1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

KZ AS06 in-ear monitor

Rating:
3.66667/5,
  1. B9Scrambler
    KZ AS06: 3rd Time's A Charm
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Feb 21, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Nice detail and clarity - Comfortable, attractive ear pieces - KZ's low range armature
    Cons - Y-split too low = tangly cable - V-shaped signature brings nothing particularly new to KZ's lineup
    Greetings,

    Today we're checking out the AS06 from Knowledge Zenith (KZ), a new triple balanced armature (BA) offering from the budget friendly brand.

    KZ has done an amazing job of winning people over through the years by offering inexpensive earphones that, more often than not, provide a level of sound quality simply unthought of within the price range. A few short years ago they started making some of the most inexpensive hybrid earphones on the market, and now they're doing the same for armature-only earphones. The AS06 is their newest take on this style of product, bringing with it three armature drivers; one for the highs, one for the mids, and another for the low end.

    I quite enjoyed their prior armature only models, AS10 and BA10, both of which feature five BAs per side, and was excited to listen to a simpler, more budget friendly take on the concept. How does the AS06 fare? Let's take a look.

    Disclaimer:

    A thank you to Lillian with Linsoul/DD Audio for arranging a complimentary sample of the AS06 for the purposes of this review. The thoughts within this review are my own subjective opinions and do not represent KZ, Linsoul, DD Audio, or any other entity. At the time of writing you could pick up the AS06 for 42.00 USD. You can check it out through these affiliate-free links:


    Source:

    For at home use the AS06 was powered by a TEAC HA-501 desktop amp with my Asus FX53V laptop sourcing music. For portable use it was paired with an LG G6, Shanling M1, HiFiMan MegaMini, or HiFi E.T. MA8, with an iFi iEMatch tossed into the mix. The AS06 is very easy to drive so an amp isn't needed. A clean source is though, as it is very revealing. For example, it highlights all the electronic interference my G5 displays when interacting with the device. My TEAC also needs to be set to the lowest damping setting else you hear a fair bit of background noise.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. My preferences for earphone tuning are quite relaxed and as such their is no one signature I look for. The HiFiMAN RE800, Brainwavz B400, and Massdrop x MeeAudio Planamic are examples of earphones with wildly varied signatures that are enjoyable for different reasons. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when perusing my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    Specifications:
    • Driver: 3 balanced armatures per side
    • Frequency Response: 20-40,000Hz
    • Impedance: 15ohms
    • Sensitivity: 105dB
    • Cable 0.75mm 2-pin braided copper
    IMG_5955.JPG IMG_5960.JPG IMG_5971.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:

    When KZ released the AS10, they introduced a more premium style of packaging. In that review I said,

    “They could shrink this down to half the size, keep the nice metal plate which is befitting of what is currently KZ’s most costly but still affordable earphone, and the experience would be just as nice but more friendly to the environment.”

    The accessory kit was no different than what was offered with their other earphones and as a result such a large package served no practical purpose. It simply came across as wasteful. Well, I don't know if KZ was listening, but the packaging for the AS06 does exactly what was suggested above. The complete package is virtually identical and retains the more premium feel of the AS10's, but it is now much more compact. The same glossy KZ logo can be found on the lid while the base contains a couple stickers with model info and contact information for KZ. The lid is still weighted with a dense cardboard plate containing the following slogan that I love; “Don't forget. The original intention is to use headphones to enjoy music.” KZ kept the cool metal plaque they included with the AS10 and BA10, though now it is tailored to the AS06. While it doesn't add any real value to the package, it does serve to elevate the armature lineup as the most premium of products in KZ's dense catalog. Lifting out the foam insert the AS06's earpieces are nestled into you find the accessories beneath. In all you get:
    • AS06 earphones
    • 0.75mm 2-pin cable
    • Single flange silicone ear tips (s/m/l)
    • Instruction manual
    • Warranty card
    This is the same accessory kit KZ has been including with their products since they started integrating removable cables into their designs. While I think this is fine, if not only because their 'Starline' tips are some of the best in the business (in my opinion), I get why some are getting tired of a lack of extras, like a simple carrying case. They're not expensive and would add to the already great value. No matter how you look at it, this is a nice unboxing experience with a fairly barren accessory kit that provides only what you need to get going and little else beyond that.

    IMG_5972.JPG IMG_5975.JPG IMG_5977.JPG

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The AS06 features the same shells found on the AS10. The shells are all plastic with a clear face plate. Unlike other recent KZs the AS06 hides the crossover and replaces it with what looks to be a metal plate. On the plate L and R logos are stamped for easy channel differentiation, as well as “6 Balanced Armature” in a clean font. I prefer seeing the crossover since it satisfies the electronics nerd in me, but I can't deny this new look is quite handsome. I suspect it will find a number of fans within the community. The rear half of the shell is black plastic, just as it was on the AS10 with a single pin hole vent to prevent pressure build up. Printed on the rear edge of the each housing you find “AS06-Left/Right, 6 Balanced Armature”, just in case you forget the model and what's inside. Out the top is the 2-pin port, keyed with one rounded edge to ensure users install the cable properly, and slightly recessed to protect the pins from damage due to bending. The nozzles are quite long. Inside is a recessed fibre mesh set over top of the sound tubes to protect the drivers from dirt and debris. A neat note is that the sound tubes are part of a 3D printed insert which holds the drivers. While the AS06 lacks a traditional nozzle lip, there are three triangular fins present to hold tips in place. They don't work quite as well as a regular lip, but they're certainly more effective than nothing.

    The cable is the same copper-braided unit they've been including with a number of their products lately. It's a nice cable that is quite flexible, even in cold weather, and resistant to microphonics. The y-split is still set way too low, however, leading to easy tangling if you store them hastily. KZ is continuing to remove their memory wire, replacing it with the excellent preformed ear guides first seen on the ZSN. The new ear guides are present on the AS06's cable, and they are fantastic. When little fitment issues I had with the AS10 are gone. While KZ does memory wire better than most, with preformed guides as good as these I won't miss it when they phase it out completely. The rest of the hardware is classic KZ with the y-split and 90 degree angled jack featuring the same chunky, VSonic inspired styling we've seen before. Overall I quite like this cable and think it is a price appropriate. If KZ could just raise that y-split and maybe toss in a chin cinch, they would have something great on their hands.

    The AS06's shell is on the larger side, sitting somewhere between the ZS10 and ES4. They're not as deep as either though, enabling a lower profile fit. This is nice for those windy days since the AS06 lets the wind pass by smoothly without creating a ton of noise and interference, something that was a major issue with the Campfire Audio Polaris and exacerbated by the public facing vent. Given the AS06's low profile, light weight, decent ergonomics, and the including of preformed ear guides instead of memory wire, I found it really quite comfortable. Tips more than anything were the cause of any discomfort. The stock Starlines were fine but after messing about I settled on Spintfit CP100s due to their softer silicone and that they do little to alter the stock signature.

    To my surprise, the AS06 seemed to isolate a lot better than what I got out of the AS10, despite using the same shells. Maybe there were some internal changes that improved this, or maybe it was the move from memory wire to a preformed ear guide that improved fit and therefore the seal? Whatever it is, I'm impressed with how well the AS06 silences your environment. Using it in noisy areas doesn't require drastic volume compensation, and tossing on some foam tips just makes it better. These would be a nice choice for transit use.

    Sound:

    Unlike KZ's prior two all-BA offerings which have five BAs per side, the AS06 makes due with “only” three; one for treble, one for the mid-range, and another for bass. If you've heard the AS10 or BA10, you'll feel right at home with the AS06.

    KZ's low range armature is probably my favourite of all like armatures I've heard. It provides physical feedback like no other, including the 22955 Knowles low range armature that has been finding it's way into a ton of earphones as of late, like the Shozy & Neo CP and Tenhz P4 Pro. The depths it can reach shame some dynamic drivers all while providing the speed and texture armatures are known for. In the AS06 quantity is dialed in to be less than the AS10 but more than the BA10, but it's still got quite a robust feel to it. If you are a fan of electronic music as I am, liquid drum and bass in particular, any of KZ's current earphones featuring this driver should satisfy your bass needs without feeling bloated or bloomy. It's simply well-tuned and addictive, unless of course you are looking for a neutral low end.

    The mid-range is slightly recessed but never so much that I had issues comprehending vocalists, including Aesop Rock and his obscenely dense lyrics. Through the AS06 you can enjoy the reality of “Churro” from Malibu Ken, or the heartwarming tale of the family dog saving it's owner's child from drowning in “Ruby '81” from Aesop's seminal offering, Skelethon. Female vocals by Elizabeth Fraser on Massive Attack's “Teardrop” holds up well too with her seductive, gentle voice reproduced wonderfully. In terms of sibilance I didn't find the AS06 particularly susceptible. The majority of consonants sound perfectly fine with only the occasional S coming in hot. Timbre is good too, though a bit darker than is ideal as noticed when comparing to my benchmark, the reliable old JVC HA-FXT90.

    The AS06's treble lacks the raw energy of past KZ products which should come as a relief to many. I suspect some will still find it on the brighter side, especially when compared to something like the warm and mellow CCA C10, but to my ears it is simply tastefully elevated and fair evenly balanced from lower to upper regions. This is noticeable when comparing to the TinHiFi T2 Pro. On Broken Bell's “Mongrel Hearts”, cymbals are much too aggressive and overpowering through the T2 Pro, highlighting it's extreme treble boost, especially in the brilliance regions. Whereas through the AS06 they slot in more naturally with the rest of the mix and it comes across as a more coherent experience. Detail and clarity is good with a solidly weighty note presentation and acceptable air and space between notes. It is well controlled too without coming across loose or splashy. I personally would like just a hint more upper treble to improve shimmer and sheen, but as is the AS06 is plenty enjoyable.

    Sound stage on the AS06 has decent width and depth with a fairly even representation between the two. Imaging I found very accurate with extremely smooth channel to channel transitions. I really enjoyed it with Dirt Rally since it placed you within the car in an appropriate position. Layering and separation are fine too. The AS06 handles the chaotic closing minutes of King Crimson's “Starless and Bible Black” with little to no drama.

    IMG_5965.JPG IMG_5966.JPG IMG_5974.JPG

    Select Comparisons (volume matched using Dayton iMM-6):

    KZ AS10/BA10: Treble on the AS06 is more lively, crisp, and more prominent than on the darker, more mellow sounding AS10, and ever so slightly more prominent than on the BA10. BA10's treble is cleaner and better controlled. The AS10's mid-range is darker and thicker with less clarity, though emphasis is similar to the AS06. The BA10's mid-range is more forward but similarly weighted and more coherent. The AS10 is slightly bassier than the AS06, mainly in the mid-bass, but with similar extension. Bass on the BA10 has a similar presentation to the AS06, but is lesser in quantity and more evenly balanced. Sound stage goes to the AS06 which comes across larger and more spacious. The AS06's imaging quality is on par with the AS10 and BA10, but it falls behind in terms of layering and separation. All three share qualities. AS10 is the dark bassy one, the AS06 somewhat v-shaped with nice clarity, and the BA10 the most technically competent and balanced. If I were to rank them based on my preferences, it would be BA10 first, AS06 second, with the AS10 pulling up the rear.

    TinHiFi T2: Compared to the T2, the AS06 is a fair bit bassier. The AS06's low range armature digs deeper, hits harder, and is slightly more textured than the T2's dynamic. The AS06's mids are darker, denser, less forward, and not quite as clear, but the extra weight gives vocals more impact and presence. The T2 sounds quite lean in comparison. Timbre between the two was closer than expected with the T2 sounding more natural and realistic. Treble emphasis is similar with the T2 being tighter and cleaner with better extension and more air between notes. The T2 can't push sounds as far as the AS06, but its leaner sound and more airy treble lends to the perception of greater space. While I think the T2 is the more technically accomplished product thanks to a more even, neutral leaning signature, I prefer the AS06. The T2's bass roll off limits genre variability and going back and forth between the two, it ends up sounding somewhat blunt and dull.

    Final Thoughts:

    With their new armature lineup, KZ is really hitting their stride. The AS06 doesn't really do anything new, but what it does it does very well. The shells are nicely constructed and comfortable. The packaging is an improvement over the previous iteration used for the AS10 and BA10, though accessories are still scant. Compared to the AS10 and BA10, the sound signature is somewhat v-shaped and more in line with other products in their lineup, though you get the added benefit of armature speed a technical ability to back it up. I don't really have much to complain about with the AS06. It's an inexpensive, reliably entertaining earphone that's nice to wear and cool to look at. For something that costs less than 50 bucks, the AS06 doesn't leave much on the table and is a good value for the performance on tap.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)
    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)
      randomnin and DocHoliday like this.
    1. DocHoliday
      Great feedback on the AS06, B9.
      Glad I own the BA10. The AS06 sounds like it's a good option for those who'd like to experience KZ's 22955 BA without spending BA10 money.
      DocHoliday, Feb 21, 2019
      B9Scrambler likes this.
    2. B9Scrambler
      Thanks Doc. That's a good thing to take from the review.
      B9Scrambler, Feb 21, 2019
      DocHoliday likes this.
  2. audioblog18
    KZ AS06 Review – U shaped champ!
    Written by audioblog18
    Published Feb 9, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Deep and punchy Bass
    Price to performance
    Meaty Tonality
    Controlled Treble
    Aesthetics
    Cons - Veiled and recessed mids
    Cable and ear tips
    Nothing amazing
    Review by Mhark Jhoshua Q. Torres
    Thank you Linsoul Audio for letting us give our honest take towards the KZ AS06. Given that the review unit is from Linsoul audio and is free of charge, it doesn’t affect the honesty and integrity of this review.

    Linsoul Audio Online Stores:
    Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&me=A267P2DT104U3C&page=1
    Direct store: https://www.linsoul.com

    The Company
    [​IMG]

    Knowledge Zenith which is more infamous as “KZ” has been the king of sub 1000 php ($20) IEMs in the Philippines for at least 2 years. It is a china based company that produces Single dynamic drivers IEM up to 5 hybrid drivers (4 BAs +1 DD). They are famous not because of its phenomenal sound quality but for being bang for the buck. As we surf the internet, KZ doesn’t have their own website and rely towards online shops such as aliexpress and gearbest.

    The KZ AS06
    [​IMG]

    The AS06 comes it two color way, transparent black and cyan. The first thing that I noticed is the change of design, as compared to the previous KZs with circuit board design, the styling of AS06 has more edge and is better looking. Cable didn’t adapt the ZSN’s and it is disappointing, the nozzles have 3 grips for the tip not to slip.

    Techincal Specification:

    • Driver unit: 3 balanced armatures
    • Sensitivity: 105 dB
    • Impedance: 15 ohms
    • Frequency response: 20 Hz–40 kHz
    • Cable length: 4 ft (1.2 m)
    • Plug type: L-shaped
    Packaging
    [​IMG]

    The packaging of KZ AS06 is not the usual white box, the IEM is now packed in a black box with KZ embossed. Opening the box, you will see the AS06 and a metal nameplate under it where the model name is written. You’ll get the typical KZ paperwork, cable, and 2 extra tips. Still no carrying pouch or even several tip choices, the cable is still the same copper cable, it is less enticing to look at as compared with the ZSN’s stock cable.

    Fit and Comfort
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The nozzle is neither too long nor too short, with medium sized ear tip, the fit and isolation is superb. There are no discomforts to even listening for an hour. The AS06 is one comfortable IEM, though it might feel to big for some users with small ears.

    Sound
    I love IEMs with midcentric to flat sound signature as I really love listening to vocals rather than instruments. My genre ranges from heavy rock, alternative rock, pop rock, acoustic, pop, jazz and folk. Majority of my test tracks are in 16 bit – 44 khz and 24 bit – 48 khz FLAC file and here is the list of my commom test tracks.
    1. Reese Lansangan – For the Fickle (background, female vocals and upper mids)
    2. Foo Fighters – Bridge Burning (Imaging, Layering, Coherence, Sub bass and Mid bass, Mids, Treble)
    3. LANY – Thick And Thin (Mid Bass, Mids)
    4. Ed Sheeran – Dive (Mid bass, Lower Mids)
    5. Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why (Upper Mids and Instruments)
    6. Paramore – Hard Times (Imaging, Layering, Coherence, Sub bass and Mid bass, Mids, Treble)
    7. Radiohead – Life in a Glasshouse (Imaging Layering, Bass, Instruments, Lower mids, Treble)
    8. Passenger – Coins in a Fountain (Mid bass, Layering, Imaging, Instruments, Lower mids, Treble)
    9. Tori Kelly – Hollow (Background, Upper mids)
    10. Ariana Grande – Raindrops (Background, Upper mids)
    Bass
    [​IMG]

    Sub bass goes deep enough to give enough depth to rumbles, texture is above decent for the price while the quantity is neither excessive nor lacking. The AS06 is well extended especially for a pure BA IEM.Mid bass is quite punchy for a pure BA IEM, not the same weight you’ll get from single DD IEMs such as TFZ t2 galaxy or Ibasso it01 but it is surprisingly punchier than the tin audio t2 pro. Texture and resolution is fair, it is fast and agile as it decays pretty quick, lastly the mid bass is smooth and good for easy listening.

    Mids
    The mids is neither lean nor lush it is just enough not to sound hollow or too thick. Coldplay and Foo Fighters songs sounded really nice and enjoyable with the as06, the placement is a bit recessed after burning in for about 50 to 100 hrs. Upper mids lacks transparency, it is too thick to give sweetness towards female vocals guitar strums sounded a bit thick as well but it is still enjoyable, it shares the same placement as the lower mids which is a bit recessed, surprisingly the AS06 is not sibilant at all.

    Treble
    Treble is not your typical KZ, they are slowly tuning their IEMs the right way. The treble is not piercing anymore but still packs good extension. It is quite airy for a BA IEM and that helped a lot to make the sound stage a bit wider and taller, treble is not too thin and a bit smooth while the placement lies between the bass and the mids. The treble decays pretty quick too resulting to agile performance when playing pacey tracks.

    Sound Stage and Resolution
    Sound stage is massive – when you compare it with the likes of ZS3 and ZST, they are not congested or boxy anymore, the AS06 copes up with live tracks as well as studio tracks. The AS06 is not that detailed and is made for easy listening, for me the bass is the most detailed part across the three frequencies.

    Synergy and Sound Signature
    [​IMG]

    The sound signature of the AS06 is balanced to slightly warm, if the mids is placed a bit more forward it can even pass as neutral IEM (at least for me). With warm DAP such as Fiio X7 mk1, the bass became more upfront and slighty more resolving while the mids became lusher, the upper mids became too thick to be enjoyable (at least for me who loves lean sounding upper mids), and the treble sounded a bit rolled off. As I pair the AS06 with my smartphone (Huawei Mate 10), the sound became more balanced as the upper mids and treble lost some body, of course the soundstage narrowed and the resolution became just satisfactory.

    Conclusion
    [​IMG]

    The is a smooth sounding IEM with good enough level of details and above decent sound stage. It has fast and punchy bass, thick and lush mids and smooth treble. For under 2000 PHP (50 USD) this performs great, recommendable for long listening periods as it can adapt through different song genres.
  3. Johnny Mac
    Knowledge Zenith AS06 Realview.
    Written by Johnny Mac
    Published Feb 3, 2019
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Comfort, sleek faceplate, improved over ear guide memory wire, easy to the ears sound
    Cons - Does nothing exceptional, (too?) slow bass decay
    [​IMG]
    A subtle and sleek looking KZ IEM: The AS06​
    It’s that phase again when a familiar brand surfaces and releases yet another model, like clockwork, always steady and predictable, Knowledge just doesn’t reach its Zenith just yet. Yeah, it’s KZ ladies and gentlemen and this time, the KZ AS06 is the company’s poster child.

    The KZ AS06 is Triple BA (No.31005-Mids/High, No.29689-Mids, No.22955-Bass) IEM with a 3D-printed internal vocal cavity and a black plastic shell and faceplate which comes in 2 color options, cyan and clear which beats me why they marketed the latter as black. The AS06 is spec’d out with a 20-40000Hz Frequency Response, 15 Ohms Impedance and a 105 dB Sensitivity. Priced at $54, pricewise, it’s the successor to the KZ ZS10, name wise, its the AS10’s inferior. Linsoul Audio provided the unit for a review and you can cop one from their Amazon site. Does the KZ AS06 configuration and silhouette give it a fighting chance against its KZ siblings and all the other $60 rivals? Let’s find out.

    Packaging and Build Quality
    [​IMG]
    Standard KZ front packaging
    [​IMG]
    Clear and metallic
    [​IMG]
    Standard KZ accessory set​
    Sporting the AS namesake, the AS06 sports similar packaging with its AS10 sibling. A black matte box with nothing but a subtle KZ logo on the front and some minor company and product information sticker on the side. Opening the flap will reveal the AS06 immediately and underneath shows all other accessory which included 3 black silicon ear tips (S, M, L) with the medium ear tips pre-installed.
    [​IMG]
    Gone is the metal over-ear strip guide
    [​IMG]
    1 button MIC control
    [​IMG]
    Standard KZ gold=plated L-plug​
    The stock cable underneath is a 1.2M round braid copper cable on a gold plated 3.5mm L-plug with strain relief both on the jack and the Y-split with no cable cinch. The cable is easy to store and easy to tangle, it isn’t microphonic though when used on the go. The memory wire on the cable near the .75mm 2pin connection was devoid of the AS10’s thin metal strip yet still aids in conforming to your desired over ear curves, a welcome improvement. The AS06’s faceplate is clear plastic being offered in either stock clear or with a shade of cyan with metallic looking separator cavity faceplate designed with a screaming “6 Balanced Armature” branding. The AS06 IEM has a complete smooth finish with a long nozzle and no metal mesh but a thin screen which is placed at the bottom of the nozzle. Seal, isolation and comfort is great on the AS06.

    Tonality
    [​IMG]
    KZ is back to its roots on the AS06, it’s a warm sounding set with a heavy emphasis on its low-end. As usual, the stock silicon ear tips on the AS06 was not the best for my preference and after some tip-rolling, I’ve decided to go with the Final Audio Type E M sized for the duration of the realview and driven by the Xduoo x3ii and the Sony CAS-1 desktop setup off an MSI GF 62 8RE laptop via Foobar2000 v1.4. There was no burn-in observed on this IEM.

    Lows
    I called on Eric Clapton and he gladly sang “Badge” in 16/44 FLAC for me and the AS06’s sound signature was evident then and there. The sub bass delivery was easily felt with a nice wee rumble faking a fat sounding experience. The bass impacts had decent thump to it and slams had good controlled power. The bass decay is where the AS06’s lows takes a hit with its lingering feel and without the aid of midrange and treble heavy tracks, this aspect will drive the AS06 future buyers away.

    Midrange
    Diana Krall’s “It Could Happen to You” in 16/44 FLAC highlighted the AS06’s understated midrange performance. The lower midrange sounded like it’s the best the AS06 can offer with the bass decay not causing loss of clarity. The midrange delivery and timbre is mediocre at best, neither inviting nor energetic enough to enter the fun sounding aspect. The upper midrange had a free flowing feel, neither extended nor boosted. Not fatiguing yet not appealing as well. I’d pick the ZSN over this.

    Highs
    Fleetwood Mac’s “Little Lies” in 16/44 FLAC gave the AS06 a very appealing feel and ambience until you realize it’s just the nature of the song taking you in rather than the inherent AS06 upper frequency performance. There were no harsh peaks and noticeable dips observed. There is no sparkle to be detected and instrumental hits were not distinctly crisp. Another mediocre score.

    Soundstage and Imaging
    A width-centric soundstage is the AS06’s focus. There is more width and left to right panning to be observed rather than the aspect of height and depth of the instrumental hits and placement. Harmonic positioning is distinct.

    Conclusion
    [​IMG]
    Recessed .75mm 2-pin connections​
    The AS06 presents itself in a way that treads the KZ pathway with caution, carrying only a transparent faceplate with a loud “6 Balanced Armature” characteristic to differentiate itself with all its KZ siblings. The AS06 sounds likes that as well, relaxing and easy to the ears and presenting nothing exceptional. It is a clear step up though from the harsh sounding previous KZ IEMs with a price that doesn’t break the bank. If only the KZ ZSN isn’t around to take the AS06 the attention it deserves.
  4. paulindss
    Fun BA Goodness
    Written by paulindss
    Published Feb 2, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Fun tuning with yet good resolution for its price.
    - Very engaging
    - Build quality
    - Ease to be driven.
    - Bass performance on a technical level.
    Cons - A bit too much of mid bass followed by
    - recessed mids.
    - Slighly large shell
    - Cable prone to tangle
    Hello, Welcome to another Review
    -
    PREAMBLE

    Ever heard of KZ? No?

    For the unsuspecting, let's start with the fact that perhaps this the largest and best-known brand of low-cost Chinese headphones. Nowadays the brand has many models under its name. The Chinese brand began with low-cost dynamic models, and rapidly grew its portfolio. From the dynamic drivers, the brand started to incorporate hybrid models, with the pioneer KZ ZST, since then new models have been increased, the ZS5, ZS6, ZS10 ...

    KZ surprised the market when it decided to launch a model made exclusively with balanced armature in 2017, the AS10, composed of 5 Bas. It was an unprecedented offer in the budget market.

    Today we will check the next step of KZ after the AS10 - and BA10. The KZ AS06 is the smaller brother, sold for about $20 less than the big brothers, consisting of 3 balanced armatures on each side.

    20190114_161838.jpg
    -
    DISCLAIMER

    This earphone is a review unit kindly sented by Linsoul, in exchange of a honest review of the earphone they sell, Linsoul is a chinese seller and distribuitor of IEMs, there aren't any financial incentive on this review besides the product itself that can and will be keeped with me. I personally garantee to the reader my honest and objective review, where i will try to pass my objective impressions as clear as possible, giving the reader the chance to evaluate the product by itself. I particularly INVITE the reader to be as critical as possible on my writing.

    lINSOUL LOGO.JPG
    Links:
    - AS06 AMAZON: https://amzn.to/2D3nQV6
    - AS06 ALI: https://bit.ly/2UASBaZ
    - Linsoul Site: https://www.linsoul.com/

    SPECs and SOUND DESIGN

    Balanced armatures are a different technology of drivers for earphones, certainly it is not a new technology, but it is also certainly, a novelty for the market of low-cost headphones, where the implementation of these drivers was not common until recently. The AS06 has a bold design, is composed of a crossover to divide the frequencies over the three balanced armatures. The BAs Instead of being added to a dynamic driver, take care of all frequencies. Armed with this information you can now look for the specifics and advantages of full balanced armatures IEMs.

    -
    Model: KZ AS06

    Sensitivity: 105dB

    Impedance: 15Ω

    Colors: Black or Green

    Frequency Response: 20-40000Hz

    Plug Type: 3.5 mm

    2pin connection: 0.75mm

    Weight: 25 ± 3 g

    Control button: With or without microphone

    Usability: Earhook / Over Ear
    -

    Unboxing Experience and Content

    The KZ AS06 offers a slightly richer unboxing experience than you originally found in KZ. In place of the small and poor white packaging you have a black cardboard, well presented, with the opening at the top. Inside of it the earphones are secured placed on a surface of foam, accompanied in the box a small piece of metal with the name of the Phone. It's an interesting touch. The handset has a package with a slightly above-average refinement according to my previous experiences.

    The box contains 3 pairs of silicone eartips and the (good)cable.

    20190114_162214.jpg
    -

    Cables, Fit and build.

    We have now come to the objective part of the Review, where I begin to critically appraise the product. Here I will not reserve compliments for KZ on the quality of built on the headphones and the cable. The handset is built in acrylic, with a design that is overall identical to the more expensive KZ AS010, I could not observe sharp edges or any construction problem in my two units. The 1.2m cable has solid appearance, next to the cable of the KZ ZSN is the best cable I have ever seen KZ put in a handset. The only critical point here is the ease of the cable tangle, a chin slider on the top of the cable could help. Preformed earhooks are a great leap in usability and are my favorite type. Positive point for construction and cables

    The handset is remarkably over-ear and is considerably large, most likely to have a piece out of your ear. The nozzle is for deep insertion. The AS06 design seems to be in doubt whether it wants to be an over-ear custom lookalike or a universal design. It definitely feels like a universal design, altought the largeness and deep insertion. For me, I used big eartips to make the shell comfortable. Small eartips with deep insertion made my ear hurt because of the protrusion at the base of the tip.

    I do not see anyone having trouble with this design, however, it's not my favorite one, being quite bulky, but this is subjective, construction wise, objectively, the buit is on par with the best that the price point has offer. The above average Isolation is also a very important factor and benefit if you are going to use the earphone at commute or in busy environments

    -
    Sound

    My preferences: My perfect signature would be a neutral to a slight U signature. I like correct, thick mids. A good extension at highs with. Bass needs to be present but not too emphasized. I prefer sub-bass presence with agility than exactly a mass hiting my ears. I do not enjoy the cold sound signature nor a darker presentation. Neutral to warm with a hint of airiness would be my thing.

    Overall:

    The KZ AS06 is a V shaped-phone, not exactly typical. When we think of earphones from KZ we think of the signature first introduced in the KZ ZST and followed since: Sub bass very pronounced, mid-bass discrete, recessed mids with a peak in the transition from the mid to the mid-treble and a decent extension from so on.

    The KZ AS06 is also a V-shaped earphone, but with a slightly warmer presentation than usual. The balanced armature of the bass is the surprise of the show, as soon as I started the hearing, it was what caught my attention, the bass is strong and defined, with details and texturing being a little superior to the dynamic drivers of KZ. The speed of the driver in general is better, but it soon meet the mid-bass more pronounced than normal in the KZ, which ends up taking off a refinement that could be even more above average, leaded the very interesting driver speed in the bass and sub bass regions, in general the mid bass leaves the presentation of the AS06 warmer than usual on other models. The mids are still recessed and with emphasis on the transition of mid-treble and on with a strong bite. I do not consider AS06 a sibilant earphone, but it has a considerable amount of energy in that area and in the subsequent octave, drums are hitting with a strong energy. The KZ AS06 is not quite a clear headphone, but they contain enough treble presence to cope with the full force of the bass and mark its presence in the upper range. Overall the signature is of a typical KZ in V with emphasis on the mid-bass rather than on the sub-bass, note that the bass do have a excellent extension. Even with pronounced mid bass the AS06 reserves an above normal ability to present nuances and details in the bass because of the balanced armature and its technical advantages.

    Stage and Imaging

    Continuing something characteristic since the KZ ZS10, the AS06 have a good imaging and layering of the instruments, highlighting each other well, nothing sounds stunned, although the sound stage is deeper than wider, different from the KZ ZSN, more open and holographic in general. The precision of the stage, while promoting a great engagement seems a bit artificial, especially with regard to depth, to enjoy your songs you will have no problem at all, I would not recommend the AS06 to use in competitive games, however. Listening to music strictly, the instruments sound thick and well separated from each other, the depth of the stage added to the privileged bass causes excellent dynamics in the sound, with a great capacity to engage the listener.

    Bass

    The bass is the prominent area of the KZ AS06, in no way the Bass response is hampered by the BA. So much so that the AS06 has an above normal technical capacity because of these balanced armature drivers. The extension is good enough, and easily reaches ~ 30hz, ~20hz is already very well audible. The bass is in front of the mids, with a mid-bass that is still balanced, but it’s definitely the highlight of the bass presentation. Which brings a very characteristic warmth to the sound, coloring it. The bass has excellent impact and dynamics and are not jammed, the drivers do not seem to be stressed. Hearing "puff daddy" a industrial trap track, the KZ AS06 bass showed a much higher attack and decay capacity than the Tin Audio T2 with the "ventmod". Giving more impact and detail to the real beating that this track gives in your ears. Fans of hip hop, EDM and the likes will be the ones that will benefit the most from the bass of this handset, as the coloration in acoustic songs must somehow negate the advantage of the better speed of this driver.

    Mids

    Basing my expectation on graphics, the midfield should be the most critical point of KZ AS06, in theory. In fact vocals do end up sounding compressed when compared to IEMS with a neutral response in that region, but this is relativizable. Indeed, the area reported as "male voices" suffers a little from the bass bleed, and the female voices range is more recessed. Overall you get a smooth and relaxed presentation in the mids, set back from the treble and bass. Especially in a busy track as “higher ground” of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, you would notice this clearly. Comparing The AS06 with headphones in its price range, however, surprised me, as the mids did not sounded more harmed than the average, which I was led to believe by graphs. In the tracks in which I tested the mids of the AS06 transited in being equal or superior to the likes of KZ ZSN, TIN AUDIO t2 and BQEYZ KB1, varying case by case, and losing in some cases for KB1. This truly impressed me and i must believe it's because of the BAs detail retrieval.

    Treble

    Here I do not notice any problems, the lower treble does not strike the ear causing any kind of sibilance or harshness, although they have a good amount of energy in the mid-treble/low treble, the treble has sufficient energy and does not sound too roled off. In general the treble are correct and contain no form of uneveness with the original balance of the earphone. They contribute to the warm color and consistency of the AS06 by not being very prominent, nor letting the earphone sound dark. Finding a balance between avoiding excessive warmth or darkness. Offering the right amount of presence to leave the sound open and detailed in the highest registers.

    -

    Comparisions:

    BQEYZ KB1 (40~50$)

    Fit on the KB1 is soso, the shell is big as well as the AS06 but i fell the AS06 a lot more confortable to wear and with much better isolation. Kb1 is a little bit harder to drive and from the first minute notice a more natural yet less engaging sound. Bass is more controled and clearer, mids sound less compressed and more upfront and mid treble has less energy. There is more sense of air and sparkle. Switching to the As06 you fell the bass more pronouced, with less definition but with a bigger impact, bass notes still clear and overall more pleasant to listen to if you are a bass lover. Vocals sounds more relaxed and distant, compressed, but i don't see a big timbre difference beetwen the two. Mid treble has a little bit more impact and energy, matching with the bass. Stage on the As06 are good but offer a little less sense of air than the KB1, the as06 having more depth and sometimes better intimacy with the instruments tho.

    Tin Audio t2 with vent mod - Hugely different than original (40$)

    Now, this is interesting. The tin audio t2 is a lovely IEM in its original form, it has been kind of a benchmark for naturalness for some time, but the vent mod is highly used in the community for those who are looking for a good bassy earphone. You can find the Graphs of T2 modded agains KZ as10 made by the highly respected user @antdroid here:https://bit.ly/2TrnDSz.

    As you can see the graphs are similar, well, hearing the as06 vesus the T2, i was left by the surprise that the As06 sounds overall better for its purpose. The original t2 has a naturalness that is simply untouched by the As06, but for a bassy earphone, the AS06 simply sound superior than the modded t2 with a more controlled bass, little bit less compressed mids with considerably less bass bleed, more dynamics and better clarity over mid-treble. The modded t2 sounds veiled and less dynamic in comparision,

    Conclusion

    Well, i was skeptical about this one after reading impressions, but i faced surprise. I do think that the AS06 has a place in the market. For the ones looking for a fun IEM, you will find in the AS06 a wonderfully built, balanced sounding and study device. I think i managed to talk about the good and the bad about this earphone, only not talking about the "sibilance" problem, but for a simple reason, i don't hear it and found the mid treble balanced. In the same topic, the other problem should be the mid bass, also found it uncompromising. So, As06 gets a recommendation of me, people looking only for acoustic, clarity, could have look at other options, however, the KZ still gets a highlight when we are talking about a all arounder fun tuned IEM, with good portability and ease to be driven.
    -
    Thank you very much for you attention, see you there!
    -
    Playlist used in the review:

      DocHoliday likes this.
  5. DallaPo
    KZ AS06 | 3*BA | Rating: 8.8
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Feb 2, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - big stage
    three-dimensionality
    solid bass performance
    Cons - harsh peaks
    sibilance
    Intro
    It seems that KZ can't produce really bad in-ears, but it's getting harder and harder to really find features that give an in-ear of the company an independent right to exist because KZ feels like it brings out at least one in-ear every month and simply reassembles drivers. These sound quite similar from the point of view of tuning and it is not always possible to recognize progress. In this case, 2 BA drivers of the AS10 were simply omitted (30095) which were exclusively responsible for the heights with the AS10. The result is a 3*BA-In-Ear, which meets its big brother at eye level, even if they have slightly different sound characteristics.


    Handling
    The case corresponds to that of the AS10, instead of the visibly printed circuit board a metal plate has now made it into the housing, which in my opinion looks a bit more appealing.
    Since the nozzle openings are also quite large here, there may be some pain when wearing it. But in itself, the fit is quite ergonomic.

    KZ finally managed to integrate their new cables completely, which is an added value compared to the AS10 (old cable). The new cables have a shrink tube reinforcement and the annoying metal reinforcement is omitted.

    The isolation is also given at moderate volume, which is the case with most KZ models.


    Sound
    As with the AS10, the bass is very well balanced, has a solid sub-bass presence, but is more at home in the mid-bass. It's also fast and knows how to transport the sound very realistically. As well as the bass of the BA driver has succeeded, when it comes to bass, dynamic drivers are still ahead for me when it comes to the budget market because they can develop more pressure and dynamics.

    The bass of the AS06 slips a bit into the midrange, giving them more body and warmth. That was also a point with the brother, but like that, it doesn't carry much weight.
    However, the mids are more receded and feel a bit lighter and not so thick anymore. In general, the AS10 is darker in sound, but also more balanced. The voices of the AS06 have a good presence as well, even if the ladies of creation have the upper hand. Rich detail, clear sound and a good separation complete the mids.

    The treble is raised like the bass and radiates a lot of joy. They are quite bright and also tend here and there to emphasize the sibilants. Likewise, it can become unpleasant in rare cases also sometimes. The AS10 is smoother and not tiring too fast. The AS06 goes there more energetically to work but is for it also more alive. As always one knows with KZ what one gets with the heights. It's not everyone's cup of tea, but for my taste, KZ performs very well in this area, if you can get something out of bright, clear and wide-playing highs and also sometimes accept small to larger (ZS6) slips.

    The stage is big and feels wider and airier than the AS10. On the other hand, the AS10 is slightly ahead when it comes to separation and overall sound, even though it is more intimate.
    Those who like it a bit more relaxed and stand on midrange with more weight and presence should rather make themselves comfortable with the AS10. The AS06, on the other hand, offers crisper heights with more extension, as well as the airier stage. The A/B comparison also shows that the AS06 are a bit louder. If I had to decide, I would go with the AS06, because space and the three-dimensionality pick me up more, but there is no clear winner here.


    Outro
    The AS06 is technically worth its money. If you add the sound, there's not much you can do wrong, especially if you're new to the business and want to try out a pure budget BA configuration that works in all frequency ranges.


    BUY HERE: MISSAUDIO

    ___________________________________________________________
    More reviews: https://david-hahn.wixsite.com/chi-fiear
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CHIFIEAR/
  6. antdroid
    KZ ZSN vs AS06
    Written by antdroid
    Published Jan 19, 2019
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Good bass response
    Cons - A little large for my ears
    Recessed Mids sound compressed and veiled
    Muddy occasionally
    Occasional harshness in treble
    [​IMG]
    Introduction
    Normally, I review one headphone at a time, but since the holidays were a bit busy, my review queue started piling on. In the process, I accumulated two earphones from KZ and decided to do a review/comparison between these two new models from the ever-growing library of KZ products.


    The first model is the ZSN, which can be found anywhere between $20 and $25. It’s a hybrid model with dynamic driver and a single balanced armature driver. The second model is the AS06, which features 3 balanced armatures (bass, mid and treble), and is positioned to be in the middle of the KZ lineup with a retail price at around $45.


    Both of these products were provided as review samples by Linsoul. As usual, there are no other compensations and requirements besides to provide a review of the product online. As this comes up quite a bit about the legitimacy of these statements – I would like to add that I never send my reviews to the source to pre-review it prior to release, except on Headphone.com which is only to make sure it is properly formatted for the website template. This type of freedom is nice, and allows me to express how I really feel about a product without any pre-disposition from the supplier of the item. In this case, Linsoul has been supportive of my reviews, and has pretty much been hands-off in the process except for requesting I post links to the products as part of my review – which are here:


    KZ ZSN:

    https://amzn.to/2M5NnkA


    KZ AS06:

    https://amzn.to/2M5gPXU


    Packaging and Build Quality

    Both products feature similar accessories and both have acrylic housing containing the drivers. The ZSN differs in that it has a metal faceplate which actually looks quite premium compared to the AS06. The AS06 shares the same housing as the AS10, which I found to be very mediocre and boring. The only difference is that it has an inner metallic plate with “6 Balanced Armatures” scribed on it. It’s sort of a lie, since there’s only 3 in each side.

    The ZSN is also a little bit smaller and shaped to conform to my ears better. The AS06 has the same large size that makes it a little challenging to fit correctly in my ears without fear that it will pop out. When it does sit correctly, it does feel large and uncomfortable. In contrast to this, the ZSN is quite comfortable to wear for long time and is lighter weight.

    [​IMG]

    Both feature braided cables with preformed hooks which is a nice change from the previous memory wire cables that KZ was known for. The cables are a bit sticky and can get tangled and messy pretty easily though, but I still find them very attractive and nice for the price range they are being offered at.


    Finally, the standard KZ “starline” tips come included in the package and come in the standard Small, Medium and Large sizes. The AS06 also has a larger box and a metal badge that I really don’t know what the purpose is for.


    Sound

    In doing this contrast and compare review, I ended up having two KZ products that sound different from one another. They really share little in common to be frank. In general, I found the KZ ZSN to have a generally neutral-bright signature which I typically find best suited for my tastes. The KZ AS06 was a darker, and more laid back, warmer IEM which isn’t normally my thing. That said, I do like headphones that can fall into some of this category – mainly the HD58X and HD650 which are a bit warmer and laid back.


    For my listening trials, I used a variety of different gear. The main device was the Pioneer XDP-300R Android-based portable audio player, but I also switched back and forth with the newly released Hidizs AP80 and Xudoo X3-II audio players. For desktop use, I did limited listening with these IEMs on the Monoprice Monolith THX-AAA DAC/Amp, Cavalli Liquid Spark, and a DIY Pete Millet Starving Student Tube Hybrid amp. For every use-case here, I used the single ended cable as opposed a balanced cable as I typically do. I did play both IEMs through balanced cables but only on a limited basis.


    I spent a lot of time listening to Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours album while trying out both of these earphones. I also put them through the paces with various acoustic rock, indie, folk, dance, jazz and alternative rock music.


    AS06 in detail:

    [​IMG]

    My very first impression when putting the AS06 on was WHOA! Bass! It was very dark and bassy with the stock tips. In fact, I got great seal, and it was so bassy, that it muddied up everything else. I swapped the tips out to Rebound foam tips and found that the bass levels were more controlled. Still, the bass dominated the overall sound signature and still bled over to the mids, which are quite recessed. Bass extends well but I don’t find the bass extremely detailed or layered correctly. In general, the elevated give the AS06 a warm, lush sound, but nothing exciting.


    The mids barely exist on this IEM. They are really messy. I found the significant drop in the mids to really hurt this IEM. There’s about 10 dB drop off slope in the mids followed by a steeper drop in the upper mids, and then a spike up as you head into the treble region. This is classic V-shaped sound but not executed well. I’m wondering if the sharp second drop is due to poor cross-over between BAs.


    Male vocals are the most troubling. I found both male and female voices to sound extremely compressed, with males being worse. Tonality is completely off and distant. Higher pitched string instruments can sound very forward and piercing occasionally due to the elevated treble peak.

    [​IMG]

    An example? Let’s listen to “Dreams” by the aforementioned Fleetwood Mac. Stevie Nick’s haunting distressed voice just doesn’t come out with the emotion I expect to hear on a better IEM. Her voice seems distant and flat – compressed and missing energy. Instead the drum beat and cymbals dominate the mix. The focus of the music isn’t where I think it should be.


    On a song like “Marbles” by The Knife, this IEM is a mixed bag. The deep bass notes sound great, and the “marbles” dropping is realistic, but the high screams from Karin and the high frequency cymbals do get a bit piercing at times.


    I imagine this IEM will do better in house and dance music, though probably something more along the lines of deep house or bassier music. Anything with extreme highs (and many EDM tracks are, and are extremely distorted and compressed) may not do as well.


    The AS06 does provide good imaging, and a wide sound stage which is engaging. Details can be a little scattered as mentioned previously, but overall, the BAs do a good job overall with these three areas.


    ZSN in detail:

    [​IMG]

    When I first put on the ZSN, I think my jaw dropped and I was giddy with smiles. This was because up until this point, every KZ IEM I’ve heard had exaggerated bass and treble which didn’t really match my personal preferences. While the KZ ZSN still has some peaky upper mids, as characteristic of every KZ IEM I’ve listened to, it does not boost the bass much at all, to my surprise.


    The ZSN has clean unadulterated bass, which I really enjoy. It’s doesn’t bloat into the mids and has enough there to give the IEM a slightly warm signature. For the price point, the bass is good enough. It’s a little lacking in the details and texture, but in general, it does its job sufficiently.


    The ZSN mids are recessed but nowhere near how they are in the rest of the manufacture’s product line. Instead, the ZSN has a slightly dry sound that compares to the how recessed the mids are in one of my favorite headphones – the Hifiman HE560. The mids in both are just south of neutral before peaking up in the upper mids. The ZSN, however, peaks up more. This gives them an exciting upper range energy that can sometimes be piercing in poorly recorded tracks or songs that emphasized the higher vocal registers.

    [​IMG]

    A few other things before I do a comparison between the two: The treble on the ZSNs is a little uneven, but doesn’t roll-off significantly, which is a surprise at this price point. In terms of soundstage, I find that the ZSN to have a nice medium to wide stage, and imaging is good, especially at this price (repeat theme here).


    Overall Comparison

    Obviously, these two KZ products differ quite a bit. The ZSN is closer to neutral than any other KZ I’ve had a chance to listen to, and leans slightly bright. The AS06 is also closer to neutral than a lot of the other KZ products, but leans darker, while still retaining a general V-shape signature. It takes a much more laid back, euphoric approach.


    The ZSN and AS06 both can run into sibilance and harsh periods, especially if mastering or bitrate is poor, due to steep slopes from the recessed mids to upper mids and treble. I found both to have some unevenness throughout the treble region, with the ZSN winning due to the cleaner transition between the mids and treble. The AS06, in comparison, sounds quite veiled and compressed through the mids – to the point of sound very low-fi.


    The AS06, however, excels in the bass region. It has good low end extension, quality and quantity. If you are looking for something that can shake and bump and overall pleasantly warm, the AS06 does well for its $45 price. The ZSN just can’t match in this department, however, it provides a more audiophile neutral bass response that is cleaner and does not accidentally bleed over and mask vocals with heavy bass lines.

    Real Comparisons

    KZ AS06 vs KZ AS10

    [​IMG]

    This is the real comparison. The AS10 sounds more detailed and airy compared to the AS06, and this is probably due to its extended and increased upper mids and treble. The AS06 sounds more veiled and compressed instead. I prefer the AS06 in the bass department though, as it does not bleed as much, and feels more controlled in general than the AS10.

    The AS10 and AS06 share similar housing and therefore fit should be exactly the same. There’s an approximately $15 gap between the two models, and it’s a tough call. I personally would take the AS10 over the AS06, but in general, I wouldn’t buy either for myself personally.


    KZ ZSN vs Tin Audio T2


    [​IMG]

    These two IEMs share a lot of commonalities. They are generally neutral sounding budget IEMs that have a sharp peak in the upper mids (3-5KHz) region that can be prone to sibilance and harshness. The general difference, however, is that the T2 does have better treble extension, but a much leaner bass response. The ZSN has a slightly warmer sound due to having about +3dB more bass response, which I think many will enjoy, myself included.

    I had slotted the T2 as one of my favorite budget IEM kings, and the ZSN is going to surpass it as one of the best value to performance IEMs on the market. This isn’t something common for me to bestow on Knowledge Zenith, as I’ve never been a fan of any of their IEMs until now. The ZSN is a really good choice, and a great all arounder with small coherence issues and upper harshness that can occasionally rear its head. Those things are rather small for the $20 asking price though.
      paulindss likes this.
    1. DallaPo
      Thanks for the insight. May I ask which in-ears you use as a benchmark for your rating?
      DallaPo, Feb 2, 2019