1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

OSTRY KC06A Hi-Fi In-Ear High Performance Earphones Headphones

Rating:
3.4/5,
  1. HiFiChris
    good value and detailed sound for the price
    Written by HiFiChris
    Published Oct 30, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - build quality, design, resolution, sharp instrument separation, value
    Cons - bass a bit on the softer side, bit congested with fast music, only one size of solid-core tips
    Preamble:

    First off, let me start by saying thanks to Vicky from Ostry for arranging a sample unit of the KC06A for my honest evaluation for just the cost of the shipping.

    The KC06A’s predecessor, the KC06, caused quite a serious hype on Head-Fi and the new model did as well. Besides a slightly different design, the new one is said to have a bassier and warmer sound signature, but should share the core values of the good sound.
    In my review, I’ll also add comparisons to the Brainwavz M3 and Havi B3 Pro I, two IEMs that also offer good value for their money, when I describe the KC06A’s sound quality.


    Technical Specifications:

    Transducer: 10 mm CCAW double-cavities driver
    Sensitivity: ≥ 102 dB @ 1 kHz
    Impedance: 16 Ohms (+/- 15%)
    Frequency Response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
    Distortion: < 1% @ 102 dB
    Channel Imbalance: < 1.5 dB @ 1 kHz
    Rated Power: 10 mW
    Cable: 1.35 m environment-friendly antibacterial TPU cable


    Delivery Content:

    On the top of the package, where “Ostry” and “KC06A” are printed in a glossy red, there is a window on the centre that allows you a sneak peek on the IEMs and the straight 3,5 mm connector.
    On the sides, there is the model name as well as Ostry’s slogan “O’s life always try”.

    The actual delivery content contains of the in-ear monitors, a grey carrying pouch with the Ostry logo on it, the warranty card, a shirt clip, black silicone ear-hooks, dark grey silicone tips (for “bass”; S/M/L), light grey silicone tips (for “treble”; S/M/L) and black silicone tips with firm red stem and a metal mesh sound filter (one size; M).

    The selection of eartips that have got an effect on sound is quite good, though I’d have liked to see three sets of the metal mesh tips in different sizes as well as a zippered case instead of the pouch.
     

    IMG_20151020_174939.jpg   IMG_20151020_175008.jpg
    IMG_20151020_175030.jpg   IMG_20151020_175330.jpg
    IMG_20151020_175336.jpg   IMG_20151020_175459.jpg

     

    Aesthetics, Build Quality:

    The IEMs are made of dark, shiny metal, but aren’t heavy at all and have got the Ostry lettering in dark grey colour on them.
    The “faceplate” is designed with red and white tribal pattern that kind of forms an “O” and continues on the body.
    Build quality is sublime and there is nothing that I could criticise.

    The cable has got a dark grey, semi-transparent coat, which lets you see the silver and red wires. Joyfully, the cable is very soft and flexible. A bit sad is that there is almost no strain relief, but I don’t really miss it due to the flexibility.
    Designing the y-split, Ostry took it literally and made it in the shape of a small “Y”-letter which is manufactured of metal and shows the model name. Unfortunately, a chin-slider is lacking.
    The straight 3.5 mm metal plug with the Ostry logo has got two grooves which make it grippier.
     

    IMG_20151020_175427.jpg   IMG_20151020_175519.jpg
    IMG_20151020_175714.jpg   IMG_20151020_175755.jpg



    Comfort, Isolation:

    With the KC06A, it is possible to wear it with the cables straight down as well as guiding them over the ears. Just as with all of my IEMs, I prefer the latter more professional style, as it improves fit as well as seat and reduces microphonics (cable noise). With the Ostry, I don’t need the silicone ear-hooks, as the cable goes around the ears smoothly.
    Sit, fit and comfort are pretty good and to my surprise, I don’t miss the chin-slider too much on this particular IEM.

    Microphonics are close to zero with the KC06A when I’m wearing it with the cables around the ears.

    The in-ears have got two holes in each of the bodies, but isolation is not too little and still mediocre for vented IEMs and for example stronger than with the SoundMagic E10 and Brainwavz M3, but less than with the Havi B3 Pro I.


    Sound:

    Before listening more critically, the IEMs were burnt in for at least 100 hours (just in case).
    The KC06A was mainly used with my iBasso DX90, playing WAV, Hi-Res, FLAC and some 320 kBps MP3-files.

    Tonality:

    With these easy to drive IEMs, Ostry includes three different styles of eartips for shaping sound. With the dark grey and light grey tips, I used the large ones. However, as Ostry only includes one pair of medium-sized metal mesh filter tips, fit wasn’t the best and I could only achieve a seal when inserting the IEMs very deeply, wherefore my third description of the metal mesh tips may not be that representative.
    Incidentally speaking, the tips mainly have got an effect on treble (as my measurements with my Vibro Labs Veritas setup also prove, but I haven’t included them because my microphone isn’t completely calibrated yet).

    Bass tips:

    Sound signature is warm and with a focus on the lows, with a quite broad-banded bass emphasis of circa 6 dB. Level doesn’t drop much in the sub-bass range and goes up into the middle upper fundamental tone, with only very minimal effect on the lower mids, although very deep voices sound more full-bodied.
    Mids are present and a bit on the darker side, but not too much.
    Highs are more in the background and overall quite consistent, although a bit relaxed in the middle highs. I can hear two peaks at 6 and 8 kHz, but they are still below the ground-line. Super treble is in the background, but reaches clearly above 14 kHz with good subtle sparkle. Overall, sound is homogeneous, but bright instruments like hi-hats have got a too dark impact and character.

    Treble tips:

    The treble tips alter the middle and upper highs, which are a bit emphasised and brighter than before, but not much, and only form a mild v-shape that is comparable with the Fidue A73’s signature.
    Using a sine generator, I can hear a resonance at 6.2 kHz and a peak at 8 and 12 kHz. Besides that, level in the super highs is identical to the bass tips.
    Subjectively, I perceive the sound with the treble tips as the most natural out of the three, as cymbals have got a more natural character and the mildly bright upper treble compensates for the emphasised lows.

    Mesh filter tips:

    As only one size was included that didn’t provide an excellent sit (although it wasn’t that bad either), I’ll keep it short: audibly, sound is dark, mid-centric and with recessed treble and slightly reduced bass. My measurements could then also prove the more prominent mids and less present treble.

    Resolution:

    KC06A’s resolution is on a high level for the price and surpasses the Brainwavz M3 in the lows and treble, but the Brainwavz has got the higher resolving mids.
    The Havi gets also very slightly beat in terms of mids and treble resolution/refinement, but the B3 Pro I reveals more details in the bass and fundamental tone, with the quicker and more arid impact.
    Out of the three, the Ostry has got the most natural treble from what I perceive.

    The low-range on the Ostry is a bit soft and I also kind of dislike that it doesn’t have a consistent aridness, as mid-bass and sub-bass are audibly softer than upper bass. It isn’t really slow, but belongs to the rather voluminous sort.
    The Havi has got the faster bass response and the Brainwavz seems more controlled as well.

    With faster music, the Ostry sounds a bit more congested than the other two IEMs, which is due to the slower decay in the mid-bass.

    By the way, the bass tips offer the quickest bass response out of the three included tips, but also sound a bit blunt.

    Soundstage:

    Spatial presentation is actually pretty good, with a stage that has got a decent width which is definitely wider than average, along with a good depth as well.
    Instrument separation is quite sharp and precise and exceeds the M3’s and B3 Pro I’s, although the Havi has got the airier stage and better instrument placement, but doesn’t separate them as sharply from each other as the Ostry does.
    The Brainwavz M3 has got more spatial depth wherefore it has got the better scaling, but the Ostry comes very close.


    Conclusion:

    The Ostry KC06A is a technically excellent in-ear on a high level with a more consumer-oriented signature which is luckily not exaggerated for a reasonable price. Its resolution is very good in its class and I go that far to say that it can, regarding precision and resolution, compete with the Sennheiser IE 80 quite well (which on the other hand has got a different sounding).
    Just like the Brainwavz M3 and Havi B3, there are also some weaknesses next to the strengths, and so the Ostry sounds a bit congested with fast music, compared to the other two IEMs I used for testing, which is mainly due to the bit slow decay in the mid-bass.
    In other categories like resolution in bass and treble as well as instrument separation, I see the KC06A as the (slight) winner though.
    In the end, it is all to one’s personal preference which IEM is the better suiting one – that said, the Brainwavz has got the best speech intelligibility and spatial depth, whereas the Havi has got the quickest and driest bass response and the airiest soundstage, and finally the Ostry offers, in my ears, the overall best resolution and most natural treble along with the sharpest instrument separation.
      Andrzej Cichy likes this.
  2. lsamod
    Excellent Sound with a neutral-warm signature
    Written by lsamod
    Published Sep 12, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Sound quality
    Cons - Strain relief, no hard carry case
    Review: Ostry KC06A
     
    Updated 04/07/2016
     
    DSC_1129.jpg
     
     
    Expected Sound signature
     
    Neutral sound with a slightly emphasised lower bass. (I don’t listen to any electronic genres)
     
    About this review
     
    It's not a highly detailed long review. I will try to state all the important facts without any coloration. 
     
    Introduction
     
    I was away from my country for 7 weeks, and I had no headphone with me. I just had my Fiio X3 and Sony earbuds which came with my smartphone, and that was the time for me to get my first IEM. So I went to a headphone store and demoed,
     
    Ostry KC06A
    Shure SE215
    Soundmagic iems including E10(I don’t know the others)
     
    and I bought Ostry KC06A.
     
    Packaging and Accessories 
     
    DSC_1132.jpg
     
     
    It comes with 7 pairs of ear tips (3 pairs- broad opening tips, 3 pairs- narrow opening tips, 1 small pair with a filter ), Ear guides, Cloth bag, shirt clip and some paperwork. Ear tips with filters are too small for me. So it's useless to me. They should include 3 pairs. I would love to have a hard carry case for this, because cloth bag doesn’t provide any impact protection. But it protects iem from dust and scratching.
     
    Fit and Isolation
     
    DSC_1136.jpg
     
     
     I really like the ear guides, they fit on my ears comfortably. I use largest eartips with broard opening (I always use the largest tip to get highest possible isolation). The tips are made of soft rubber (the tips in my sony’s are harder). Therefore KC06A provides less isolation than my sony’s. Since I don’t have much experience with iems, I can’t comment on the general isolation compared to average iems. 
     
    Demo
     
    Soundmagic : Ostry’s clarity is noticeably better than soundmagics. And soundmagic’s bass is a bit boomy for my taste.
     
    I demoed Vsonic VSD3/S, but I didn’t pay much interest on those because of the negative reviews it had on it’s built quality (cable). 
     
    Shure SE215 : Ostry and Shure were my final choices. I compared them carefully. First thing I didn’t like about SE215 is it’s ear guide. I have small ears, so I couldn’t get a proper fit. But I really like the built quality of SE215. It is built very well. Ostry’s built quality is poor compared to SE215. Now the sound>> se215 has a slightly darker sound overall, and that’s because of it’s treble. Treble is slightly reduced in se215. Ostry has more treble; a bit more. Ostry has a solid detailed bass while se215 has a thick bass. As a result Ostry gives more weight to the music while keeping it more balanced. SE215 sounds muddy in comparison. Ostry is clearly better than se215 in resolution, and it has much more detail in upper range compared to se215. Therefore Ostry sounds more balanced and detailed compared to se215.
     
    Sound Quality and Comparisons
     
    Now I’m home. So I can compare Ostry KC06A to my full size headphones (because I don’t have any IEMs ) such as AKG Q701 and Sennheiser HD600 ( +Schiit Vali/Modi).
     
    AKG Q701
     
    Here I’m comparing only the sound signature. 
     
    Q701 is definitely brighter sounding compared to KC06A. Due to lower treble emphasis on Q701, it sounds splashy compared to KC06A. On the other hand Ostry’s treble is very smooth and slightly reduced. The treble detail is bit low and I'm missing the hi-hats.  Compared to the bass quality, treble is less focused here. I feel like it could be more refined as bass. Q701 has more treble detail which I enjoy a lot. Bass is defined superbly in Ostry, but not overly emphasised or boomy. But still if you are looking for a neutral sound, this may not be it.  KC06A has noticeably more lower bass compared to Q701, only a bit more. It gives more weight to the music. Q701’s mid bass is slightly elevated and then rolling-off towards lower bass. As a result Q701’s bass sounds dry. But not in KC06A. The lower bass is slightly emphasised in Ostry, giving it a more smooth-warm sound. Overall, Q701 has better. But KC06A has a smooth sound with a solid bass compared to Q701. 
    Mids are reduced compared to Q701. 
    Note: Keep in mind that the Q701 is clearly superior when we consider the sound stage and instrument separation.
     
    Sennheiser HD600
     
    Ostry sound is noticeably darker here. HD600 has more mid-bass than Ostry, although Ostry has more lower bass in comparison. Therefore HD600 is more enjoyable with a bit of bass-kick. HD600 has more balanced sound, while Ostry sounds darker(it’s noticeable, but I get use to it after a minute of listening). KC06A's sound leans towards HD600 more than Q701.(It’s really hard to compare this with HD600, since I can’t get HD600 off my head when I put it on to compare lol.. [​IMG])
     
    Soundstage 
     
    I was surprised by the soundstage of this IEM (It's my first IEM). Having used to Q701 and HD600 this is still enjoyable without a doubt. But I'm unable to comment regarding average IEMs in comparison.
     
    Sensitivity 
     
    Ostry KC06A is a very sensitive/efficient IEM. I compared the volume levels using Fiio X3 ( Gain setting->Hi ), with each Headphone as follows. 
    Note: This would not be highly accurate,  because it is really hard to match volume levels on IEM vs Open-back HP.
     
    KC06A       -14
    HD600       -47
    Q701         -40
     
    Things I don’t like about Ostry KC06A
     
    DSC_1133.jpg
     
     
    This is mainly about the built quality. I don’t really expect it up to the level of SE215. KC06A comes with a straight plug (which I don’t like), and the strain relief is really weak. I’m not asking for a military grade construction like in SE215, but Ostry please use a better strain relief in your next model and include a hard carry case ( like Havi ). Y splitter seems to be okay for the moment. I am really concerned about the strain relief on the straight plug. I always pay attention to that when handling.
    DSC_1138.jpg
     
     
     
    Verdict
     
    Ostry KC06A  has a fairly neutral (warm-neutral) sound with a clean, solid bass. It’s not for bassheads by any means. Treble is smooth(slightly reduced) with good amount of detail. Mid-range sounds natural with a hint of warmth.
     
    Is it the best IEM to buy under $60 ? I really don’t know. But it’s one of the best indeed. Because, it can easily out perform (in SQ) some higher priced IEMs like SE215. I am more than happy with my purchase.
                        Happy listening! [​IMG]
     
     
     
     
     
      Andrzej Cichy likes this.
  3. jeffmd
    Great sound quality for a great price! Looks good doing it too.
    Written by jeffmd
    Published Jun 5, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Good looks, unique cable design, Great sounds, Greater bass response, Tons of ear fittings
    Cons - I wish the jack was L shaped but it IS metal so it is hard to damage.
    I bought these 9 months ago and they are still going strong. I bring them to work with me every day, storing them in a GPS pouch I picked up in a store. I was replacing a pair of klipsch S4's that had succumbed to driver flex. I read a number of good reviews on these and the price was just right so I put my money on these. In the past I have had headphones like the Grado s60 (Love it, only reason I don't have it today is the cord kept breaking all over the place) and sennheisers 280pro (Not enough bass for me so I ended up giving them away). I continued going with earbuds because I needed maximum portability and after the S4 I was convinced earbuds can be just as good as cans. 
     
    So after spending way to much time testing the ear inserts to find which one I was most comfortable with (I was impressed to see the nozzles have grills to keep dirt out and yet not effect sound quality negatively) I put them through their paces. I did not need any break in time to get a satisfactory sound with these either. I went through my favorite songs and was happy with all of them. I find that these do bass even better then my s4's and I really do not need to touch my EQlizer. In fact currently I only have poweramps Tone button active which increases treble and bass slightly. The style of music I listen to is fairly unique, I guess if you want you could call it instrumental fusion. My Fav artist are sound composer and producers Kajiura Yuki and Sawano Hiroyuki, and their music features a heavy amount of orchestra work mixed with modern band instruments. Kajiura also features heavy chorus vocal work. These styles stress Lows, mids, and highs and I have been very happy with these headphones in all these areas, especially the bass. As a side note, all of my favorite albums are lossless, I try and avoid keeping MP3 around if I can avoid it. No amount of bitrate can keep MP3 from murdering highs. I do listen to popular music as well, I tell anyone who ask what types I listen to "I will listen to everything that isn't gangsta rap and country". I do have a soft spot for classic rock and 80's music too, but I don't have any in my collection. 
     
    As for its comfort and fit, I find them fine and more comfortable than my S4's. The reason behind this however is because my S4's I really had to plug them in my ear to reduce sibilance and max out the bass response, this also improved its sound isolation. I do not need to put the Ostry buds that far into my ear to hit its sweet spot and that means better comfort, but it also means more sound leaks past them. I still can't hear anyone talking when the music is going though.  
     
    Many people have complained about it's construction, they must be just throwing their headphones in their pocket with their phone and keys cause mine are still in perfect condition (So are my S4's which I carried in the same pouch). So if you actually take care of your headphones and don't abuse them, these will last just fine. 
  4. xsuper
    BUYER BEWARE
    Written by xsuper
    Published Mar 5, 2015
    0.5/5,
    Pros - Sounds amazing when it works
    Cons - Good luck getting warranty
    I bought this in october. I agree with other reviewers, the sound is definitely value for money you can read other reviews for that.
     
    However, the build quality is terrible. 
     
    I took good care of it, only used it in the office. However, after 1 month, the Y splitter got loose and you can see the wires underneath. Also the connector between the wire and each headphone ear buds also got loose.
     
    After just 3 months, the right earphone no longer works.
    Fine, I still like this headphone. maybe I got a bad batch, lets email Ostry.
    No response. Tried a few email addresses on the website. Nothing. 90$ down the drain. 
     
    Something to consider before buying this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. xsuper
      ya still no response from the company. looks like the warranty is non existent
      xsuper, Mar 21, 2015
    3. xsuper
      just want to give a shout out to MP4Nation who replaced the headphones for me even though they were out of the return period!
      xsuper, Apr 26, 2015
    4. Silverstonee
      I had the same problem! Just happened about 8 months after purchasing. Bought them through Massdrop but I have no clue what their warranty system is like so I just bought a pair of NE800Ms
      Silverstonee, Jan 15, 2017
  5. vaziyetu
    Unnecessary Evil
    Written by vaziyetu
    Published Dec 3, 2014
    2.0/5,
    Pros - Treble performance is on a high level. Big vocals there is and size of sounds also one of the biggests.
    Cons - Deep Bass Not Enough ™ and despite having a big soundfield, it's acoustic is limited so instrument reproduction isn't realistic.
    bass is clearly behind a lot of models which costs times less. not a near-death experience like in the Brainwavz R3 or Havi B3 Pro I etc. but it's still too weak to be enjoyed. the bass just does not extends enough horizontally, possibly due to the vertically big acoustic it incorporates. but the real problem lying under the mids. while ostry incorporates really cool vocals, it lacks in the instrument separation side.
     
    on the other side, yes it has incredible highs. treble attack duration is longer than anything i've tried in this price range. reminded me the stock earphones comes with samsung s3-s4 etc. treble separation is so good that you can clearly hear treble attacks even on the parts where vocals, bass & mids dominates the song. only brainwavz r3 is able to beat it in terms of treble lifelikeness but even r3 is not detailed as ostry. r3 also cannot match ostry's separation level.
     
    returning to the bass, ostry's bass is pretty much 60-500hz oriented (mostly 250-500hz) and it's tuning is good, i have to admit. it sounds better than other earphones which also comes with these frequencies amplified, no one can argue about it's quality level. but this tuning brings some death to the 30-60hz deep bass which is a must in an earphone with bass. so this is very sad. that hard bass in ostry lacks deeper, softer feeling.
     
    it seems they did a lot of work on the treble department for shure. that's unquestionable but the bass and acoustic of instruments are just weak. here's the conclusion: for me, good highs with weaky bass in the uncomplete acoustic didn't worked out. especially with that price. no reason to go with this while there is already some models which are able to deliver complete bass & acoustics with average highs (and for half of the price!).
     
    so, please come to me again when you really accomplished a complete product (talking to ostry).
     
    visit my table for further comparisons and informations
    1. View previous replies...
    2. vaziyetu
      a word for you too raybone0566, i give up with you too... okay, all right ? ostry kc06a has the bass of koss plug & ruk30, it's bass is comparable to brainwavz m5, s1 & r1 too. i give up, you win, all right ? i already declared that i gave up about the mids part. my only concern is the bass of ostry from now on. and i'm now declaring that i'm wrong about it too. ostry kc06a is the bass monster of all times. it's the basszilla. ostry is the king of the highs & bass & mids & vocals & seperations & soundstage & tip rolling & cayin c5 & mayin c6 & red alert c4 & domination domdom666. it's the secret weapon of the skies...
       
      oh my god... it satisfied them. case closed. everybody go home... omg i just rock n rolled the tips of ostry kc06a it became to a basstry kc09z. i can't believe my ears. and even more, i plugged it to my fayin c7 it became to a kc10z10a09b04kckc. the only problem with it, i can't hear it anymore because it has too much bass now. sorry for my crappy review, just forget about it. only rival of ostry's bass is brainwavz m2's bass i think. man this two are really the bass heavy earphones of all times.
      vaziyetu, Jan 21, 2015
    3. Judge Buff
      My KCo6As are bright and airy, but they have a solid bass as well.They remind me of semi-open, full-size cans and they pair very well with my FiiO X1 DAP. Don't let all the negativity steer you away from these very good IEMs. JVC spiral dot tips have made these my everyday earphones... even though I also have VSD3S with the upgraded cable. The only negative I have about these is the cheesy graphic/logo on them. They easily sound better than their price tag would indicate!
      Judge Buff, Feb 22, 2015
    4. vaziyetu
      it does not have enough instrument seperation, it loses acoustic details of instruments. it's not a complete device, it provides at least 30-40% less bass than $20 koss ruk30 and a lot of other devices. it's just a treble & vocal machine that's all (as advertised by ostry itself, armature like design, vocals, go visit their site).
       
      if you're sure that you want to experience this unrealistic, uncomplete structure for $70-80, go ahead... use Judge Buff's DAP, use his tips, be semi-open and upgrade your cable, then write me a letter. goodbyeeeee...
      vaziyetu, Feb 23, 2015