble. The midrange is very clear, has a great amount of detail to it, and is very well separated, with the soundstage width being really really huge, and with the instrument separation being quite excellent. There isn't a lot of depth, but the wide and well separated sound comes through as very holographic, and very pleasing for progressive rock, rock in general, metal, and symphonic metal. Orchestral music as well as lively classical is also presented wide, and although it doesn't have a lot of warmth or body, given the more neutral bass, it has a nice separation, detail and refinement, thanks to the pretty excellent soundstage and detail.

    I keep talking about the detail and the micro detail, but basically, there is a nice bump in the upper midrange, and another one in the 7-9kHz in the treble, which gives extra air and detail to the music, pushes forward female vocals to be sweet, but also very emotional and dramatic, everything having a good amount of emotion and impact.


    Now, the treble is the best part, UFO 112 is very well extended in the upper treble, they have a very airy and clean sound, and you can feel the textures of stringed instruments through and through. There are traces of sibilance, and especially music that was recorded with a touch of sibilance or which was recorded very bright, will be sibilant, so I could say that they reveal sibilance quite well. Due to their revealing nature, they pair poorly with older and poorly mastered recordings, but do favor to music that is mastered really well.

    [​IMG]

    Paired with the right music, and maybe with a warmer and smoother source, like Shanling M0, they shine like a true diamond, especially with their really cool aesthetic and actually interesting package.

    Overall, UFO 112 is one of the bright, happy, open-sounding IEMs that you should totally check out if you're into this type of signature, and if you're not afraid of them revealing the mistakes in the songs you like, like sibilance.




    Portable Usage

    Portably speaking, UFO 112 is quite excellent. They are a comfortable pair of IEMs that will sit in your ears, even if you're running. UFO Ears also claim that they're protected from water and sweat, so you don't have to sweat it if you're sweating a bit.

    [​IMG]

    Furthermore, they have a very low impedance, but a very high sensitivity, so they are quite easy to drive from a smartphone, sounding quite good actually, from my rather poor xiaomi mi max 3.

    Other things to keep in mind, are that they isolate very well, so you may want to not wear them if you'll be away in a rather dangerous environment, I always advice people to not wear fully closed back or very isolating IEMs if they're walking on the street and are a bit careless of their surroundings.

    In all honesty, with the rounded and fully metallic carrying case, good comfort, and easy to drive nature, UFO 112 is a very portable IEM.




    Comparisons

    UFO 112 is priced around 350 USD at the moment of writing this review. This means that the direct competitors are FLC 8N, Periodic Audio Be and Final E5000.

    [​IMG]

    UFO 112 vs Final Audio E5000 - Now, here's an interesting one, because E5000 is pretty much at the direct opposite end of the spectrum, with a really thick, really lush and really laid back sound, that rolls off the treble quite early, and instead of brightness can be characterized by fullness, although they are fairly crisp, and E5000 is a really really really thick-sounding IEM. Both IEMs come with good cables, good ergonomics, and good carrying cases, although the case of 112 is made of metal, while the case of E5000 is made of rubber. The build quality is excellent on both, both are vented and both are very comfortable, although they are worn differently, e5000 straight down, while 112 is over-the-ear, and E5000 requires to be listened very loud to truly shine, and leaks a lot, while 112 sounds best and low and moderate volumes, and doesn't leak one bit, but also isolates quite well, although E5000 also isolates fairly well. Overall, if you're looking for a thick, lush, full and deep IEM, E5000 is the clear choice here, while if you prefer a more bright, analytical, clear, clean, and revealing sound, UFO 112 is the one for you.

    UFO 112 vs FLC 8N - FLC8N is also a IEM that can seem gimmicky before you spent a while with it, since a single IEM with over 36 signatures surely sounds pretty amazing, but a bit iffy at the same time. All in all, both are comfortable IEMs, with FLC8N being quite a bit more generic sounding, and UFO 112 having a better fit overall, with better comfort, but one thing to notice is that FLC 8N does actually have a large number of tunings, but none isn't quite as bright and as revealing as UFO 112, although FLC8N sounds extremely wide and clear as well. Overall, UFO 112 brings a bit more detail forward, but is more prone to sibilance, is more comfortable, and is easier to use, while 8N is more complicated to use, but still an amazing IEM easy to recommend if you're not one to like a very bright sound.

    UFO 112 vs Periodic Audio BE - This one is interesting, because the two are actually quite different in both tuning and principle, being a IEM that is supposed to look as minimalistic as possible, without a detachable cable, and with a very simple aesthetic. This being said, the metallic carrying case of Be is very flashy. On the other hand, both are really comfortable IEMs, but 112 is more comfortable, and is built to last more, with its detachable cables. The sound is very different, with 112 being much brighter, with much more focus on the treble, a less warm bass, a more wide soundstage and with more emphasis on detail and its revealing ability, than Periodic Audio Be, which is focused on romance, musicality, euphonics, and a more mellow, more gentle, more acoustic and more warm sound, making older music much easier to listen to than UFO 112, which reveals maybe a touch too much detail for older music, or for poorly mastered music.




    Recommended Pairings

    UFO 112 is easy to pair with many portables, but it loves a better Player or DAC/AMP, and will sound better with a better source. This being said, their really easy to drive nature means that they are really easy to pair with ultraportables, and given that UFO EARs were planning on including a bluetooth cable at some point, it is quite clear that this is part of the reason they have such low impedance and high efficiency.

    [​IMG]

    UFO 112 + Shanling M0 - Shanling M0 is actually a really good pair for 112 because it mellows them out, calms down the treble and thickens the bass a bit, making them more versatile and more universal. If there's any really small ultraportable that I could easily recommend with 112, M0 would be it. Count in the excellent Hiby software magic and support and you're in for a lot of fun with M0.

    UFO 112 + FiiO M3K - M3K is a colder, more neutral, brighter device compared to M0 and most devices, making it one of the best reference ultraportables. This means that you'll hear the 112's signature untainted by any colored source, basically their huge might of treble brightness, linear bass, and their entire huge soundstage, M3K being larger sounding compared to typical warmer ultraportables.

    UFO 112 + iBasso DX120 - DX120 is like a dream companion with 112, and I've been using this pairing quite a bit, due to DX120's excellent sonic characteristics, two microSD slots, and the multiple music modes. You can make DX120 and UFO 112 sound as you like to, DX120 has an excellent EQ implementation as well, and with 1 TB of music at your fingertips, or even more, you're set for fun.




    Value and Conclusion

    UFO 112 has been a true delight to review, and one from another planet at that.

    It is quite clear that if you're looking for a IEM that simply sounds out of this world, you should consider UFO 112, but for its 350 USD price point, it has a lot to answer to, before you can make a decision, but it seems to hold its ground quite well.

    [​IMG]

    Starting with the build quality, it is made quite well, it has ventilation, so it isn't prone to driver flex, and it didn't get a single scratch during my tests and usage, which means that it will last well for most people. The cables are also based on the 2-Pin connector standard, so you can easily exchange them if they'd be to get broken.

    The isolation is very good, and so is the comfort, but you'll have to take care of your surroundings if you'll be walking while wearing them, as otherwise I'd be quite concerned about your well-being, and so should you.

    The sound of UFO 112 is also quite unique, very bright, yet finely detailed, the emphasis in the treble surely makes them sound very wide and well expanded in width, and although they don't have a lot of depth, they surely know how to sound pretty holographic. The dynamics are also pretty nice, and so is the impact, although for such a bright IEM, you should make sure you're looking for this type of sound before getting one, it surely is an acquired taste.

    [​IMG]

    At the end of the day, if you're looking for a fairly comfortable, well made IEM, with an interesting presentation, that comes with a high-quality cable, and with a nice carrying case, and with a bright, energetic, lively, forward, detailed and clean sound, you should totally consider UFO 112, and let them take you to the outer space.



    Full Playlist used for this review

    While we listened to considerably more songs than those named in this playlist, those are excellent for identifying certain aspects of the sound, like PRaT, Texturization, Detail, Resolution, Dynamics, Impact, and overall tonality. We recommend trying most of the songs from this playlist, especially if you're searching for new most, most of them being rather catchy.

    Bats - Gamma Ray Burst: Second Date

    Eskimo Callboy - Frances
    Incubus - Summer Romance
    Electric Six - Dager! High Voltage
    Kishida Cult - High School Of The Dead
    Dimmu Borgir - Dimmu Borgir
    Breaking Benjamin - I Will Not Bow
    Thousand Foot Krutch - The Flame In All Of Us
    Gorillaz - Feel Good Inc.
    Infected Mushroom - Song Pong
    Attack Attack - Kissed A Girl
    Doctor P - Bulletproof
    Maximum The Hormone - Rock n Roll Chainsaw
    Rob Zombie - Werewolf, Baby!
    Escape The Fate - Gorgeous Nightmare
    SOAD - Chop Suey
    Ken Ashcorp - Absolute Territory
    Machinae Supremacy - Need For Steve
    Ozzy Osbourne - I Don't Wanna Stop
    Crow'sclaw - Loudness War
    Eminem - Rap God
    Stromae - Humain À L'eau
    Sonata Arctica - My Selene
    Justin Timberlake - Sexy Back
    Metallica - Fuel
    Veil Of Maya - Unbreakable
    Masa Works - Golden Japang
    REOL - Luvoratorrrrry
    Korn - Word Up!
    Papa Roach - ... To be Loved
    Fever The Ghost - Source
    Fall Out Boy - Immortals
    Green Day - Know The Enemy
    Mindless Self Indulgence - London Bridge
    A static Lullaby - Toxic
    Royal Republic - Addictive
    Astronautalis - The River, The Woods
    We Came As Romans - My Love
    Skillet - What I Believe
    Man With A Mission - Smells Like Teen Spirit
    Yasuda Rei - Mirror
    Mojo Juju - Must Be Desire
    Falling Up - Falling In Love
    Manafest - Retro Love
    Rodrigo Y Grabriela - Paris
    Zomboy - Lights Out
    Muse - Resistance
    T.A.T.U & Rammstein - Mosaku
    Grey Daze - Anything, Anything
    Katy Perry - Who Am I Living For
    Maroon 5 - Lucky Strike
    Machinae Supremacy - Killer Instinct
    Pendulum - Propane Nightmares




    I hope my review is helpful to you!

    ---


    Contact me!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ---
      monsieurfromag3 and Omeigen like this.
  3. Johnny Mac
    UFOEAR UFO-112 Realview.
    Written by Johnny Mac
    Published Jan 20, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Balanced sound, non-fatiguing sound
    Cons - 2-pin connection is too tight
    [​IMG]

    UFOEAR is another new player in the upper tier earphone market from China’s Dongguan City Huaxian Industry Co. Ltd managed by its Dongguan City Broad 3D Technology Co., Ltd branch which specializes in 3D printing. The UFOEAR brand, as the name suggests already, draws inspiration from the astronomical fields and schemes for its overall company direction although naming patterns has already been done before from IEM models such as the Andromeda. This approach makes their entire UFOEAR line showcase what the space exploration silhouettes are capable of.

    UFOEAR currently has 2 debut models, the UFO-111 and the UFO-112 which the latter is said to be limited to a run of 2000 units worldwide. The UFO-111 is marketed to have great synergy with Pop music and little is to be known spec-wise as I wasn’t personally able to find any information yet except that it looks a rather toned-down sibling from the UFO-112 which, according to UFOEAR, is for ACG music and if I got this correctly, stands for Anime-Comic-Games and is widely popular in mainland China. What we have here to realview is UFOEAR’s UFO-112, a triple driver single dynamic and dual BA hybrid IEM which comes in 3 color options (Red, Blue and Black) and is spec’d out with a 14Ohm Impedance, 109db Sensitivity and a Frequency Response of 3 Hz-20 KHz. The UFOEAR UFO-112 price starts at $360 and caps out at $440 depending on customization options. You can check them out on their official site, UFOEAR and cop one off the UFOEAR TaoBao site. They say aiming for the moon makes one to be among the stars, is UFOEAR’s aim a hot or miss? Let’s take an in-depth shoot.

    Packaging and Build Quality

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Concealed in a black box with a silver flying saucer print and the UFOEAR and the Bluetooth HD Ready marketing assurance and on the lower side showcases all the necessary product information which is 90% in Chinese except for notable notes like the color of the IEMs and the unit number since this is on a limited 2000 pieces run. Underneath is a full-pledged cushion setup of foam cut-outs designed to secure the distinctive UFOEAR gray metal flying saucer IEM and ear tips receptacle.

    [​IMG]





    Inside this flying saucer are 2 sets of black foam ear tips, 1 set(S, M, L) of black silicon ear tips and 1 set(S, M, L) of translucent silicon ear tips. The official UFO-112 comes with a BT cable supporting aptX and a charging cable although my review unit didn’t so we won’t be touching that aspect. The round metal IEM receptacle itself is lined with black velvet and utilizes the spin-lock mechanism which is very satisfying to open and close on the go and fits the UFO-112 along with its stock cable perfectly.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The UFO-112 came with a pseudo-round braided SPC stock cable in the standard .78 2-pin configuration and a gold-plated 3.5mm straight plug with metallic silver housing and Y-split and decent strain relief. It does come with a chin slider and an over-ear memory wire guide which helped greatly with keeping the UFO-112 in place. There is almost no microphonic noise on the cable when used on the go. The shell is a bonded 2-piece circular FDA-approved integral molded 3D resin with the flying saucer imprints and the UFOEAR branding on the faceplate along with 2 polar opposite vents for the dynamic driver although upon careful inspection, the internal wirings are slightly getting in the way of the vents and the dynamic driver, the vents are nonetheless nearer the dynamic drivers than the dual BA drivers. The underside of the UFO-112 shows “FOR-ACG” on the right earpiece and “UFO-112” on the left and the usual L-R markings. The build is overall sturdy and clean except for one thing, the 2-pin connection was too damn tight and detaching it was a no-go as you could clearly see through the translucent shell that the 2-pins were bending too much and we won’t be having this realview now don’t we if I decided to get my way.

    Tonality
    [​IMG]
    The UFO-112 out of the box sounded bright with a noticeable emphasis on the upper midrange and the high frequencies. I then and there opted to utilize the stock foam tips that came with the UFO-112 and with it sporting a dynamic driver, the recommended 50 hour burn-in was observed. I used the xDuoo x3ii and the Sony CAS-1 desktop setup off an MSI GF 62 8RE laptop via Foobar2000 v1.4 for the whole duration of the realview.

    Lows

    For an IEM inspired by mankind’s desire for flight, the UFO-112 takes that into account with how it delivers its low-end performance. I pulled out Spandau Ballet’s “Foundation” in 16/44 FLAC and the sub bass is barely deep and gives modest impact and body. It doesn’t pan out too long providing a fast bass decay. The bass is overall clean with great control yet lacking in power.

    Midrange

    As they say, the higher we fly, the hard we fall. The UFO-112’s midrange gives it a leeway to work towards building its highs. Susan Wong’s “Killing Me Softly” in 16/44 FLAC gave out a clear and detailed lower midrange, free from lower frequency bleeds. The midrange sounded natural and timbre was on point. It is borderline lush, almost inviting and engaging.

    Highs

    The UFO-112 flies high and does it well, harsh and sharp treble peaks are not to be heard. Soundgarden’s “Black Hole Sun” in 16/44 FLAC is rendered delicate and has a snap to them. There is no sibilance to be observed as well. The sparkle and clinical treble bite most treble heads would be needing is there.

    Soundstage and Imaging

    Wide and distinct, in the IEM world that is. The UFO-112 excels in emanating a spacious hall when tracks such as Maria and The Captain’s “Something Good” in 16/44 FLAC are to be listened to. There is a great sense of space with intelligibility of voices and instruments being definite. The vents on the faceplate after all, works.

    Select Comparison

    UFOEAR UFO-112 and Periodic Audio Beryllium:

    With the UFO-112 being a hybrid of BA and dynamic drivers and the Periodic Audio Beryllium purely driven by a dynamic driver presents questions to be asked yet we are here for the sound as discerned by yours truly. You should know by now that I prefer a bright sounding signature done cleanly and non-fatiguing as possible. The BE does that excellently and while the UFO-112 sounds less bright sounding than the BE, it presents a more balanced sound. The lows, midrange and the highs are more coherent on the UFO-112 while the BE is just damn delicate and has great control with its highs.

    Conclusion
    [​IMG]
    Being unique and setting yourself apart from the competition is always a welcome and excellent start when on debut especially on the audiophile scene, yet one thing should always be standard, great quality sound. The UFOEAR UFO-112 sounds balanced with a tinge of emphasis on the upper frequencies coupled with an almost complete accessory set one needs nowadays, from going full audiophile mode via its stock cable and the wireless cable it supposedly comes with (would have loved to have tried it). The UFO-112 plays the niche game with its approach and the silhouette it comes with may please some and turn off some. One thing is for sure though which is apart from the very tight 2-pin connection, the UFO-112 presents a tight competition for its peers around its price point.
      Omeigen and Dobrescu George like this.
    1. rantng
      Perhaps post more pictures of this unique looking IEM.
      rantng, Jan 25, 2019
    2. Johnny Mac
      Yup, will surely do on my page.
      Johnny Mac, Jan 27, 2019